Customer Reviews for

Rock and a Hard Place (Jamieson Brothers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hard to put this one down!

What a great read. One of those books I wished I had time to just sit down in one sitting and read from start to finish. Fascinating characters from two vastly different walks of life coming together and finding they have more in common than they thought.

This is de...
What a great read. One of those books I wished I had time to just sit down in one sitting and read from start to finish. Fascinating characters from two vastly different walks of life coming together and finding they have more in common than they thought.

This is definitely a book to be enjoyed by teen and adult alike. Very refreshing to read a book about true love.

This 40 something romantic very much enjoyed this young love story.

posted by countrygirl0616 on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about

What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about the Jonas Brothers in the beginning of this. (I happen to enjoy the JoBros, so this wasn't a bad thing.) The story was a bit cliche, however, Angie Stanton creates enough interest in the characters that I ...
What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about the Jonas Brothers in the beginning of this. (I happen to enjoy the JoBros, so this wasn't a bad thing.) The story was a bit cliche, however, Angie Stanton creates enough interest in the characters that I HAD to know what happened between Peter and Libby and finished this in about three hours.

We see quite a bit of Peter's parents, especially his Mom in this book which can be unusual even in a book about teenagers. Rock and a Hard Place has a balanced mix of drama, romance and swoon, but what I found really refreshing was that this is a clean read. No sex, no explicit language but still plenty of kissing.

What Left Me Wanting More: The feel of the dialogue seemed to swing from one extreme to the other. (I had to remind myself a few times that Peter and Libby were teenagers and not middle school or college age). The ending felt a bit abrupt too.

Final Verdict: Rock and a Hard Place is a swoony star-crossed love story that can be enjoyed by various ages.

posted by Cupcakegirly on September 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I found Rock and a Hard Place to be a very cute book.  I was int

    I found Rock and a Hard Place to be a very cute book.  I was intrigued by the synopsis and I usually love books with rock stars in them.  Libby has had a really rough time in life.  Peter is a rock star who wants out of the spotlight and wants to be normal.  There is an insta-love relationship, but I thought it was sweet and very emotional, thought kind of mushy and a little cheesy at times.  Overall, it did turn out well, though Libby does have to deal with some really difficult things in the process.  This is definitely more of a YA read and I would recommend it to that age group.  

    3.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about

    What I Liked: I'm not gonna lie, I felt like I was reading about the Jonas Brothers in the beginning of this. (I happen to enjoy the JoBros, so this wasn't a bad thing.) The story was a bit cliche, however, Angie Stanton creates enough interest in the characters that I HAD to know what happened between Peter and Libby and finished this in about three hours.

    We see quite a bit of Peter's parents, especially his Mom in this book which can be unusual even in a book about teenagers. Rock and a Hard Place has a balanced mix of drama, romance and swoon, but what I found really refreshing was that this is a clean read. No sex, no explicit language but still plenty of kissing.

    What Left Me Wanting More: The feel of the dialogue seemed to swing from one extreme to the other. (I had to remind myself a few times that Peter and Libby were teenagers and not middle school or college age). The ending felt a bit abrupt too.

    Final Verdict: Rock and a Hard Place is a swoony star-crossed love story that can be enjoyed by various ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Not the best book

    The summary of this book sounded promising but it did not deliver. There wasn't really any romance. The two main characters met ywice and all of a sudden they were in love. Definitely not my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    When we first meet Libby in this story, she is at a low point. A

    When we first meet Libby in this story, she is at a low point. A year after losing her family and being transported to the middle of nowhere with her crazy, abusive aunt, she is heartbroken, lonely, and lost to say the least. My heart broke for Libby and the pain she faced and is still facing. Despite life knocking her down time and time again, Libby carried a great deal of determination with her. She worked hard to try to get through school as quick as possible so she could leave her aunts and finally be free. I found this quality very admirable in Libby. Even though I found this part of Libby to be incredibly honorable, I also found her hard to connect to in some ways. She doesn’t listen to music, she doesn’t talk to other people, she doesn’t leave her house, she just doesn’t do much. Over the course of the book she opened up more, did more, became a stronger person and character but even still, it was somewhat hard to truly connect with her.

    Libby’s heartbreaking past and harsh present is a striking contrast against rock star Peter’s life. Peter is the lead singer of one the world’s most famous rock bands. Even though his privacy is non-existent and being in a band with his brothers means he constantly has to deal with his family meddling in his business, he still has people there who care for him. His mom, dad, and brothers all care for them even if their way of showing it is a little skewed sometimes. Coming from a pretty great family (well must of the time) pretty much means Peter is equally as great. He was sweet, passionate about his music, and he cared for Libby like no one has ever cared for her before.

    Libby and Peter’s lives unexpectedly collide when Peter meets Libby at a nature preserve near her house. From the second they meant, there was a connection there. Peter saw beyond the walls that Libby built up around herself. He doesn’t care about her tragic past or the conditions of her present. All he cares about is her and how Libby makes him feel. For Libby, she doesn’t care about the famous aspect of Peter’s life. In fact she didn’t realize the extent of his fame until weeks after meeting him. While their relationship is unconventional to say the least, it was really quite sweet and I enjoyed reading it.

    Libby is the broken girl who needs saving and Peter is the swoon-worthy rockstar who stoops in to do the job. As much as I really wanted to love these two together, there was something off about their relationship to me. Don’t get me wrong, it was sweet and the story kept me entertained BUT it just didn’t seem real. They expressed all these feeling for one another after just meeting, they became so engrossed in one another that it makes me wonder how they can claim such a love when they hardly spent the time together. I guess what I’m trying to say is that this certain aspect of the story was a lot of telling versus showing and it made me feel a disconnect from the couple.

    Despite my feelings on that particular aspect of the book, one thing I LOVED was the moments scattered throughout the story that just sort of spoke to me. Overall Angie’s writing was beautiful. There were moments while Peter was performing on a stage or when Libby was learning to stand up for herself or even when the two of them were reflecting on their relationship that were so well-written they kind of just stuck.

    Rock and a Hard Place by Angie Stanton was different from what I expected. There were parts that sort of fell flat for me but there were also parts that were so much more than I expected. If you are looking for sweet, quick read that mixes a little bit of music with a little bit of romance, than I suggest you check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Mixed review

    Stiry line was good, but the wording was a lil niave and childish at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Good Read

    Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1