Customer Reviews for

Rocket Boys (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    A Real Page Turner.

    "Whoosh". Rocket Boys by Homer Hickam JR, is a memoir about a kid named Sonny Hickam, who builds rockets with his friends in Coalwood, West Virginia, in 1957. In the this book, Sonny's dad starts out by ignoring him because Sonny wanted to build rockets with his friends, but, Sonny builds rockets anyway. He uses scrap pieces of metal from the mine and he buys some things with his money. Sonny and his friends build rockets in his basement with different gases and things. Their first rocket fails and takes out Sonny's mother's fence. Read it to find out what else happens!


    I thought think that this book was was a great book. It is a great book for all audiences. Children, and adults. You should read this book because it is all about how a kid built something great, even when his dad said he could not accomplish anything. I think that this book taught me a lot about how to stick to things that I am doing. I also think that it taught me that with your friend's help, you can do anything.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Rocket Boys is a very inspiring book because it¿s about a boy an

    Rocket Boys is a very inspiring book because it’s about a boy and his friends creating rockets and Homer Jr. going behind his fathers back to do what hes dreamed of doing. Homer Jr. is different than all the other kids and that’s what makes him special.The book Rocket Boys was very inspiring because it is about this boy and his friends building rockets. They end up doing there experiment in a science fair they actually win. Then Homer Jr’s teacher is in the hospital when he gets back from Indianapolis. Homer Jr. has a hard road home. Homer Jr. and his friends made a rocket epically for her. They put her name on it and then Homer Jr.’s dad launched it for them. I thought the book was very good because it just made me want to follow my dream and he just inspired me so much. I loved reading his book and I also got to meet him. His words were very inspiring and encouraging because this book was based on a true life event. I was touched when he made a rocket for his teacher. She was also special because she encouraged Homer. I thought the book was very good because it just made me want to follow my dream and he just inspired me so much. I loved reading his book and I also got to meet him. His words were very inspiring and encouraging because this book was based on a true life event. I was touched when he made a rocket for his teacher. She was also special because she encouraged Homer. In, Conclusion the book was a marvelous book to read. I would suggest this book who likes intresting books. This book is based on a true story so I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    Spectacular all the way through

    Great book. Depicts with great detail the awesome story of Homer Hickam

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Rocket Boys Take Off

    In the city of Coalwood, kids have few choices for their future. They could go to work in the town mine, go into the army, or get a football scholarship. Most of the kids accept this and go on, yet this is not the Case for young Homer Hickam JR. After he hears about Sputnik and watches it cross the sky above his head, he decides he wants to go down to Cape Canaveral and work with Dr. Von Braun in building rockets. Finding no books to help him at all, Homer must start from the very basics and work with his friends, Roy Lee, O'Dell, Sherman and Quentin, to learn all there is about rockets and how they work so they can win the science fair and possibly get a scholarship. The major message of this book is to not give up on your dreams, that enough work can get you to where you want to go. I really liked how ethos was largely weaved into the book to give the reader a strong connection with Homer, along with explaining all the mechanics out for the reader to understand. I have no dislikes for this book. Somebody should read this if they just want a good story overall, or if they're interesting in aerospace engineering. My overall rating for this book is 5 out of 5.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    The best memoir ever

    Rocket Boys is the most-picked book for community reads across the country. It is considered a classic. Nearly every school has it on its reading lists. Notice that since it came out, it consistently gets five stars from every reader, no matter their age or interests. It is a compelling work. Once you start it, you'll find it difficult to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    the best book in the world

    this is definitely my favorite book of all time. this book has forever been engraved upon my heart, and i am glad that i have been so fortunate as to discover it after many years of searching for something to obsess over. whenever i read this book, i have great difficulty with putting it down. the end makes me cry like a BABY, and i always hate it when i finish it for the third or seventh or twelvth time around. it is just such a timelessly immortal memoir, and i'm honestly glad that i took the time to read it. it is really a beautiful book, and i will strongly challenge anyone who thinks otherwise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Far better than the movie

    A wonderful read. The book is far better than the movie. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Rocket Boys: A Memoir

    This was a great book, all of the conflict with his brother, father and sometimes his mother really made the book a more mature read. The movie ommitted some important aspects, the book helps us understand much more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Rocket Boys: A Memoir

    This book captured the harsh life of West Virginia coal mining, along with the hope of a bright future somewhere else. It also had the right amount of science to be understandable but not complicated or boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    The same book as October Sky

    Rocket Boys is the original title of the book that is also known as October Sky. I notice under the review of that book on the site that so many students have just seen the movie and not read the book. The clues are as follows: Scholarships. There were no scholarships in the book, only the movie. The Rocket Boys. In the movie, there are four. In the book, six. Sonny (not Homer as in the movie), Roy Lee, Quentin, Billy, Sherman, and O'Dell. Working in the mine. Sonny (Homer) did not work in the mine in the book. That was only in the film. I could go on and on. Students, read the book. It is very different and better than the movie. I swan. And if you never heard of 'I swan', then you definitely did not read the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    Coalminers to the Moon!!!!!!!!

    'Rocket Boys', by Homer Hickam, Jr. a book that was both exciting and heartfelt. This book was based on a true story and as you read you feel a part of the town and a friend with the rocket boys themselves. Ther dedication and pation for learning and each other helps this book capture you and grow with the characters life experiences. The book 'Rocket Boys' takes place in a town in West Virginia called Coalwood. The town's main business is that of miners and everything in the town revolves around the mining business. The super intendent is Homer Hickam, Sr., he has a wife and two sons. One of his sons, Homer Hickam, Jr., AKA Sonny, has a passion and interest in space. He recruits he buddies to help him study and master the skills of building a rockets. They form a group called the BCMA which stands for Big Creek Missle Agency. Throughout the book they begin to ask thier assistant in learning about the structure and the dictance of the rockets. The BCMA, which includes Sonny's friends Quentin, Roy Lee, Sherman, O'Dell, and Billy try many different structures and fuel to master their rockets. Sonny's mother encourages him in his rocket endeavors as she does not want him to go into the minning business. Sonnys father's feelings were he wants Sonny to become an engineer for the mine, however he does assest them with materials later in the novel. Sonny loves his mother deeply and longs for his fathers approval. All the relationships, between friends and family make this a touching experiance. My favorite part was when the boys shot off thier first rocket, and they blew up Sonny's mom's rose garden fince. My least favorite part is when Ms. Riley becomes sick. Allthough she was one of Sonny's biggest advocates it is also sad for him when she is not there to support him as a teacher and friend throughout the science fair. Rocket boys will be a book I will remember forever and is one of my favorites. It is both touching and interesting. My feeling are it is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    A book that makes you think

    Rocket Boys not only subtly hints at a changing time in Americas history but it also shows teens that you should shoot for the stars. I first read this book 5 years ago and found my self reading The Coalwood Way and Sky of stone shortly after.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    If it were possible I'd give it six stars! - A very well written book.

    It's surprising how the small mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia could've developed such a brilliant author, and rocket scientist. I've bought all three of his Coalwood books (in the trilogy) and own a fourth, We are not Afraid (related to Cooalwood but not necessarily in the series). Anyway ---- these are my steps to enjoy the books the way I have. (1) Watch October Sky (the movie, 1999). (2) Compare the movie to this book, Rocket Boys as you read it. (3) Exhale a great sigh of satisfaction as you finish Rocket Boys. (4) Read the next books in order: The Coalwood Way, Sky of Stone. Or you could do this: (1) Watch October Sky. (2) Read up to Chapter 22, having read through Auks XXII-A,B,C,D (3) Read The Coalwood Way (starting with Auk XXII-E). The Coalwood Way is just a breakdown within Homer's high school years of winter 1959. (Sky of Stone takes place during Homer's summer of 1961, a year through college). (4) Finish Rocket Boys. (5) Read Sky of Stone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2001

    The Best

    This book is the best book I have ever read. I was upset that i finished it because i enjoyed it so much. Being in my teen years, I related with the book so much through Hickam's views. Before reading this book, i hated reading but now i enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    I Thought This Book Was Outstanding

    I thought the book Rocket Boys was a outstanding book. This book had much detail in everything it said. This book also played with your feelings, sometimes when reading the book I would get sad when the book got sad, and get happy when the book got happy. I feel that Homer Hickam Jr. did a great job with writng the 'Rocket Boys' and I can't wait to read 'Back to th

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    An Excellent Story Enjoyed By Anyone and Everyone

    Whether you are into space or rocketry or not, this book is page-turner, and once you get into it, you will not want to put it down. It is a story of hope, courage and determination. It shows that if you work hard enough you can accomplish anything that you set your mind too. When you reach the last page you don't want the moving true story to end. Homer Hickem is a true American hero and a very gifted story teller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Inspiration

    Homer Hickam's Rocket Boys is and will always be a great inspiration to me and to nayone else who reads his book. To be yourself, to be someone. It's all that Sonny wants and he works for it. He finds himself and through his book, I am too. Read it, you won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This book is very interesting to me. Homer Hickam is a really


    This book is very interesting to me. Homer Hickam is a really good author. This book was really fun to read. He wrote it so good it felt like we were right there with him in Coalwood, West Virginia. My class watched the movie October Sky also after we read the book. This book kept my interest because it talked about Homer’s life and what he did as a teenager. He also inspired me by not giving up on what he loved to do the most— building rockets. I really like his books! He is an awesome author. His books always get my attention or get me interested. In conclusion, the book Rocket Boys is personally one of my favorite books so I rated it five stars! If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it if you what to get inspired and motivation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    If you want to read an inspiring book, then read The Rocket Boys

    If you want to read an inspiring book, then read The Rocket Boys because it is one that will really hold your interrest. Back in the 1960s, Homer Hickam Jr. grew up thinking that all he’d become was a coal miner. Then when he was four-teen he decided he wanted to be like his inspiration Warner Von Braun and build rockets. That was his only ticket out of Coal Wood. He ended up very successful doing what he loves. He first won a gold metal at the National Science Fair in 1960. Then he ended up becoming a NASA engineer. Homer Hickam Jr. followed his dreams and they led him far. He grew up thinking that he’d never get out of Coalwood or even West Virginia. This book is wonderful. It keeps you excited and it makes you want to read more. I really liked thebook. It was so fun to read what was going to happen next. He made the book so interresting. In conclusion, rocket boys is an inspiring book that will hold your interrest and keep you reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1.....Whoosh! This true story on five boys wh

    10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1.....Whoosh! This true story on five boys who are determined to follow their dreams. The town's main business
     is mining and everything in the town revolves around the mining business. Living in coalwood they aren't 
    given many choices for life they either go into the mines, go into the Army, or get out on a football scholarship.Most of the kids accept
    this and go on, yet this is not the Case for young Homer Hickam JR. After he hears about Sputnik and watches
    it cross the sky above his head, he decides he wants to go down to Cape Canaveral and work with Dr. Von Braun in building rockets. 
    These five boys don't all start out as friends but build a friendship as they build a rocket. These boys aren't given much support
    from their town, except for one person who is their teacher Miss. Riley. Even though these boys had their ups and down the stuck to
    what they thought was right and what they wanted to do. Through out the book the main theme is don't give up on your dreams stay
    true to yourself. This book is good for all ages and a inspiring and touching memoir. This book is definitely one of my favorites!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4