Customer Reviews for

Rococo

Average Rating 3
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful author

Adranina Trigiani brings her characters to life in a way that makes you care deeply about what happens to them. Her books incorporate the laughter and joy we all find in life. So far I have loved every book she has written.

posted by SadieDA on December 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Do mot bother Do not bother

Boring,drawn out,, no substance

posted by 8924998 on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Do mot bother Do not bother

    Boring,drawn out,, no substance

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    A wonderful author

    Adranina Trigiani brings her characters to life in a way that makes you
    care deeply about what happens to them. Her books incorporate the laughter and joy we all find in life. So far I have loved every book
    she has written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    This was nothing like the Trigiani I love to read...

    I have loved all of her books, with Milk Glass Moon being at the bottom of that list, until now. Rococo did not touch me like the others. I cared so much for Lucia, I loved all the characters of Big Stone Gap. I wished the Big Time never ended. But, I couldn't wait to get away from 'B.' Was he gay? Who cares. Was he straight? Who cares? Where was all that emotion and life and passion in a Trigiani character? Major let down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Rococo--with a liberal dose of humility and interior design

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable book about a family, their foibles, and a church renovation that became more than anyone thought possible or expected--with a few miracles sprinkled in the drama of family members, an arranged marriage, and how love can change everything. This was a page turner, and another great book by Adriana Trigiani. I'm hooked on this writer and her variety of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Enjoyed the book, the reader was AWFUL!

    I love all books by Adriana Trigiani.
    I do have a problem with the reader. I am a native of the Jersey shore and was shocked to hear the reader mispronounce the names of towns such as Belmar and Interlaken. Also, New Jersey residents who live in the area where this book takes place DO NOT speak with a "Joisey" accent. It was very annoying--actually quite unbearable. I had to go back to the library and borrow the regular book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    This is a good beach read.

    The plot is simple and a bit transparent. I don't think it is one of Adriana Trigiani's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Close to Home

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rococco. The way Adriana writes, hits so close to home. She used words in the story that I use in my everday language when communicating with my family. I felt like I was part of the story. I've enjoyed Lucia, Lucia and Queen of the Big Time, just as much. Thank you for writing stories that I can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Boring!

    I read and enjoyed Lucia,Lucia, Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler and Queen of the Big Time but am really bored with Rococo. I read the first three chapters and will not read the rest. Too much about interior decorating and not enough plot for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Rococo - whimsical read

    thoroughly enjoyable, especially if you are an Italian. So many of the little idiosyncrasies of the characters really hit home. I could not wait to get back to the book to continue reading about OLOF's renovation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Family is everything

    I have listened to this book on DVD and loved it! The Italian-American characters are funny, warm, and down to earth. The story line is very unique but believable. Perhaps what makes this book come to life is the narrator and his New Jersey accent. I found it highly entertaining and it made me wish I had some Italian ancestry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Absolutely Loved Reading Rococo

    TRIGIANI did an excellent job of sharing the mind of an interior design while writing this book. Believe I really connected into the story because I'm an artist and also going into interior design. Also, being from a Latin family with crazy dynamics she was able to pin point some of the crazy stuff that goes on in our daily lives. Am hooked on Triagiani!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Another WINNER from Adriani!!

    I listened to the unabridged CD's of this hilarious story of the di Crespi family in Our Lady of Fatima, NJ. If you are looking for a great read (or audiobook) that will keep you smiling, laughing, and riveted...get this one. Hands down, 2 thumbs up wonderful story. Adriani Trigiani know's exactly what she's doing. From the crazy characters to the elegant descriptions of the world's finest materials and decorations, Adriana's Rococco proves she has done it again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Too boring

    I have only read Lucia Lucia by Trigiani and I loved it. I heard all her books were great so I picked this one up. I always finish a book, no matter how bad it is. But I just could not finish this one. I kept reading and reading hoping that something would happen to keep me interested and it never did. I got about halfway through and stopped reading. I'm not sure about the plot and there was way too much description. It would be good for someone who is into interior design, but aside from that, I'm not sure it will keep anyone's interest. I'm very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

    I really loved all her other books, and I couldn't wait to read this one. And, I can't wait till her next book about Big Stone Gap comes out, and her movie comes out. I've been to Big Stone Gap I have a friend there who grew up with her and her family. I really enjoyed the town and it's just like she describes it. But this book was a big disappointment. It took me a while to figure out if it was a guy or girl, and from the way he described every single thing about how it was decorated, was annoying. I found myself skipping over the parts where he was describing every thing. But except for that, I liked the story line it fit her usual stuff. And it had a great happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    I waited to read this one...

    I so looked forward to reading this book...it was set in NJ (my birthplace), Italian background. When I finally decided I couldn't wait to read it, I was so disappointed. Too much on decorating and not enough good story...which Ms. Trigiliani is loved for. Big disappointment. Loved all her others, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    A Book for People Who Love 'Things'

    I read her other books, and they were really enjoyable. This one reads very fast and is also lots of fun, especially the characters and how they relate to each other. The only thing that I didn't like was the endless detailed description of almost every room, every item, even every character's clothing -I had to skip over a lot of that, which I do not like to do. Too much emphasis on 'things.' Also, 'B' seemed to have so little depth. He cared too much about himself and beautiful 'things.' Still, I enjoyed reading the book. Adriana is a really good writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    A let down of a novel

    I have read every novel by this wonderful and talented author. Unfortunately, this was a disappointment to read. I could not get interested in the characters, and perhaps it was because the lead character was a man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Another Good One

    Once more, I am thrilled to read another great novel from Adriana. The characters are true to life and I feel I know each one personally. It's a pity I can't have my home designed by booking with The House Of B. Congratulations, Adri.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    ANOTHER WINNER FROM THIS AUTHOR

    I loved this book. It was a refreshing change to have a male character and the closeness between him and his italian family and community was wonderful. Even though the setting was the same as her other books, his trips to New York, Italy and London were a nice change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Trigiani finally bombed.

    Adriana Trigiani is one of my favorite writers but after struggling through the first 34 pages of Rococo, I reluctantly consigned it to the trash bin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2