Customer Reviews for

Rodrick Rules (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

What a great book!!

Another great book by Jeff Kinney. I found this book hard to put down. Once you read this book you will learn that you're not out there alone. There are other people that go through the same thing. After you read this book you learn that you're not alone so never feel l...
Another great book by Jeff Kinney. I found this book hard to put down. Once you read this book you will learn that you're not out there alone. There are other people that go through the same thing. After you read this book you learn that you're not alone so never feel like you are.
This book is great for kids. Its great for anybody to read. I encourage teachers to introduce this book to their students because its funny, absorbing, amusing, thrilling, and teaches kids life lessons they need to learn. READ THE BOOK MAN!!! YOU WON'T WANT TO PUT IT DOWN!!!

posted by MONEYBAGS on March 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, book

NOT FOR NOOK HD (no PagePerfect, i.e. graphically enhanced, books are).   They don't tell you this when you purchase a NOOK HD - which is the updated version of the Nook Color. The newest reader gets fewer compatible books, and none with enhanced graphics!  Nice.

posted by AmazingIneptitude on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    If you like books that are more like real life,This is the book you were looking for!

    What I liked about this book was that it relates to my own life.It relates to my own life in Rodrick's point of view.I'm the one always picking on my little brother.I get along with him but when he blames me for something he did,his life is miserable for a week.There's one thing that i don't do but Rodrick does do sneaky stuff when nobodies home,and I don't play in a band.I would recommend this to some friends because some have the same issue.
    I would like to read the whole collection of "Diary Of The Wimpy kid"by the author Jeff Kinney.He has at least 8 books of this collection.Just by reading this one book made me want to read the whole collection of "Diary The Wimpy Kid".Interesting book and interesting story.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    Good Book

    I liked this book very much. I liked it because it was a fast paced book and it was really funny. The only reason I didn't like it was because it switches topics a lot this makes it harder to follow for me.

    One of the problems in this book is Greg hurt Rowley. The reason he hurt him is they were in Greg's basement and every time Rowley would go upstairs he would come down and kick his pillow. Well Greg got tired of it and when Rowley went upstairs to go to the bathroom Greg slipped a dumbbell under the pillow. When Rowley came down of course he kicked it but this time he let out a huge cry. Rowley ended up going home and when Greg and his mom got home Greg's little brother told their mom exactly what happened. When she heard this, she took Greg up to Rowley's house to apologize. Rowley told him he forgave him but he was supposed to try out for a talent show with this little kid and Greg's mom made Greg go to the little kid's house and apologize to him too. After he apologized his mom made him do the talent show with the kid. Greg and the kid practiced for a week or so and when the night of tryouts came, they stunk. They turned out being the only ones who didn't get in the talent show.

    This book is for the kind of reader that has a hard time reading long books. This book is easy to follow because it stays on one topic for a short while. It stays on one topic just long enough to describe what happened and then it changes to a new topic. I hope this review as helped you decide weather this book is for you or it isn't for you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    i enjoyed this book but not as much as the first one. I don't ha

    i enjoyed this book but not as much as the first one. I don't have a brother but reading this made me think about if i had an older brother and i always have wanted a brother to teach nme things but now i see it'd probably be a nightmare at most times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a 6th grade student in Glendale, AZ and this book ruled me!

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney was a hilarious book. Greg is an ordinary boy. He has two brothers, Rodrick and Manny. He always gets in trouble for picking on poor little Manny. On the other hand, he always gets picked on by Rodrick! Now he has a second journal to make things even worse! Greg has a secret that he doesn't want anyone to find out about. Rodrick found out his secret and is now blackmailing him to get what he wants. Along with doing what Rodrick says, he also has to worry about the cheese touch! Greg gets upset quite frequently because Manny always gets "the special treatment." Rodrick's band is immensely loud, obnoxious, and not too good. Even though Greg doesn't like their music one bit, he has to go to his concerts. Their mom does some pretty embarrassing configurations, but u have to find that out yourself! This book takes place in the present in New York. I would say the theme of this story is life is crazy, but you have to go along with the ride and be who you really are. I liked this story because it was a wonderful story filled with laughs and problems. It kept me entertained the whole time! I really related to this book because what kid doesn't have problems? Plus, I have a big brother that picks on me from time to time. i am a 6th grade student, and i would definately recomend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Rodrick rules

    It wasnt that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Grandson likes

    Can't write a review as I bought the book as a gift. But my 8-year-old grandson loves these books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Not bad

    NAH wasnt that bad but its just 12 pages :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I like the way it listed the day to day and the months.

    The book was very exciting and fun to read, it's a good book to experince yourself. It is a book that makes you happy and sometimes silly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I would say....BAM!!!!!!! DOwn it goes!!!!

    This book is very sensetively funny and dull at the same time I suggest you take your time reading a book that your eyes fall in lala land with which a suggestion would be Dairy of a wimpy kid Last straw that will keep your eyes on it and energetic... this book will keep you energetic then it will drop you at some parts like pg70-71 that is really boring Do Not Buy It that is my advice.......this book is wonderful only for those who love to read anything in the whole world...other than some others they are very picky with books...this one would be horrible for people that are very picky!!!! and perfect for the people who love every book in the world......I recommend this book in my own words Funny then Let you down I do not like those kind of books like I said if you are picky do not read this book ......if you like every book than you would to read this book....I surely hope this helped you with your choice of books you order or I mean on this book I was very dissapointed when I read this book......I hated it.....in some ways but not all...That is my review for this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Fair book ( not the greatest)

    This book is funny and entertaining, but it's not as good as the 1st one. If you really want a good story, you should see my recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2