Customer Reviews for

Roger Maris: Baseball's Reluctant Hero

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Just in time for spring training...

    Whether you are interested in learning about one of the most provocative baseball players in history or just reading a portrait of a complex individual, this book is for you. Clavin and Peary obviously took their time on their research, and have produced a book that will not disappoint. I was surprised to learn a lot of things that contributed to Maris' upbringing and life that were not exactly known to the common baseball fan. Definitely one of the best sports bios on the shelf.

    Even Red Sox fans should buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Must read

    This is truly a must read for all baseball fans. An excellent look at a misunderstood hero. A great nice guy that few people ever knew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    omg...

    this was a wonderful thing to read...really liked it..anyways thanks for your time....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    A Very Good Read

    The family history of Roger Maris was very detailed. The reader can see very clearly how family relations formed the character of Maris. This was a very detailed and well presented story of the person and the player Roger Maris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    HE LIVED AN HOUR AWAY FROM MY HOUSE

    FARGO,NORTH DAKOTA I LIVE IN PELICAN RAPIDS,MINNESOTA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    My Cousin

    Roger Maris is a distant cousin of mine, and I would realy like to learn more about him. I am too young to have seen any of his games. However, research proves that the man who beat Roger's record in 1999 was on steroids, but they counted it anyway. Sooo unfair! In the rule book of baseball, druggs cannot be used in any way to improve personal abillities. I would know, I grew up with the game.Anyway, please tell me if this book would be helpful to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Y

    Epic get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Great book

    Having watched the Yankees in the 60's on tv, I was a fan of both the M&M boys in the quest to break Babe's record. I later was fortunate to see Maris play with the Cardinals. he was a great outfielder and it is tragic he did not make the HOf, especially considering the players now who likely will. great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    Outstanding look into Maris

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Outstanding and entertaining book. Very well done-

    It's not full of long descriptive box scores (thank goodness!), but rather tells the story behind Maris and let's us in on his upbringing. I enjoyed learning more about the behind-the-scene dramatics of the Yankee clubs in the 50's and 60's.

    Great insights into the games on the field, but also off the field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    A RELUCTANT LEGEND

    I GREW UP A MANTLE AND MARIS FAN. IT WAS ENJOYABLE AND TOUCHING FOR A CHANCE TO SEE THE HUMAN SIDE OF ROGER MARIS. I REMEMBER READING HOW THE M&M BOYS DID NOT GET ALONG AND I WAS GLAD TO SEE THAT LIE WAS LAID TO REST.
    I WISH ROGER WAS IN THE HALL OF FAME. THANKS FOR THE WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    The story of a great Yankee who prevail

    The story of Roger maris who broke Babe Ruth's record and earned the rath of Yankee fans. A complete analysis of his life from the human as well as from the athle. Ahero in hi time.tic side. A great Yankee, even a greater human being who endured the hardships of greatness and family discord. An excellent novel for young athletes to absorb. A remarkable man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2