Customer Reviews for

Rogue

Average Rating 3.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Worstt book i ever read

    Slow moving boring just really stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Boring and predictable

    This is the worst book I have read in a long time. Although D.S. can be very cheesy in the first place, this book was so repetitive and she seemed to be just writing to fill up space. The relationsdhips were unrealistic and unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Pretty Horrendous

    I read a Danielle Steel book about a decade ago and loved it so when I found this on the bargain shelf for 5 bucks I thought I'd get it as a fun trashy read. Unfortunately, it was too trashy and horrible to enjoy. A 5th grade girl could have written this book, I have a hard time believing DS wrote it. Either she's a horrible writer and didn't have her editor fix everything for her this time, someone else actually wrote it, or she just knew it would sell so wrote it quickly without thinking about it at all. I agree with other reviewers that it was boring and repetitive. All the characters are bland and not multi-faceted at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    No more

    Apparently like many other posters, I had not read a D.S. book in awhile, and only bought this one because it was on the bargain shelf and sounded like it might be interesting. I was wrong. This book was so boring, that if I hadn't been sitting on the beach with no other book nearby, I would have put it aside! Most of the characters, especially Charles, were irritating...and if I had to read "he liked that about her..." one more time, I was going to throw the book into the ocean. Very repetitive...almost like DS just needed to fill space to make the book long enough and couldn't think of anything else to write!! Also very unrealistic! C'mon DS...I used to like your books...what has happened!?? And I also think DS should sue her photographer or stylist or whoever picked the picture for the back cover...HORRIBLE!!!
    This is my last DS book. Perhaps she should retire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    What a waste of paper!

    Blake Williams suddenly amassed a huge fortune, retired, & now flits around the world buying houses & other toys, always on a new adventure, rarely coming home to his 3 kids & wife but doesn't see why she divorced him 5 years ago. Nothing said about adultery, but he sure had a string of YOUNG girls fast! <BR/><BR/>Blake was the children's biological father but no father in any other way. He constantly broke promises to & disappointed them & wouldn't show at important events in their lives. He wasn't there for Sam's birth, & twice when Sam was seriously injured couldn't be reached for days. He'd ignore his kids for MONTHS and couldn't be reached. He wasn't involved in decisions, took no responsibility, enforced no boundaries & undermined Maxine's authority during the infrequent times he was with the kids. He gave his 13 year old free rein of his penthouse when he was gone for weeks. He gave his kids alcohol, even the 5 year old. When the kids stayed with him, he'd usually bring a woman, always a different one, to share his bed, have sex with & let his attention be taken away from his kids to give to her. Great moral example for your own children. <BR/><BR/>But, Maxine let him get away with it. She & Blake were always touching & telling each other, "I love you." Blake referred to Max as his wife & himself her husband. When he took the kids to dinner she'd usually go with them. Yet neither cared about the other's love life & were never jealous? Maxine should have had him sign away his parental rights when they divorced. The kids weren't that old then & he was rarely around so it wouldn't have been much of an adjustment. No father would have been better than Blake as a father. He was self involved & incapable of real love. <BR/><BR/>Blake's "woman" in the beginning was 22 years old, barely legal, Blake was 46, more than twice her age. All his bimbos were under 30, most under 25. They were literally young enough to be his daughter & then some. He was old enough to be a grandfather!! It was pathetic. <BR/><BR/>He met Arabella, age 29, & was infatuated, in spite of the tattoos up & down both arms, with her. She disliked his kids, didn't want any of her own & turned out as loyal as a snake with the morals of an alley cat. What she did to Blake was horrid, but... when you're old enough to be a girl's father? <BR/><BR/>Blake was going through a mid life crisis most of his adult life. When caught in a natural disaster & seeing all the suffering, he suddenly grows up? The guy's pushing 50, how likely that he'd change, be a good father & husband & stay in one place? He would have continued jetting around & not be satisfied by a woman his own age. The end was just stupid. <BR/><BR/>The characters are undeveloped, cardboard & shallow. It's been a really long time since I've read a Danielle Steel book, now I remember why, & I'll never read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    same old plot

    I have only read half of the book and yet it's very predicatable. The characters are again to perfect and have a lot of money and that's not real life. Blake is rich and Maxine is rich and that kind of plot is not even attractive anymore. Maybe she should try something else or retire. She's out of ideas and it's getting old really quick. He newest one 'one day at a time' is going to be released in Feburary of 2009 and I am not going to read it. One part of the book had me shocked! It said something about one of Maxine's patients giving random blowjobs since 6th grade. That's a little much d.s. she doesn't write the same, only doing it to get a multimillion dollar check in the mail. Her drive isn't there anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    SOPHOMORIC & BORING!

    Danielle Steel is not worth the read any more. To me she is dried up on ideas & character development, even to the point of always having to re-use the name Charles in book after book. Years ago she was no great author but at least she was a quick, warm & fuzzy, enjoyable read. After too many attempts, hoping for improvement, and being disappointed NEVER AGAIN will I waste my time & money! I recommend 'REBECCA' by Daphne DuMaurier, my all time favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Not my cup of tea!

    Like other reviewers, I hadn't read Steele in many years...and it'll be a long time before I read her again. The plot was predictable, the characters flat, the whole book was boring. There wasn't much to it. I'm disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    BORING

    I had not read Danielle Steel for many years because as I got older I found her stories boring and characters too perfect. When I saw Rogue and read the insert I mistakenly thought she had improved her writing skills with stronger characters and story lines. My mistake! I found this book sappy and boring. No more chances Ms Steel......there are too many interesting good books out there to read this kind of trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1