Customer Reviews for

A Rogue by Any Other Name (Rules of Scoundrels Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

By Any Other Name..No, it has to be Bourne

What a delightful story! Sarah MacLean has taken an idea that in itself (on the surface) might seem to rankle more than one woman and weave it into a cloak every woman would want to wear.
"Poor Penelope"--as the story begins and weaves, we find that Penelope is used ...
What a delightful story! Sarah MacLean has taken an idea that in itself (on the surface) might seem to rankle more than one woman and weave it into a cloak every woman would want to wear.
"Poor Penelope"--as the story begins and weaves, we find that Penelope is used more often than appreciated, misunderstood more often than understood and without a doubt--underestimated by more than one foolish man in her life.
At the onset, Lord Bourne (don't dare call him Michael for at LEAST 200 pages!) does little to endear himself to her or to female readers, outside of being the consummate rogue and devastatingly handsome man.
Poor Penelope, becomes less poor and Lord Bourne, he remains the devastatingly handsome rogue that he begins, but adds to it, the quality of redeemed "fallen angel".

The writing is thorough and tightly strung. The characters are captivating (I can't wait to learn more about Cross and most especially, Chase). The inner narratives are beyond phenomenal.

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the reading, and only wish that I had taken more time to read it. Putting it down was just a non-option and I definitely killed the entire day and most of the evening finishing it. :) (Don't you just hate when you do that??)

No hesitation in recommending this delightful book to future readers.

posted by not-your-typical-reader on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

I wish there was some way I could tell if a story was going to b

I wish there was some way I could tell if a story was going to be nothing but romance and sex before I bought it. I couldn't believe there was actually an entire chapter dedicated to a sexual scene! This is what I call women's porn, that is, the sex is in the name of ...
I wish there was some way I could tell if a story was going to be nothing but romance and sex before I bought it. I couldn't believe there was actually an entire chapter dedicated to a sexual scene! This is what I call women's porn, that is, the sex is in the name of love and romance--fantasy, in other words. I'm disgusted that I bought this book. Okay, that's fine if the reader is into romantic sex, but why does no one mention that that's what the story is--in a soap opera setting, too? After that one chapter that was nothing but a description of a sexual interlude, I gave up and didn't finish it.

posted by Rosiolady on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Fun and Sassy

    The opeing scenes between the hero and heroine were terrific! I loved how even though she was in love with him she didn't spend the novel moping around and "trying to win his heart". She just went about seeking fun and adventrue and waited for him to wise up and follow her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Really good! I wish there was a little less " I can't, I do

    Really good! I wish there was a little less " I can't, I don't deserve you" even though what is a romance without struggle, other than just pure cheesiness. Although I was frustrated at points I still thoroughly enjoyed it and will continue reading the series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Great. Romance and Good laughs

    I love reading romance books that stray just a bit of the usual formula to thinks things seem new. This had everything: great female character...I don't always like them, most being a bit too mewling and weak. Or mistaking being shrill with being strong. But Penelope was strong in her own right and knew what she wanted and despite her limited options went for it. I also liked Bourne despite him being an ass...his behavior was understandable based on his history. But I liked most of all that their love was believable. I enjoyed this a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This new series was highly anticipated in my book. I'm not one

    This new series was highly anticipated in my book. I'm not one for what I call "harlequin romances." But, I was completely hooked after her first series.

    I was completely in love Penelope within the first few moments of meeting her. I loved her attitude. She's not bitter when it comes to her circumstances, but she knows that she won't be happy until she has a love match. She's seen it, so she knows its a possibility. Interestingly enough I think in her heart she's know all along who she loves.

    I wasn't sure about Bourne for the longest time. He was so cold and bitter that I wasn't sure that he would ever give in to what we knew he was feeling for Penelope. He had spent so much of his adult life with his eyes on revenge that I didn't think that the promise of love would be enough. It was never his intention and it doesn't belong in his world.

    The world that each of them inhabit are so far apart that its a wonder that they even collided to behind with. Someone has to character to the darker whims of the acrostic, and I think Bourne is the perfect person for it. I loved the little glimpses we get of his partners. They each have an interesting story to tell and I'm looking forward to hearing it.

    I liked how their relationship progresses. Its an interesting mix of love and hatred at first, but Bourne often goes out of his way to make Penelope happy. Even if its not in the ways she really wants. MacLean has a knack for writing romance in this time period. I'm looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Another first for me

    Sarah MacLean scoundrels are awsome. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A Good Bet!

    I love when the first book you read by a new author is so enjoyable! This book was delightful and definitely makes me want to read all Ms. MacLean's other books. The main characters, Penelope and Michael, are both so likable. And I love the history between the two old friends and how some of that unfolds through old letters. It's sweet, but also helps develop the "present" story of the two. You really want these two character to fall for one another and find a happy ending. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who loves likable characters, witty dialogue and a good romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Amylee my vote

    I like the names kentaro, darkness, kantana, and momji

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Worth the buy

    Overall a good story. I liked that each chapter opened with a letter. That helped to develop the characters and their story in a more interesting way then just spending a few chapters in the past. Both leads were well developed and believable. The only exception was the ending where I felt that MacLean had done an exceptional job building Michael's personality and character and then smashed it with making him a love sick youth in the end. But that's romance for you, women want the man groveling at their feet and professing undying love. It just didn't seem to relate to my perception of him. Still was a good read though and I am looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    Such a great read. A nice variety of humor, dread, and romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    A must-read

    I love Sarah Maclean's books! Enjoyed this first book of the new series. Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I have read all the books the author has written. Although, I r

    I have read all the books the author has written. Although, I really liked this book and the writing (I could not wait for it to come out), I found this hero a bit too harsh. The angry was so strong and then it was just wrapped up. I still liked it though. Nine rules is still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Janes take

    I found the story to be very engrossing and loved the strong characters that kept the story flowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Good read

    Loved the main characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    The Marquess of Bourne famously lost his inheritance in a card g

    The Marquess of Bourne famously lost his inheritance in a card game almost immediately upon reaching his majority. Years later he is the owner of a gaming club called The Fallen Angel with 3 other owners. He has been plotting his revenge against Viscount Langford, the man who tricked him into losing everything, and trying to reacquire his childhood home, Falconwell Manor. When Falconwell Manor becomes part of the dowry of his childhood neighbor, Penelope, Bourne quickly moves in to force her into marriage. At first Penelope is delighted to see her childhood friend, but Bourne is not the same person she once knew. He will destroy everything he has to in order to gain vengeance, even Penelope. While I enjoyed the story be warned that the dark tormented hero bit does get a little tiresome, especially as he was partly to blame for his own downfall. Still a good read and I look forward to the other, presumably three, titles in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Great read

    Superior story line by Sarah MacLean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great Book

    First time reading this auhor. It was a great story i plan to read the rest in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Fun read

    .......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4