Customer Reviews for

The Rogue Crew (Redwall Series #22)

Average Rating 5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Vert good book.

I was sucked in by this series and think I will go hysterical if there will be no more Redwall series books... Fortunately I havent read them all so the journey isnt completely over for me, I just wish there was a bigger selection on the Nook!

posted by 5771771 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fiera and firbranch

Let's have a memorial service. Go to Redwall Lesson Plans for the roleplay.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I Love THE REDWALL SERIES

    I think I got cheated out of eight dollars. BN, does it cancel the purchase if I turn my nook color all the way off?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    You mean roise,co.and brig from long patrol?

    Redwall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Eulalia!!!!

    Awesome! Amazing! Best redwall novel yet!
    Chloe from south carolina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    RRRRRRREEEEEEEEDDDDDDDWWWWWWAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL

    RRRRRRRREEEEEERDDDDDDWWWWWAAAAALLLLLLLLLL
    EULALIA!!!
    FUR AN FREEDOM!!!!
    GIVE EM BLOOD AND VINEGAE
    LOGALOGALOGALOG
    REDWALL IS ONE OF TH BEST BOOK SERIES EVER WRITTEN IN THE HISTORY OF BOOKS - SERVI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    IMARI TO NE1

    PLZZZZZZ TELL ROSE DAT IM LOCKED OUT OF EVRY SINGLE BK IV EVER POSTED ON INCLUDING HUNGER GAMES N TO MEET ME HERE! PLZZZZZZ! THNX...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Zeyna

    Anywhere where there are a lot of people they really want the whole Go big Or Go home theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    K

    Can i help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Nulare Squirrel

    Sorry, haven't checked the reviews in ages. Recommend every book, but especially what I call the Martin's Trilogy, Martin the Warrior, Mossflower, and The Legend of Luke. I also recommend the Warriors series, the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series, and the Ranger's Apprentice series, although he last two have swears in them. If that doesn't bother you, (it bothers my mom) they are great stories.
    Good fortune and reading!
    ----Nulare Squirrel, Recorder of Redwall Abbey in Mossflower Country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    RIP, Brian Jacques!

    My son got me started on the Redwall books when he was in middle school and we have anxiously waited for each new book in the series. I was sick and had nothing to read, and he said "Try this." I was hooked.

    I will miss Brian Jacques, but I fully intend to introduce him to my grandchildren!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ya it is

    It is pretty sad that brian jaques isnt gonna wright more books but come on he wrote a whole long series! Love redy wall : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    The person who said that they say

    The person said that they say hellgates to much thats silly because one it is there after life so why not talk about it and they are warriors so they don't act like british astricracits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Harley

    "There ya go ^_^!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Saph

    Anyone here???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    To Question

    The last book i read said on the back of the book that he died in 2011, which was last year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Question

    How fo you KNOW he is dead? Are u sure it isnt judt a rumor?,but this book is AAAAAMMAAAZIING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    REDWALLLLL!!!

    I finished The Rogue crew not to long ago, and when I did finish it, I was very sad :(. I had read all the books in the Redwall
    series, expeshally Martin the Warrior, and I have enjoyed them very much. I acully cried when I finished The Rogue Crew, really, I did cry. I'v always felt a special fealing while reading
    any Redwall book; it gave me a warm, happey fealing. But, alas,
    that cannot be so anymore, since I have finished the finished the series. But Redwall will always have a special place in my heart. I will always be in debed to Redwall, always.
    REFWALLLLL!!!




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    To Rake Nightfur

    I am going to be Romsca from Pearls of Lutra. What are we supposed to do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I just started reading the digital book , slowly. It makes me sa

    I just started reading the digital book , slowly. It makes me sad to know that when I finish this book, there wont be another one to look forward to. Reading these books has been my happy place for soooo long.
    Brian Jacques, you will be missed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    Super cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    The Rogue Crew is the 22nd book in the Redwall Abbey series of f

    The Rogue Crew is the 22nd book in the Redwall Abbey series of fantasy novels by Brian Jacques. The one main objection to these stories that I have heard, even from some homeschoolers, is that they are not specifically “Christian” fantasy, like the Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis. At the same time, I would reply that they are definitely NOT “anti-Christian” fantasy like books of Philip Pulliam, nor even occultic fantasy like Harry Potter, and the fact is that they are definitely representative of a general Biblical worldview, as is clear from a 2003 interview of Jacques by Susan Olasky in World Magazine. Jacques said, “In all of my books there is a struggle between the Dark and the Light. Of course, the Light always wins. I try to emphasize the importance of family, of community, of the goals that can be achieved when everyone works together, and at the base of it all is love. ‘Love thy neighbor’ is not just a dry sentiment to me, it's quite real. Such simple words, ‘Love thy neighbors,’ and yet so hard for a great many people to practice.”
    He went on to say, “Children understand at a very young age that some things are bad and some things are good. It's a bad thing to hit your brother or sister over the head; it's a good thing to share, to help your mom and dad. It used to be we learned right from wrong at home and church. But that no longer seems to be the case as much as it was when I was growing up. So I try to paint very clear moral signposts at an age when children need to hear very unambiguous messages. ‘This is good. That is bad. Period. End of discussion.’" I especially appreciated the following observations. “I was writing to entertain blind children at The Royal School for the Blind in Liverpool, where I live. And the reason I began to write Redwall was because I had volunteered to read to them. The books they gave me to read to the children were dreadful! They were about dysfunctional families, teen-age pregnancies, drug addiction, alcoholism, and deep psychological problems. I hated those books and so did the children. I kept thinking, ‘Why can't I read to them books that I enjoyed as a kid, full of action, adventure, and derring-do!’ And I went home and began to write Redwall for them.”
    In The Rogue Crew the hideously evil Razzid Wearat, supposedly a cross between a weasel and a rat, has sailed his ship, the Greenshroud from his home on the southern Isle of Irgash to the Mossflower area in search of new lands to plunder, leaving a wake of death and destruction. His only defeat had been at the hands of the mighty Rogue Crew of sea otters on the High North Coast led by Skor Axehound. After returning to Irgash to recuperate and repair his ship, Razzid and his vermin come back in the Greenshroud, which now has wheels and can glide over land as well as through water, to take revenge on Axehound, attack the badger mountain of Salamandastron, and eventually conquer the peaceful creatures of Redwall Abbey. The Rogue Crew must join with the brave Long Patrol of hares who serve the badger mistress Lady Violet Wildstripe in an attempt to defeat the Wearat with the help of the ever-present Guerilla Union of Shrews in Mossflower (Guosim) under Log-a-Long Dandy Clogs, the Fortunate Freepaws, and even some cave bats. Who will win the battle? Concerning language, besides a few common euphemisms, the euphemistic “confounded” appears frequently and the term “Hellgates” is found rather often. But it is a very satisfying read. Unfortunately, it is also the last book of the Redwall series. Brian Jacques died on February 5, 2011. He had finished the book before his death, and it was published posthumously. Thus end the chronicles of Redwall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5