Customer Reviews for

Rogue Rider (Lords of Deliverance Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines Book C

    This review was first posted at Reading Between the Wines Book Club!

    Woo-wee! Talk about one of the best books that I've ever read, where you didn't know whether you wanted to slap the hero for the atrocious things he'd done in his past, or give him a hug cause he was suffering so badly now. As Pestilence, the demonic Horsemen in the first three books of this series, I can say with absolute surety that every reader wanted to beat him to a bloody pulp. Book four, Rogue Rider, however, brings us back to Reseph. Even better, we start the book with a naked Reseph lying unconscious in the snow, where he is saved by Jillian.


    Our heroine Jillian manages to get the naked stranger back to her cabin where she nurses him back to health. Reseph is back to his usually charming self, except that he can't actually remember that he was charming before. He's got no memory. As he spends time with Jillian, things start to trickle slowly in for him in the memory department, but not enough to be useful or make any sense. In the mean time, Jillian and Reseph spend a lot of quality time together, and Jillian starts to fall for Reseph as she knows him now. The big question is, how will Jillian react if Reseph gets his memory back and tells her what he's done as Pestilence? See, it's not just that Pestilence wasn't bad enough for all of the atrocious things he'd done across the world, but he'd also caused the kind of mayhem that led Jillian to being attacked by soulshredder demons as she left her job at an airport. She may have survived the attack, but over a year later she carries both emotional and physical scars that just won't go away.

    In the background you have a lot of movement that really helps make this book phenomenal. You've got the Horsemen's watcher angel Reaver going after the angel Gethel for her involvement in trying to kill Thanatos' son Logan. You've Harvester, the Horsemen's demonic watcher, moving around doing stuff, but you aren't quite sure if she's up to bad or good. You've still got Gethel trying to wreck her revenge against the Horsemen and those that they love while she's working with Lucifer, Satan's right hand man. And more importantly, you've got every evil being in Sheoul and on Earth working to find Reseph, and restore him to Pestilence. Which has a good possibility of happening because Pestilence is still buried there inside Reseph, and he has to be strong enough to keep him locked away inside.

    This is once again an amazing book by Larissa Ione. It did move a little more slowly than her other books do, but once I finished reading it I feel that the slow pace was actually needed to truly convey the magnitude of what was going on with Reseph. Bravo Ione, for another excellent read! Let me just add that I CAN NOT WAIT for the next book, that should be out by fall of 2013, because it's Reaver's book. When you read this book you'll know why I'm so anxious because I didn't spoil this for you peeps, I swear! There's so much exciting stuff that gets revealed that you just have to read it! Five wine glass toast, and enjoy

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Review: I know that I've said it before, but I probably will

    My Review:
    I know that I've said it before, but I probably will say it every time after I read a Larissa Ione book. She is the most amazing story teller of our generation. This book was brilliant!! OMG, I never thought that I would be able to fall in love with Reseph the way that I did while reading this book after everything that he did as Pestilence over the last three books. But I completely and totally did fall in love with him. I swear....pure writing brilliance!!!

    You all know that I am a sucker for a good tortured hero, and you don't get more tortured than Reseph. For the past year, he has done every bad thing possible as the deliverer of the apocalypse. Even though he spends the first half of the book without his memory, he senses that he wasn't necessarily a good guy. But that doesn't keep him from totally falling for Jillian, the woman who found him naked and unconscious in the snow. He may not have any memory, but he has a good "sense" for things and he knows that what he's feeling for her is the first time he's ever felt like this in his 5000 year old life (although at the time, he has no idea that he's lived for that long.)

    And when he gets his memory back...OMG, I literally just ached for him. Then there's Jillian. She was attacked way early in the apocalypse by a hoard of soul-shredder demons. When the truth comes out about that attack...*sob*....my god, she's a strong woman to still do what she needs to do. I really liked her character simply because she doesn't realize how strong she really is...and she is so strong. Over and over she has to stand up for herself and for Reseph and for what's right and she does so with amazing strength, even when she's dying inside. I loved her character.

    This was another one of those books with amazingly deep layers of story and there was so much to this one which I adored. EVERYTHING about the story lines with Reaver and Harvester, I loved. I want more and CANNOT WAIT for Reaver's story...next in the series. I really liked the emotional upheaval among the other horsemen, Reseph's siblings. It took them so long to finally accept that there was no saving him, and now they are faced with having to forgive him when they'd finally written him off. It's a bad situation for all of them.

    BTW, I find it really humorous that in the intro scene with Jillian she is cursing the weatherman. Knowing Larissa's history in meteorology, I thought this was really fun.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I love the Lords of Deliverance series! This fourth book has all

    I love the Lords of Deliverance series! This fourth book has all the twists and turns of all her writings. Familiar characters and questions of good and evil are well handled and never stereotypical. I'm not sure what someone NOT familiar with this world would think of this but I was waiting for this book to come out from the time I finished the last one. Larissa Ione does NOT disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Good story line with likea

    I loved this book. very well written. Good story line with likeable characters. One of my fav

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It is a blizzard outside and Jillian Cardiff is cursing the weat

    It is a blizzard outside and Jillian Cardiff is cursing the weather man for his timing of the storm. She is caught in the middle of bringing a sleigh full of firewood back to her remote cabin, when she stumbles across a total naked, beautiful man lying in the snow. Attempting to save the man she, puts him on the sled and struggles to get him to her bed. Days pass while the stranger falls in and out of consciousness.

    Reseph awakens in a strange room with a beautiful woman by his side. He can’t remember anything about his past but his name. He doesn’t even know why he was in this remote mountain area or how he got there.

    Jillian’s neighbors are being slaughtered, demons are showing up and the members of the Aegis society are buzzing around. To top it off Reseph family show up to claim him and they are 3 of the 4 horseman of the apocalypse, which means Reseph is the 4th horseman.

    Rogue Rider is a fabulous addition to the Lords of Deliverance Series. Larrisa Ione transform the uber-evil villain into the lover to an extraordinary demon attack survivor, Jillian. Blatant sexuality oozes off Reseph as he pursues Jillian. Action pack with just the perfect touch of romance, Rogue Rider gets 4 stars.

    This ARC copy of Rogue Rider was given to me by Grand Central Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Published November 20, 2012.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Start with the begining and work your way to this . MUST READ

    Excellent Book hot, sexy, family fights, men being a pain. Protective males, Strong females and some nasty creatures.

    Must read the entire series Eternal Rider, Immortal Rider, Lethal Rider and Apocalypse: the Lords of Deliverance Compendium.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Loved it

    Huge LOD fan. Felt the ending was a bit rushed but loved finally getting resephs story. Looked forward to reaver and harvesters book. As for the troll below who gave it one star, for starters you should read the book and THEN give a review not the other way around. Try google, im sure they have a tutorial on how to read books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    5 Stars

    WORTH READING...
    Total Pages: 378; Story Pages: 296
    Lords of Deliverance series, book #4
    The Four Horseman of Apocalypse.
    Reseph (Pestilence) & Jillian (a human woman).
    Reseph is brought back from the dead (Hell) by Reaver. Will Jillian be able to change him/save him.
    At the end of the book, there is a preview of Eternal Rider and a bonus "story/compendium".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Great read

    Larissa did a great job continuing the storyline....can't wait for Reaver's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Me

    Like ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I have to admit I was skeptical about this series, but Ione was

    I have to admit I was skeptical about this series, but Ione was the first paranormal author I read and she was the reason I started to look into others of this genre. I really do like her writing style. I used to prefer Gena Showalter, but then she began getting a bit too predictable. I think Ione does a good job with this series. I really liked Than's story. Reseph's story is good too. It kept my interest. If I were to give a negative, it would be that I don't really like that he had amnesia and I don't fully get the attraction he feels for Jillian. The relationship just seems to happen and there is also a lot of sex with the couple that I feel is unnecessary or filler to make the book longer. I would have liked Reseph to remember his life as Pestilence and to be tortured by that life as he meets Jillian, but that was not the story. I would recommend this series to those who are looking to get into this type of genre. I also would recommend some books by Jaqueline Frank and JR Ward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Another winner for Ms. Ione.

    Another fantastic book from the great Larissa Ione. I absolutely love reading everything she writes.

    In this installment Reseph has been thrown back into the human realm without his memory and Jillian finds him naked in a snowbank near her cabin. What a lucky girl. They form a connection and even after Reseph remembers that as Pestilence he was responsible for the deaths of millions of people, Jillian still stands by his side.

    This book had some great reveals in it and a wonderful set-up for the next book, starring one of my all time favorite fallen angels.....Reaver.

    Again I love the cameos of quite a few of my favorite demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    i will read agian

    love this series,good story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Great series!! A must read!!

    I love Ione's writing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite This is a review

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    This is a review of the audio book "Rough Rider: Lords of Deliverance" by Larissa Ione. Narrator Erin Bennett’s voice was a pleasure to listen to and added much to the experience. In “Rough Rider: Lords of Deliverance” we once again meet Reseph, the Demon of Pestilence. In previous books he has certainly not played the part of hero. However, now is his turn to shine. A year previously Jillian suffered and survived a vicious attack by demons. She returned home to mend. Jillian found our unclothed hero lying unconscious in the bitter cold of a blizzard. She brought him into her home to nurse him back to health. Handsome Reseph has no memory of his past although he suspects he was not a good guy. For the first time in his life he found himself with feelings of love for a woman. He loves Jillian and will do anything to protect her. Of course things are never that easy in a good love story. Everyone seems to want Reseph dead.

    Though this book can be read alone, I highly recommend to read this series in the correct order. The plot of this book is enticing. It was delightful watching the relationship between Jillian and Reseph blossom. The basis of this series is the "Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse". Larissa Ione never takes herself too seriously; she manages to add just the right amount of fun to her tales. She has created a strong female character in Jillian although the beautiful young woman doubts her strength but readers will quickly recognize it. This is sadly the last book in this series. Of course I Am sure she has other projects to entice her fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Awesome!!

    This was a wonderful read. I could not put it down. Cant wait to read her next book. I enjoyed this author. I highly recommend,please keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Reviewed on Goodreads.com

    Love this series. Full review on the Goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great end to the Lords of Deliverance

    I love Larissa Ione books! Good book. I like how she writes her books and love all the characters. She always includes other characters from other books to tie it all together. If you have read all her books it makes it even better. Can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    love all her books!!!! awesome writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jillian Cardiff was out in a blizzard when she spotted a naked m

    Jillian Cardiff was out in a blizzard when she spotted a naked man unconscious in the snow. Quickly she rescued him and took him back to her farm to recover. When Reseph woke up he had no memory of who or what he was besides a vague idea that Reseph is his name. Not sure what to do Jillian lets him stay to recover and they quickly fall into an easy relationship. I think Jillian might be a little bit too trusting, she doesn't seem to doubt his character even though she doesn't know his past. That doesn't stop everyone in town from gossiping about Jillian's neighbors being murdered and the only stranger in town being Reseph.

    The sexual tension between Jillian and Reseph was freaking hot and I couldn't wait to see where their relationship went. The emotional torment Reseph faced was sad but understandable since he did so many evil deeds while he was Pestilence in the previous books. Jillian is the perfect match for Reseph, and to be honest this is my favorite book in the series so far.

    My main question while reading was "Will Jillian be able to handle knowing exactly what damage/destruction Reseph caused?". Larissa Ione handled the plot beautifully, and I wasn't let down. Don't even get me started on the little twists she throws in just when I thought I had everything figured out. Rogue Rider is a must read, if you haven't picked up the series yet you are missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6