Customer Reviews for

Rogue Wave

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"edge of your seat"

Rogue Wave had me at the first page. Boyd Morrison doesn't fail in bringing this "edge of your seat" suspense thriller that will keep you spellbound to the very end. You'll be drawn in from page one with his very believable characters that will leave you with a lasting ...
Rogue Wave had me at the first page. Boyd Morrison doesn't fail in bringing this "edge of your seat" suspense thriller that will keep you spellbound to the very end. You'll be drawn in from page one with his very believable characters that will leave you with a lasting impression of their lives and their determination to live. In Rogue Wave Morrison has done his research and displays a true setting for a very real tsunami disaster that makes you think "it's not if, it's when." Rogue Wave will bring to mind just how tragic the December 2004 tsunami really was and how it affected everyone across the globe.

posted by lilk on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I think the author tried too hard to make this into a gripping, heart stopping, nail biting novel. The plot was action packed and thick with danger, in fact it was so fast paced that I felt it swirling right past me. I wanted to stop the pace and enjoy the story a lit...
I think the author tried too hard to make this into a gripping, heart stopping, nail biting novel. The plot was action packed and thick with danger, in fact it was so fast paced that I felt it swirling right past me. I wanted to stop the pace and enjoy the story a little more. It started out at an even pace with fairly good character definition, but once it picked up pace, I barely had time to absorb one castastrope before the next one. At times I had to turn back pages to re-read so that I could understand what had just happened. This just isn't the style of writing that I like. I like smooth and flowing sentences.
I felt that despite all the drama and the hecticness of the events, the author could acheived this.

posted by 8429876 on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "edge of your seat"

    Rogue Wave had me at the first page. Boyd Morrison doesn't fail in bringing this "edge of your seat" suspense thriller that will keep you spellbound to the very end. You'll be drawn in from page one with his very believable characters that will leave you with a lasting impression of their lives and their determination to live. In Rogue Wave Morrison has done his research and displays a true setting for a very real tsunami disaster that makes you think "it's not if, it's when." Rogue Wave will bring to mind just how tragic the December 2004 tsunami really was and how it affected everyone across the globe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    I found this story thrilling from the first chapter. I hadn't re

    I found this story thrilling from the first chapter. I hadn't read any books by Mr. Morrison prior to Rogue Wave but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. It's not too technical and doesn't go deep into character backrounds but keeps up the pace of the action very well.
    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thriller/disaster stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    I think the author tried too hard to make this into a gripping, heart stopping, nail biting novel. The plot was action packed and thick with danger, in fact it was so fast paced that I felt it swirling right past me. I wanted to stop the pace and enjoy the story a little more. It started out at an even pace with fairly good character definition, but once it picked up pace, I barely had time to absorb one castastrope before the next one. At times I had to turn back pages to re-read so that I could understand what had just happened. This just isn't the style of writing that I like. I like smooth and flowing sentences.
    I felt that despite all the drama and the hecticness of the events, the author could acheived this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This was an incredible and fast moving book. I had difficulty putting it down aand when I had to, I couldn' t wait to start reading it again. Constant action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    great disaster book

    I loved this book. It was nonstop action and very enjoyable. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy disaster books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Nail biting action!

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat from page one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good Book

    This is a very good book and fast moving. I like it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    A Definite Page-Turner!

    The writing is excellent and keeps you turning every page to see what is going to happen. I have found his style to be something I enjoy, so I keep reading his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Grabs you and won't let go!

    Great book! Couldn' t put it down. Was bummed when it ended; wanted it to go on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Honestly did not even finish it. One of those books, where I did

    Honestly did not even finish it. One of those books, where I did not care what happened to the characters. Going to try his new series. Have not given up on him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Alicia

    That knd of stuff isnt allowed on youtube

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    highly recommended

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great read!!!

    This was a great read, bought it Friday night and finished it by Saturday night. Read like you were watching a movie, a fast paced action movie. I am in the Emergency Management career and to hear someone talking about a disaster, let alone the difficulties in getting people to really believe you when the world is coming to an end, is frustrating. I think the author did a great job capturing that. As soon as I am done with this review, I'm looking for his next books... I can see that I'm going to read this stuff fast... and recommend it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Starts out fast and speeds up!

    This thriller starts out fast and speeds up. Kai Tanaka, loving father of thirteen-year-old Lani and equally loving husband of Rachel, finds he must risk his job with the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center to save his family. An event unprecedented in human history, but one which has actually been predicted for some time, could throw his world into chaos.
    Kai is acting director of the PTWC when strange events start occurring. Most of the staff is absent or unavailable. Kai and Reggie are alone in the center when an earthquake registers in the south Pacific where one has never occurred. Sensors meant to relay data from various islands then mysteriously fail. At first, they issue a tsunami bulletin-a minor notification that is ignored-as usual. If Kai orders an unneeded evacuation it will cost the islands dearly and Kai may lose his job as a result.
    But if he waits too long, it could be too late for the the entire population of Hawaii. The warnings may not only be too late, the standard tsunami procedures may be useless in the face of the unbelievable gigantic rogue wave that he is beginning to suspect is on its way.
    His daughter is out of reach and his wife, manager of the swank Grand Hawaiian Hotel, is staying there too long, trying to save her clients, including a group of disabled vets. Lani's best friend, Mia and her mother Teresa have not picked a good time to visit from Seattle. Kai's reckless and irrepressible half-brother, Brad Hopkins-part playboy, part Hell's Angel-refuses to get out of the say and stay in the background during the crisis. But he comes through in the crisis, in his own way.
    Kai must choose between losing his job because of a poor decision and losing his wife and daughter as precious minutes tick by, leading to unimaginable catastrophe. This book had me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath in case a wave washed over me.

    Reviewed by Kaye George, author of "A Patchwork of Stories" for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Pretty Good!

    It was more interesting because it was written before the big Tusumai in Japan. So it was interesting to read it in the light of that situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Best book!, what a rush

    I loved this book!! It was hard to put down, action from beginning to the end. I have now read all of Boyd Morrison's book's and there all so good but this one is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Terrific

    A great and fast paced novel. Wonderfully told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This novel is exxcellent and very hard to put down. I read it in a day because it was so well written, once you start reading you get pulled into the story like you are there experiencing it also. Highly recommend this to everyone who loves a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Grabs you from page 1 and doesn't let you go till the last page. Unable to put this down. Definately a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4