BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rogue Wave

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"edge of your seat"

Rogue Wave had me at the first page. Boyd Morrison doesn't fail in bringing this "edge of your seat" suspense thriller that will keep you spellbound to the very end. You'll be drawn in from page one with his very believable characters that will leave you with a lasting ...
Rogue Wave had me at the first page. Boyd Morrison doesn't fail in bringing this "edge of your seat" suspense thriller that will keep you spellbound to the very end. You'll be drawn in from page one with his very believable characters that will leave you with a lasting impression of their lives and their determination to live. In Rogue Wave Morrison has done his research and displays a true setting for a very real tsunami disaster that makes you think "it's not if, it's when." Rogue Wave will bring to mind just how tragic the December 2004 tsunami really was and how it affected everyone across the globe.

posted by lilk on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I think the author tried too hard to make this into a gripping, heart stopping, nail biting novel. The plot was action packed and thick with danger, in fact it was so fast paced that I felt it swirling right past me. I wanted to stop the pace and enjoy the story a lit...
I think the author tried too hard to make this into a gripping, heart stopping, nail biting novel. The plot was action packed and thick with danger, in fact it was so fast paced that I felt it swirling right past me. I wanted to stop the pace and enjoy the story a little more. It started out at an even pace with fairly good character definition, but once it picked up pace, I barely had time to absorb one castastrope before the next one. At times I had to turn back pages to re-read so that I could understand what had just happened. This just isn't the style of writing that I like. I like smooth and flowing sentences.
I felt that despite all the drama and the hecticness of the events, the author could acheived this.

posted by 8429876 on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Excellent

    Boyd Morrison delivered a first rate thriler. The story was plausable and the characters were real. I suggest you read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Could not stop reading!

    I think I read this book faster than any other I've ever read. It draws you in and holds you. It is especially timely in light of the recent tragedy in Japan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Fun read

    Kept me up and not wanting to stop reading late into the night. The pulse pounding storyline was executed wonderfully. I never envisioned as a scenario that would cause such a tsunami. It was innovative and plausible storyline that I hope we never witness, but fun to read. I think the main character would be a good one to do a spin off into another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Oustanding!

    I don't say that lightly, as I read a book a day. Swept me up and did not let go. The descriptions are excellent and I could actually "see" what was going on.

    I was out in public when I got slammed with an emotional wave (pun intended) and I had to try very hard not to be the crazy lady with a nook crying in the waiting room!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a riveting apocalyptic thriller

    Somewhere over the Pacific, a light flashes past an airplane, which erupts into flames killing all on board. Their bodies were never found. A humongous wave assaults Christmas Island leaving it underwater; no survivors.

    On the Hawaiian Island of Oahu, Kai Tanaka is the assistant director at the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center when he accesses data that the world will never forget. While he is at work, his wife Rachel is at her job at a state of the art hotel. Their daughter Lani is with their guests Teresa and her daughter Mia at the beach. At the center, a tsunami warning is advised, but neither he nor his assistant is worried but then certain island stations fail to report. They do not understand what is happening because none of the conditions are right for a tsunami. They realize after studying available data that a meteorite hit the earth causing undersea earthquakes greater than any ever recorded before. Their announcement is late but they hope to save some lives including their loved ones. Few survivors in the Pacific Rim are expected to escape unscathed since the waves are more and bigger than they expected. Kai tries to find a way take his daughter Lani, his brother Brad, Mia and Teresa to a safe high point while his wife is at the hotel taking care of the guests.

    This is a riveting apocalyptic thriller that is so enthralling readers will be unable to put it down until they finish the last page. Millions of people on the Pacific islands and Hawaii are on the verge of having their lives end due to a wave that is strong huge and higher than the largest skyscraper. Readers are hooked from the opening Mayday and the lack of the routine signal from a buoy as required to the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center. The audience ironically knows hell is coming while Kai and his cohorts remain blissfully blind until it appears too late. Adding to the pending doom is Kai has family and guests caught in the upcoming catastrophe forcing him and Rachel to make difficult choices. Mindful of the giant tsunami that killed millions a few years ago, Boyd Morrison provides the audience with a spectacular thriller that brings to readers the tragedy on the two levels of a biblical scale and a personal dilemma.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4