Customer Reviews for

Rogues, Rakes & Jewels

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Rogues, Rakes & Jewels by Claudy Conn Marquis Ryker of Lyndh

Rogues, Rakes & Jewels by Claudy Conn
Marquis Ryker of Lyndhurst is sent to the Isle of Wight by his mother as she wants him to meet some country chit. He drags his cousin along, the Honorable Oscar Robendale but comes up with the plan to let Robby be him. He belie...
Rogues, Rakes & Jewels by Claudy Conn
Marquis Ryker of Lyndhurst is sent to the Isle of Wight by his mother as she wants him to meet some country chit. He drags his cousin along, the Honorable Oscar Robendale but comes up with the plan to let Robby be him. He believes every woman only wants him for his title and wealth...not that he's not a handsome man...he is. He’s intrigued and surprised with the chit he finds at the Henshaw house though. Will his switch backfire on him?

Sir James and Jewelene Henshaw have been left orphans and with debts. Papa liked to gamble a bit much. They have a light at the end of the tunnel though, Lightening their race horse. They just have to get his entrance fees to the derby. Thus enters...Babette. Jewels solution. Or Babette could just add more to their troubles.

Of course there is Lord Omsbury who will do anything to make Jewel his. Anything! A book full of unique characters as usual. And of course there is always the confusion that lies bring into a story. This isn’t a real long book but it’s packed with adventure and romance.
**Sexual situations

posted by Jutzie on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Read it. Is entertaining

Is ok, predictable, but ok

posted by TtttFY on February 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rogues, Rakes & Jewels by Claudy Conn Marquis Ryker of Lyndh

    Rogues, Rakes & Jewels by Claudy Conn
    Marquis Ryker of Lyndhurst is sent to the Isle of Wight by his mother as she wants him to meet some country chit. He drags his cousin along, the Honorable Oscar Robendale but comes up with the plan to let Robby be him. He believes every woman only wants him for his title and wealth...not that he's not a handsome man...he is. He’s intrigued and surprised with the chit he finds at the Henshaw house though. Will his switch backfire on him?

    Sir James and Jewelene Henshaw have been left orphans and with debts. Papa liked to gamble a bit much. They have a light at the end of the tunnel though, Lightening their race horse. They just have to get his entrance fees to the derby. Thus enters...Babette. Jewels solution. Or Babette could just add more to their troubles.

    Of course there is Lord Omsbury who will do anything to make Jewel his. Anything! A book full of unique characters as usual. And of course there is always the confusion that lies bring into a story. This isn’t a real long book but it’s packed with adventure and romance.
    **Sexual situations

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    If you love Regency Romances, there is nothing Not to Love about

    If you love Regency Romances, there is nothing Not to Love about this Book! Exceptional writing and dialog, it never dragged or lacked spark. The lead characters were engaging and never lost continuity of their personality as in some books. I certainly hope that Ms. Conn continues to write Regency era historical novels...as she is remarkable at her craft. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Sexy good fun

    This is regency at its best--depicts the era with humor and romance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    The Marquis of Lyndhurst's mother is match making again. He has

    The Marquis of Lyndhurst's mother is match making again. He has enough of women throwing themselves all over him for his title and money. So on his way he schemes with his cousin to switch places with him. Upon arrival and meeting the fair Jewelene he realizes the mistake he has made. The adventure has begun with humorous sexy fun, even with a villain (he he he). The story also has a wonderful family connection. Another wonderful read from Claudy Conn, you can never go wrong with one of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    engaging and enjoyable

    Light romance, fast read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Let me try to say something about this book that I haven¿t alrea

    Let me try to say something about this book that I haven’t already said about all of the other books Claudy has. She is so consistent in delivering hits.

    First I just gotta say I adore Claudy’s book titles. They are very catchy :)

    Her regency romance’s are superb. She belongs at the top in this genre.

    In Rogues, Rakes, and Jewels we get a unique story line. I laughed to myself and then thought “How does Claudy come up with all of these ideas?” This story was sexy and fun.

    Ryker of Lyndhurst is a handsome lord. He doesn’t want his mother interfering and trying to set him up with someone. He believes he is not ready to get married. So Ryker and his cousin decide to pull a sly joke on the Henshaw family. But once Ryker gets to the Henshaw’s he quickly realizes that he made the wrong decision and now he is stuck with Jewels believing he is someone else.

    Jewels is a beautiful blonde, green eyed beauty. She has a lot of responsibility since her parents died. When the Lord Of Lyndhurst and his cousin visit she starts to feel things she has never felt before. She is afraid if she opens up to Ryker he find out her secrets and leave her.

    I was hooked from the very beginning. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. I loved the family bond Jewel’s and her brother Jimmy had. Jimmy was such a great brother. I would love to read about Lizzie and Ben’s relationship. Claudy always gives her secondary characters enough room to shine making them fun to read about.

    Favorite sentences “Spoiler Alert”

    “Could I look into those bright green eyes of yours and not know the woman I love…?”

    “Jewels saw him, standing like the knight in shining armor she had always dreamt would come for her. He filled the doorway, faith, she thought, he filled the room! He was a mountain of volcanic fury”

    Rating: 5 Romanticals
    Sexual Heat Rating: 4 Kisses
    Cover: Is awesome and hit’s the story perfectly
    Characters: Awesome! I loved them all
    Story line: Sexy and fun
    Will I continue to read more from this author: Always and Forever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Although predictable, this was my favorite period romance by claudy. It was a wonderful and romantic love story with a second background love story. I loved jewel and ryker. No love triangles and no nose touching fo a change. I absolutely loved it! Phyl p

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book!!

    I loved this story of Jewels and Ryker and found it impossible to put down. From start to finish I was hooked and absolutely fell in love with the characters. This is another great book by Claudy and I definitely recommend it. I know that you will love it as much as I did. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Simply Wonderful

    When the Marquie and his cousin switch identies because his Mother is constantly trying to Marry him off. He has no idea what a surprise Jewel is! Read to find out!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    The Marquis and his cousin Robby, decided to switch their idenit

    The Marquis and his cousin Robby, decided to switch their idenities!!! The Marquis certainly was not looking for trouble but trouble was what he got!!! A fun and sexy book. Read this book and you will become very engaged with the characters. Enjoyable.
    Pirate Lady

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    4.5 STARS!! I fell in love with our H and h, such a pair. Ther

    4.5 STARS!! I fell in love with our H and h, such a pair. There is humor, intrigue, love that builds slowly and of course you need lack of communication to round it all off. But, it doesn't go on and on and has HEA. There is an Epilogue, but only a month into the future, which I wanted to know more what the future held. The secondary character's add a lot to the story. I love Ms. Conn's Regency novels the best, but they are all good. There is lovemaking, outside of marriage, that is just perfect - full of passion, not to descriptive, just enough to not stretch your imagination. I book is free and well worth your time. Just know it isn't that long, as about 1/4 is about her other novels. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Boring, boring, boring

    If the "intriguing plot" of a novel could be describe in relationship to the depth of a babbling brook, the reader would not even have to worry about wetting one's ankles ... let along dampening clothing.
    The shallowness of the plot, if there really is one, is reflected in the author's inability to create any character strengths.
    I threw up my hands after 100 pages, muttering "why am I wasting my time" .... there was just nothing to want me to pick up this book once I set it down ... I finally conceded and gave up, going on to better things.
    If this were turned into a movie script, the product was be a perfect prescription for insomnia victims.
    I'm sorry Ms. Conn ... I seen nothing, including a complete rewrite, that could save this effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    I was so bored with this book...

    Will not read another book from this author. She tried

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Anon

    Lame. Could only take a few pages of cliche writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Set in a different time period

    But this is not historical.
    Thee whole babbette thing is absurd.
    Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    This book is so up to Claudy Conn¿s standards / I am a big fan

    This book is so up to Claudy Conn’s standards / I am a big fan and have not read one book that she has written that has in any way disappointed me, this one is no exception. When Ryker the Marquis of Lyndhurst is ask to court Jewelene or Jewel , he is not happy . He seeks a conspiracy with his cousin Robby to make like he is Ryker. Then there is Jewel she has secrets of her own. She has many faces . Put this all together with a great storyline and you have a very entertaining book. It is full of excitement and twist and deception. I laughed a lot at times. Hard to review this one without giving spoilers way. I do recommend it highly. If you have not read any of this authors books, treat yourself a treat. This is a good one to start with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    I have always loved historical romances, and Claudy Conn's are t

    I have always loved historical romances, and Claudy Conn's are the best...they are a fun read with heroes, heroines and villains, of course.  You get action, adventure and sizzling sex, because the hero always finds a way under all of that material.LOL!!!!  It's a fun read.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Read it. Is entertaining

    Is ok, predictable, but ok

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2015

    I enjoyed the story it had plenty of fun humor romance very good

    I enjoyed the story it had plenty of fun humor romance very good writing not very many errors. Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4