Customer Reviews for

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Average Rating 4.5
( 411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Great Story!!

Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry is about a black family living in Mississippi during the early 1930's. This family, like many other families, is suffering from the unfair treatment from the whites. Their land is the only thing that gives them power. This is a good book fo...
Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry is about a black family living in Mississippi during the early 1930's. This family, like many other families, is suffering from the unfair treatment from the whites. Their land is the only thing that gives them power. This is a good book for anyone that's wanting to learn more about the segragation issue, or even the unfair treatment of the blacks. This is also a true story, so it has lots of facts about the time period. I really liked this book. It kept me on the edge of my seat most of the time. The book is based on true events that happened to the author, Mildred d. Taylor. The character's names were changed. The author was born in Mississippi (the same location the story takes place in), and her father worked on the railroad (the same one in the story). I judged the book by three things, suspence, the events in the story, and the ending. The story had suspence, and the events and ending were great. The main point of the book was to give the readers an idea of what it was like to live in the deep south during the 1930's. The book really does give you an idea of what it was like.Cassie, the stories main character, is always trying to stand up for herself against the whites, and is brave. Stacey is Cassie's older brother, and is almost like Cassie. He's brave and trys to stand up for himself. Christopher- John is one of Cassie's younger brothers, and is trys to avoid trouble when ever possible, but still gets dragged into what Stacey wants to do. Little Man is the youngest, and he trys to be brave, but is still too young to stand up for himself. The book definitely achieves its goals and purposes. Its gives the readers an idea of what it was like living in the 1930's, and it gives us a good, suspenceful story. This book is like no other non-fiction story I've read, because its built like a fictional story, but acually has true events.I really liked this book. It kept me on the edge of my seat most of the time. It had many sad moments, and some funny ones too. I recammend this book to anyone and I give it 5 stars.

posted by 6701682 on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E!!!!

i had to read this for school, and every little bit of the book was just BAD! and not to mention completely and utterly BORING!!! it was just bad. real, bad. dont even pick it up.

posted by madisonx34hanna on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Cassie and her family face a very hard.When people start doing b

    Cassie and her family face a very hard.When people start doing bad things to Cassie and her family. They must figure out how to deal with all of this madness. They keep getting threats from the towns people. For example, Cassie and her brothers get mad fun of at school. Cassie's parents have a hard time shopping for food, clothes and other things that regular family's need. Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry is about how colored people were treated before Martin Luther King.

    Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry was O.K. It got boring at some parts but over all it was a pretty good book. I give this book 3 stars because the author gave some details. There are z few surprising twists and turns. If you wanna find out read Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Lin's Review

    Pretty good. I'm not trying to be picky, but maybe you could make them longer. CAUSE I WANT MOOOORE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Terms of Turmoil...

    I thought this book was good, but not one that I would recommend for personal reading or for young readers. I read this book to my third grader, and at certain points of reading about lynching and racism I felt were just a bit inappropriate for her. I do recommend it for older readers who are reading about this era and are trying to get a sense of what went on. The daughter in the story Cassie, 9, sees the world at that time for what it is. Racism plays a major role obviously in this book. I thought it was a good book just not for my eight year old, I would still recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    This Book is BORING

    I had to read this book for school. The book is great for classrooms and lessons, but stinks as a "just for fun" book. Its some times hard to understand and read out loud. With the southern thing going on it makes it hard to read out loud. I was disappionted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    this book is ok

    Book Review Do you like to read books about the1930s? If you do, then you would love the book Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry! It is about the Logan family and how they have to face problems. Since they are a black family, life is extra hard on them. In one year they had to deal with night riders, burnings, and how a white girl humiliates Cassie Logan, the main character, in public just because she is black. Cassie grew up having land of her own, which was rare for African-American¿s to have. The setting is in the woods, in Strawberry, at Cassie¿s house, on her land, at her school, and in the 1930s. Mildred P. Walter, the author, wrote other books like Song of the Trees, and The Friendship. She also did a great job with little details that helped you imagine that you are right there alongside Cassie, her friends, and her family. The main idea the author tries to get across is that there will be many hardships in your lifetime, but, with the help of friends and family, you will get through them. I my opinion, I do not think this book is suited for younger children. This book is perfect for me because I am in sixth grade. I think it is an O.K. book because there is not very much action and it was so boring I had to force my self to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

    In the Roll of Thunder Hear, the author goes to great lengths to show the importance of freedom and independence of the Logan family, a black family living in the south in the slavery days. The land represents the family¿s freedom and independence. Thunder is often times used to illustrate trouble that is about to happen and the trees mean security for the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

    The book takes place during the Great Depression. In the Roll of Thunder Hear, the author goes to great lengths to show the importance of freedom and independence of the Logan family, a black family living in the south in the slavery days. The land represents the family¿s freedom and independence. Thunder is often times used to illustrate trouble that is about to happen and the trees mean security for the family. Throughout the novel, the Logan¿s encounter many whites who are prejudice. Taylor uses TJ Avery to tell of the story of how some blacks would go to a mixture of lengths to get the ¿good¿ praises from their ¿masters.¿ So caught up in the need to be accepted, TJ not only risks his own life, but also the land and lives of the Logan¿s. It is only with the help of the Logans and other blacks who live nearby, is TJ able to be saved from being lynched for a murder that he committed with the help of his ¿white¿ friends. The Logans set their own land on fire, the land that is a family heir, freedom and independence, just so that TJ¿s life can be spared. The Logan family learns to draw strength from their own senses of dignity and self-respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Just Good Book

    This book depicted racism during the certain period of time but it was really slow moving until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    A Good Story On Racism

    I think this book is very good and interesting and also has a lesson in every chapter.I read this book in class every day and it got more interesing as we read.I reccomend this book for people who are interested in knowing how black people were treated back in the days of the Depression which was back in the 1930s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

    I liked your book, because it showed the anger of kids about how they should not be treated or discriminated cause of there race.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

    I actually expected this book to be horrible and boring, but on the contrary, it turned out to be a pretty good book. Although it didn't have suspense or adventure, the characters were very intriguing. I liked the style of the book was written and how the characters communicated with each other. I would have given this book a 3.5, but it wouldn't let me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    This is an ok book. It is about a little black girl, and her three brother in the old ages when they were very mistreated. Some may say it is very much like a very long diary, and it is. But for the most part it is somewhat boring, as it goes on and on about one thing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1