Customer Reviews for

Roma (Rome Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Ancient Rome

Steven Saylor, known for his popular detective series set in ancient Rome, tackles a more ambitious project here. He traces the history of two fictional families from before the founding of Rome to the assassination of Julius Caesar, a period of about 1000 years. I be...
Steven Saylor, known for his popular detective series set in ancient Rome, tackles a more ambitious project here. He traces the history of two fictional families from before the founding of Rome to the assassination of Julius Caesar, a period of about 1000 years. I believe this format has been done better by Michener and Rutherfurd. Yet Mr. Saylor does a respectable job of telling the story, and the book is enjoyable. The characters are well-portrayed, the most appealing and moving for me being the crippled aristocrat Kaeso, who is compelled to hide his sexual orientation from society, with tragic consequences. There are acts of heroism and cruelty both in this lengthy saga, though credit goes to the author for keeping graphic violence to a minimum. Unlike most sword-and-sandal fiction, there are no battlefield scenes. The author prefers to focus on setting, character, and plot. This is a fine addition to historical fiction of the period.

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Book from A Normally Decent Writer

I haven't been this disappointed in a book in many years. I've read all of Saylor's Roma sub rosa novels, many of the short stories and his O'Henry historical, Twist at the End, and enjoyed them to one degree or another, but this book was a terrible mistake. The writing...
I haven't been this disappointed in a book in many years. I've read all of Saylor's Roma sub rosa novels, many of the short stories and his O'Henry historical, Twist at the End, and enjoyed them to one degree or another, but this book was a terrible mistake. The writing is so poor it's embarrassing, the premise is borderline ridiculous(a winged phallus, prized and passed along through the generations by a very unbelievable bunch of shallow dorks)and the few interesting nuggets of Roman history are buried in alternating layers of treacle and grotesque sensationalism. The book is a mish-mash of historical factoids, two-dimensional characters and National Enquirer writing style. I made it about half way through before the author convinced me it was never going to get any better, and I had just wasted three hours of my life. Someone should have told Mr. Saylor not to publish this one.

posted by magggs on January 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Roma

    This was a great find. I am someone who loves historical dramas. If you know someone that enjoys reading historical drama literature, this would make a wonderful gift. 1000 years of early Roman history. Who knew it would be informative as well as a good read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    Brilliant research and understanding of the reality of Roman life.

    History is a list of facts, illuminated by whatever prejudice or political venues of it's writers. Saylor has given life to history through his brilliant research with humanity, thoughtfulness, and creativity in his marvelous book "Roma". I immediately read his resources and found the wonder of what he has clearly presented therein. An engaging and exciting study in early Roman history. It is intellectually engaging and more than thought provoking as we struggle within our own political age. Yes, there are definitely lessons to be learned, as well as, a gratifying, exciting read to be gained through Saylor's magnificant "Roma" -a- Wow! Sarah MacAller, PhD Eng. Lit.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    That explains everything!

    Steven Saylor has given highly plausible and entertaining backgrounds for all the myths you have ever heard for the founding of Rome and the Roman gods and goddesses involved.
    The sections may be read one at a time for leisure evenings or (as I found), read as a whole because you want to see what is tackled next!
    Extremely thought-provoking as another look at the making of history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    History at its most enjoyable

    Reading Roma is like walking through ancient Rome. This book is an extremely easy read considering it takes you from Romulus And Remus to Julius Caesar. It is very imaginative how the author turns mythology into human interest stories. All history lessons should be this much fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    After having attempted to read several so-called Roman history n

    After having attempted to read several so-called Roman history novels, Roma was a welcome relief. The author laid out theories of many legends of this period that made the reader think a bit. Hand in hand with that is a great read with interesting characters and fact-based events of the times. Anyone who enjoys great historical fiction should give Roma a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A great read.

    Steven Saylor never disappoints. Historical fiction is hard work but he nails it every time. The events, the people, the times are superb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    great story and a painless way to learn history of the era

    I've read several Lindsey Davis books (the Marcus Didius Falco series) and I loved the way she integrated the mystery into the daily life of the Romans after Caesar's rule.

    This book goes more deeply into the early Roman history and ends with the death of Julius Caesar. It's a great companion and explains how the Patrician and Plebian classes interacted over time, the history of the Tribunes, etc.

    I'll certainly read more of Steven Saylor's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    G

    No. Goodbye.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Nicko

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Jake

    Yep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Aiiaha

    "Well, you could have said that." Aiisha took out a small dagger and went out to train.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Lukas

    Walks in son of mars wants to be praetor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Aspen Owen ¿Can I Join?¿

    She enters the camp smiling. She had bright gray eyes, filled with small silver circles, like craters on the moon. Her eyes obviously held great mischeviousness but also a small hint of vigor. Her hair was wavy and long, and a smoky shade of chocolate. She had fair skin, soft and gentle like moon beams, "Hullo," she said, with a hint of an irish accent, "im Aspen Owen, daughter of Diana." She smiled confidently, exposing her dimples, "and i was wondering if i could join?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Joe

    The praetor waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    To venusstar

    Handsom kit with green eyes walks in* i will join you

    ______________danstar_________________________________

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    VenusStar

    The beautiful silver and gold she cat sits in the middle of the clearing, waiting for new members wanting to join.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great!

    An interesting way to learn a little history with the mixture of fiction. I really enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Awe Inspiing Awe Inspiring

    Amazing book that really made Rome come alive!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Oh of the best books I have read in a long time. Could not put it down. I learned so much about the building of Rome in a delightful way. Definitely a read for history buffs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    Excellant Read

    I totally enjoyed this book. It is very discriptive of the ancient sites of Rome. I could wals along with the characters as they went from one ancient site to another. I had visited Rome a few years ago, and it was so enjoyable to revisit the area through the words of the auther. I highly recomment this book, to anyone, especially those who enjoy ancient history. Read On...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4