BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Roma Eterna

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Plague

    *she yawns, setting stuff on her bunk.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Praetors cabin

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Roma

    Interesting alternative history "fix-up" novel about a Roman empire without the influence of Christianity. The premises of most of stories are solid, but the stories are marred by frequent "word spinning". Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Good stories, excellent writing, but not original

    Silverberg is a very good writer, and he presents both familiar (Falstaff from Henry IV, the Reign of Terror, the Romanovs) and new stories (the exiled Roman courtier in Mecca) in a decently-crafted alternate world. While the characters and plots are believable and occasionally touching, their premises just aren't that great. I mean, the whole Exodus thing is a bit of a stretch, and really should have been developed further before the last story. Despite these flaws, the book is a smooth and satisfying read, but in a more literary than alternate history fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    I found hard keep my interest

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    AWESOME!!!

    sounds good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Roma ho hum

    Although I found the concept of an eternal rome facinating, this book fails to deleiver on its promise. In the 2500 years of rome's rule not one change occurs. All the stories except one could have been set in 300 AD, and in that one changing rocket to big boat would have brought it back to 300 AD. If you are a fan of Alt history do not read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    It makes more sense as a collection than a novel

    I found this book disappointing, but reading the other reviews on this site makes me realize that this is a collection rather than one continuous story. While reading it, I thought it jumped around too much for me to hold onto names and dates. While I enjoyed the idea of the alternative history with Rome as the supreme superpower in the world, I questioned some of the ideas that the author brought up, or rather other ideas that weren't brought up. I guess you can play that off as part of alternative fiction, but it just didn't fit for me. The book is a good read for those that like the 'what if' question, but as a whole, I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. The dust jacket referred to the Hebrews and their place in this Roman Empire, but for the first and last stories, they were almost non-existent in the stories, and the book as a whole could have done without them. An interesting read, to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    epic alternative historical novel

    The Exodus failed to take the Jews from Egypt into the Promised Land. Thus Christianity never surfaces as the Jewish people remain enslaved in Egypt. Still Rome rises to defeat the neighboring Barbarians. The rest is history (at least alternative) as key global events fostered by ROMA ETERNA starting in A.U.C. 1203 (A.D. 405 our time) into the next fifteen centuries occur as the Roman Empire ebbs and grows. <P>Robert Silverberg rewrites several of his related short stories into an epic alternative historical novel that engages the reader with intriguing theories of how much different the world would be if one pivotal event (albeit Moses leading the Jews) had a different ending. Though entertaining and easily hooking the audience, the tale still feels more like a short story collection as none of the characters (over the fifteen hundred years) feel fully developed. Still sub-genre readers will relish this fascinating saga of a seemingly eternal Roman Empire as each subsequent chapter builds off of events that chronologically (and literally) preceded it. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1