Customer Reviews for

Romancing His English Rose

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    I am not a huge fan of mystery / romance books because they ofte

    I am not a huge fan of mystery / romance books because they often are heavy on mystery and light on the romance, but I am vet happy to say that Romancing His English Rose has a wonderful blend of romance with a sprinkle of mystery. Rose  has a almost photographic memory, which aids her as she and her fiancé investigate the murder of Simon's cousin. She reminds of a 18th century version of the female characters from the Big Bang theory. Simon is a typical rake, who realizes the gift he has been given in his betrothed while researching poisons. Overall, I generally like my books a little steamier, I would recommend this for book to members of my own family.m

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    recommend

    like the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Wonderful! 4.5 *Book source ~ Many thanks to Entangled for pro

    Wonderful!

    4.5

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Entangled for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Ever since Rose Warren could talk she called Simon ‘Mine.’ At age 10 Simon thinks five-year-old Rose is an irritant, but when he finds out she’s actually correct in her statement that he is hers because of a marriage contract signed by their parents he changes from an intelligent biddable boy to someone else entirely. He doesn’t want to be forced to marry Rose and when Simon makes her cry she decides he is no longer worthy of her. Years later, when Simon and Rose are thrown together to solve a case involving his cousin and a poisoning they come to the conclusion that their parents may have been correct in pairing them up for marriage because the sparks are definitely flying. Can they explore this new relationship and still solve the case?

    While this story is definitely well-written, entertaining and even smokin’ hot without being explicit I had a problem with it being book 2 in the series. Since I didn’t read book 1 I felt I was missing a big chunk of the story involving William and Hannah and Simon’s cousin. And I hate missing out. It drives me insane. Reading this story without reading book 1 will probably not bother a majority of the population. However, if you’re like me, then I suggest picking up book 1, Taming Her Forbidden Earl, first before immersing yourself in Rose and Simon’s story. So that’s why I give it a 4.5 instead of a 5. All-in-all a wonderful historical romance with a mystery to solve added in for extra spice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    An intriguing romance with a great mix of heart and suspense, Ro

    An intriguing romance with a great mix of heart and suspense, Romancing His English Rose is a fun choice for those who are looking for a little edge to their love story. - Full review available at BookTrib's website or RomanticReadsandSuch on wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Early today I finished reading Romancing His English Rose by Cat

    Early today I finished reading Romancing His English Rose by Catherine Hemmerling. Of course, I would start with book two of a series. Heaven forbid I would actually start with book one. In my defense, I didn't realize that this was a book two of a series. However, I manage to make it through the story without too many complications. I think most readers will survive if they hadn't read the first book. I plan to go back and read book one, because there are characters in this book I would like to know how they came about to be a couple. Of course book one answers those questions. Anyway, Romancing His English Rose focuses on Rose Warren and Simon Trumbull. 

    At the beginning the story, we see a young Rose and Simon. Rose was always calling Simon "Mine", because she was told that she would one day marry Simon. When Simon found out he was aghast and from that day on he did everything in his power to avoid being a decent young boy. 

    Fast forward some years later, Simon is trying to obliterate that memory of that fateful day when he decided to change. However, he's still "technically" betrothed to Rose. However, circumstances forces these two to work together. As they slowly get reacquainted, they realize there's an attraction. Yet, Rose doesn't want to get too attach to Simon for fear she would never recover, and Simon doesn't want to get attach cause what happen when they were younger.  

    I really enjoyed the Romancing His English Bride, because you have a romance and a mystery going on. Honestly, the style for this book kind of reminded me of Robyn DeHart's Ladies' Amateur Sleuth Society. If any of you read those book, would actually enjoy Catherine Hemmerling's books. I did like the attraction between Simon and Rose. Plus, they work well together. Romancing His English Bride kept me entertain while they try to solve a mystery, and the bonus is the budding romance. So, if you are looking for a little mystery with your romance, you might want to give Romancing His English Bride a try. I personally can't wait for the next story.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great addition to a wonderful series, Romancing His English Ro

    A great addition to a wonderful series, Romancing His English Rose was a lovely historical romance. With thrilling mystery and steamy romance, this book was definitely a great read. Loved it!

    Rose was a wonderful heroine. She was so thoroughly likable. She was just a genuinely kind, clever, strong character that it's impossible not to like her. I appreciated that she wasn't one of the heroines in romance that was prone to dramatics. She was eminently sensible and that was another point in her favor. I thought she was lovely and I really liked her.

    Simon was also great. He was strong, clever, and oh-so-attractive, with a little-boy mischievousness that made him very endearing. In a word, I would call him a rascal, and I mean that in the best way possible. He was sweet and adorable and I really liked him.

    The romance was okay. It was definitely sweet and the chemistry between these two was on fire. I thought they were great together. But, I wish there had been a little more to it. I say that because, at the start of the book, Rose and Simon don't like each other, even though both of them have every intention of getting married someday. I wanted to see more of why there as an animosity (though it was touched on briefly, it didn't feel like a full explanation) and more of how the changed. Because, with the way it went in the book, it was more a Simon finally seeing  the light and realizing his fiance is actually pretty and kind. And Rose just accepting that. I wanted more depth. 
    But, for the most part, I liked the romance.

    My only other complaint about this book is that it sometimes slipped into modern slang that was jarring in the historical context. It wasn't just a word or two that I could have ignored. It was quite a few words that most definitely didn't fit. But, that might just be me being a history nerd, so it might not bother anyone else.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. The mystery was definitely thrilling and had me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

    Romancing His English Rose was a wonderful historical romance. The mystery, the romance. It was all fantastic! I really enjoyed reading this book. Lovers of romance, this is a book you'll want to read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing His English Rose by Catherine Hemmerling is the second

    Romancing His English Rose by Catherine Hemmerling is the second book in the Lady Lancaster Garden Society series. While it can stand alone and the romance in it is not dependent on the first book, it is better to have read the first in the series as quite a number of allusions to it are made. The Garden Society has nothing to do with gardening, but is a secret society of young women who investigate crimes of interest to Lady Lancaster.

    Rose is a strong character, both for her time, and within the context of the story. It makes Simon look weaker than he may otherwise have appeared. The romance, in that sense, revolves around Simon growing into manhood whereas Rose was always a lady and highly mature. It made for an interesting change in the roles in historical romance and was quite refreshing if a little frustrating at times. Simon often comes off as quite small and petty up against Rose.

    The mystery is one that is quite personal to the characters and the villain has clearly been introduced in the first book. The way the mystery is solved is pulled from historical records and the beginnings of forensics, which was fun to read about. It wasn’t so much a “whodunit” mystery as a “How can we prove he did it?” mystery, which read in places more like a thriller than a suspense.

    It was a fun read, and I got a little history too. It’s definitely one to read, just read Book 1 in the series (Taming Her Forbidden Earl) first.

    RATING: 4

    Heat Rating: Mild

    REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was given a copy of this book from the publisher and author in

    I was given a copy of this book from the publisher and author in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any way.

    If you’re something of an amateur sleuth you may be impressed with Rose’s skills.  You will be surprised at how quickly the pages go by as you read.  You will forget about everything else and then you’ll realize the story is done.  I have to think as I read the interactions between Simon and Rose that he’s finally met his match.  But who will come out on top?

    My page-turner is finding out if they ever bring the villain to justice.  The romancing is nice but it’s the mystery that’s doing it for me – the suspense is driving me nuts.  I can’t believe I’m saying this but when Simon finally tutors Rose on everything a couple does behind closed doors, I just wanted to yell at them to hurry it up and start solving things.  Their love for each other is just icing on the cake.

    The only disappointment I had is that this is the first book in the series that I’ve read.  I look forward to reading more of Catherine’s work.  It’s a fast read that you can get done in one or two days – depending on how much time you have during your day.  By the end, you will be smiling as you read the HEA ending.  If historical romantic mysteries are your cup of tea then make sure to add this book to your shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1