Customer Reviews for

Romancing Miss Bronte

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    The overall story of this book was well written. While I wished

    The overall story of this book was well written. While I wished for some more details in the beginning, the story flowed easily, especially when the author used actual letters written to and by Charlotte Bronte. I would have loved to give this book a better review if it were not for the last part of the book. I found it hard to read the intimate details of Charlotte's marriage when the rest of the book doesn't go into such details and even dances around the affair of her brother's life. It did not fit with the rest of the story especially when Charlotte Bronte did not want even the smallest details of her life exposed and yet in this story it shows her in a degraded way that only sexual intimacy can achieve love. If the love story was at the author's liberty, Charlotte would have loved Arthur for who he was and not how he made her feel in such an intimate setting. Too many details left little to the imagination, and yet even in the Brontes' own works, they did not divulge such intamacies in graphic detail. I say stick with the Brontes' own works and you'll be much more satisfied. Especially when Charlotte Bronte has Jane Eyre's own romance to indulge in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Perfect for Bronte fans

    I absolutely loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved this book. Very clever and well written.

    Loved this book. Very clever and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Fantastic story! Loved it!!

    I originally picked this book up from the library to read, and I enjoyed it so much that I bought a copy of it for myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I gladly recommend it and will be adding it to my favorites list... Very sweet bok! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A splendid read about Charlotte and the Brontes.

    Romancing Miss Brontë will make you want to read anything and everything by the Brontë sisters. Following the life of Charlotte and her siblings from the times before they were published, through tragedy and heartbreak, to the last stages of Charlotte's life, Juliet Gael's debut novel is informative, alluring, romantic, and insightful. Crafted from fact, it is a visionary work, reminiscent of the Brontë's writing itself. Pulling themes from the Brontë's books, and molding them into realistic portraits of Charlotte, Emily, and Anne, the reader can't help but fall in love with these women, and feel sadness for all their tragedies.

    Gael's chosen to begin her story with Charlotte, Emily, and Anne in Haworth, England. Living with their aging father and broken brother, the women turn to writing to escape. First starting with poetry, they eventually succumb to the desires of publishing novels. Met at times with harsh criticism followed by raving success, the women handle their reviews, and their lives, in three very different ways. Emily, reclusive yet wildly abandoned; Anne, prim and proper; and Charlotte, heartbroken but determined.

    We start out with the whole family, and close in on Charlotte when tragedy falls. We follow her to England and back, landing finally in Haworth where she must decide her fate, and her future, and where her desires and dreams should lie. Gael has written an artful imagination of the Brontë household. We feel for this family, and their circumstances. I was completely entranced by Gael's narrative as the sisters worked on their individual novels. Having only read Jane Eyre, it made me desperately want to read everything else by the Brontës. Not one page of this book bored me, I was completely fascinated by the lives on the page in front of me.

    The book's description focuses on Charlotte's love life and the man who falls for her, her father's curate, Arthur. And Arthur and Charlotte's story does play an integral part of the narrative, but it's not until the last half of the book, and it's not the whole story. Romancing Miss Brontë is about more than just Charlotte and Arthur, it's about Emily and Anne as well, and even their brother Branwell and father Patrick. It's a beautiful story, and a heartbreaking one. Well-written, well-executed, it is a splendid read, full of vigor and life and beautiful words.

    4 stars

    (I received this book from the publisher for review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A Beautiful, Fascinating, and Real Look into the Life of Charlotte Bronte

    I hope I can do justice to "Romancing Miss Bronte" when I describe why this is one of the best books I've ever read, certainly the best historical fiction novel I've ever had the pleasure to read.

    Let me begin by saying that even before hearing about this novel, I have always wanted to read a realistic book about Charlotte Bronte's life. That's because I always considered it such a tragedy that almost all the people she was close to died so early, and she herself marrying someone that (as I got the impression from reading the bios) she didn't truly and passionately love. And dying during her pregnancy at that. What a sad way to go. I wished that there was an author out there who would be able to capture Charlotte's life all the way to that conclusion honestly and sympathetically, at the least, with maybe some extra insight into the life of an author I only knew a little bit about. I really wanted a happy ending to what I believed was a sad fate for Charlotte, author of such a tremendous work like "Jane Eyre". With this novel, I got all of that, but also a level of such love and respect for the Bronte siblings, their lives and work, that I was quite literally blown away.

    Most significantly, this book was written from the heart. I was astounded that the Bronte sisters, Charlotte, Emily, and Anne were written so well. Each had their own distinct personality that was developed fully and realistically. Even their brother Bramwell was a fully rendered character. Their close relationship as a family was very convincing. They come alive in this novel truly as sisters, bound together by love and respect, but not without their own wants and needs that lead to misunderstandings and disagreements. I was very eager to read about what their family life was possibly like, considering the author of "Wuthering Heights" was one of the sisters. I became engrossed by Gael's skillful portrait of these sisters' interactions with each other and with their father and brother. Gael so respects her characters that she doesn't shy away from detailing their hurts, fears, humiliations, and even their deepest darkest thoughts. I believe you can find a well-rounded, authentic portrait of each of the characters in this novel, and we are all the better for it. For in these characters we can see ourselves.

    Secondly, "Romancing Miss Bronte" is a well-written, meticulously researched work. As far as I can tell, the events in the book follow the events of Charlotte's own life. The author imagines these events in intimate detail, drawing us in the story by making every part of her life fascinating and personal. You experience her joys, suffer her humiliations, grieve with her, and feel the deepest, deepest sympathy for her. She really was an extraordinary woman; I had no real idea until I read this novel. Yet, she was a real woman, with the same insecurities and emotions.

    Lastly, this novel is real. Despite the title, I don't believe this book is about "romance." It's about Charlotte discovering her true self. It's an honest depiction of a human being, a woman that was under so much pressure, not only from those around her, but also from herself. A good life is not always what you think it should be, and truth can come from unexpected places, as the quote from Charlotte's last book "Villette" on the cover page eloquently puts it.

    Thank you, Ms. Gael. It was truly a privilege and an honor to have been able to read this marvelous n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1