Customer Reviews for

The Romanov Prophecy

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a Berry fan

Loved this book!

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exciting book

Really disliked his book The Third Secret, but thought this one was good.

posted by 14504300 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Exciting book

    Really disliked his book The Third Secret, but thought this one was good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Not a Berry fan

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    BY FAR my favorite Berry book!

    This is my absolute favorite Steve Berry book! It is the only one of his books I've ready multiple times - I read it almost once a year. I love the story line and the ending is fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Once again Berry takes a piece of history and fictionalizes it using good vs bad. A wonderful and entertaining read.

    The Romanov Prophecy by Steve Berry

    Ever since 1991, when the royal remains of the Romanov family were exhumed from their anonymous grave, there has existed a great debate as to which two children's bodies were actually missing. DNA analysis concluded that the bodies missing are those of Alexi and either Maria or Anastasia. Berry chose Anastasia because of the fascination that has developed around her. With this background, our story begins.

    It is present day in Russia and a commission of 15 has been formed to anoint a czar. Tired of the mafia, oligarchy, and absence of rule of law, the Russian people have decided to restore the monarchy.

    At the same time, a secret chancellory is formed: Taylor Hayes partner of the firm Pridgen & Woodworth and his American investors, Dimitri Yakoyley--Stalin--representing the mafia, Georgey Ostanovich--Lenin--representing the military, Maxim Zubarev-- Khrushchev,--representing the military, Vladimir Kulikov--Brezhnev--representing the oligarchy, and Patriarch of the Russian Orthodox Church.

    This chancellory has chosen Stefan Baklanov as their candidate to succeed as the next Czar of Russia--a candidate they will manipulate as they desire to guarantee their respective interests. Funded by Hayes, he has brought with him from Atlanta Miles Lord, an African American lawyer fluent in Russian and its history, to investigate any claims any of the other candidates may have with the commission. The commission consists of fifteen elected officials and the final vote must be unanimous. The chancellory intends to buy whatever votes they can't convince.

    In his research, Lord comes with some documents both from Anastasia--about the Rasputin prophecy--and from Lenin itself noting that there are indeed two direct descendants of Czar Nicolas alive. Felix Youssoupov, who killed Rasputin, had a direct involvement in saving two of the children.

    When Lord learns of this possibility, he reports it to Hayes--thus Lord becomes a target. In a train he meets Akilina Petrovna, a circus acrobat , who saves his life. Faced with chasing thugs, Lord takes refuge in the circus where again he is saved by Akilina.

    They meet Seymon Pashenko, Professor of history of the Moscow State University who happens to lead the Holy Band--a society charged with restoring the monarchy as per Rasputin prophecy. The prophecy requires a raven (Lord being black) and an eagle (Aquilina is eagle in Russian) so they embark in a series of steps, a puzzle set in motion many years before, which takes them first to San Francisco, then Genesis, North Carolina, their only guide being a cryptic utterance of Rasputin--implying that the infamous massacre of the Romanov family was not the last chapter of their history. The prophecy's implications are earth-shattering--not only for the future tzar and Mother Russia, but also for Lord and his future.

    Once again Berry takes a piece of history and fictionalizes it using good vs bad. A wonderful and entertaining read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    As good as Exile or the DaVinci Code

    Wow! Having enjoyed the DaVinci code, and recently having finished 'Exile' by Allan Folsom which also deals with the Romanov's, I was drawn to this title. This is my first Steve Berry Book, and it did not disappoint. Altho some of the action seens were kind of difficult to believe, they did keep me on the edge of my seat. The characters were believable and it was a real page-turner. Give it a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    The Romanov Prophecy

    This book was an enjoyable read. It was reminiscent of Dan Brown's DaVinci Code. The naive nature of the characters is a bit unrealistic. But overall I found it a compelling work of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Very Good Read

    Not Berry's best book, but a very good read nonetheless. Enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Decent thriller

    Nice thriller with some interesting facts regarding Rasputin and the Romanovs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Excellent Book

    I really enjoyed this book. It is my favorite pre Cotton Malone Steve Berry book. The history of the Romanov family and of Tsarist Russia mixed in with a modern story of the restoration of the Tsar makes for an interesting story. Miles Lord is a compelling lead character for this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book, didnt think I would like Russian history but this book made it very interesting! Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A fun read!

    A fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    The best book i read

    This is the best book i read, very interesting,fast pace adventours, and heart pounding

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Excellent

    A great read. Fast moving and historically sound.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    This is the only Steve Berry book that I loved. Its fun, exciting, intriguing, and dramatic. I loved this book. I wish he would ditch Cotton Malone and do more things like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    Could not put the book down. A real page turner. Berry really knows how to draw the reader into the tick of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    History comes alive!

    If you are into History -- and want more on the Romanov family and their last days - then this is the book for you. Lots of history tied into a mystery and adventure. Easy reading - don't want to put it down. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Steve Berry does it again!! This book is excellent.

    Mr Berry did a superb job with this novel. It is obvious that he did a great deal of research on the subject which makes it hard to tell the difference between fact and fiction. As with most of Mr Berry's books, it was hard to put down and when I completed it, I couldn't wait to start the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Author Great Author

    Have read all of this author's books and they are great reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FRESH AND UNIQUE TOPIC

    I read historical fiction and non-fiction extensively but have read little or nothing on Russian history or on contemporary Russia. It would be hard to imagine anyone that has not heard of Nicholas, Alexandra and Rasputin. However, I had never encountered specific details of the murders or disposition of the bodies even though this is relatively recent history and not ancient history. I was also not aware that San Francisco was a hub of Russian emigration, hidden Tsarist gold, and support of the White Russian forces opposed to the Red Bolsheviks. Hence I found this historical perspective and the culture and current conditions in Russia fresh and engrossing. Initially the concept of the Russian people wanting the return of the Tsar and another form of autocratic government appeared far fetched. However, Berry's explanation of this Russian mindset made this idea plausible and convincing. I had not read Steve Berry's early novels without Cotton Malone, but the lawyer Miles Lord is a credible hero without secret agent or military training. He is something of an "Everyman" or as much of one as a well to do lawyer can be. The chase through the North Carolina and Tennessee mountains was of special interest to me since I often vacation in the North Carolina Mountains and my family is from Tennessee. Lord's absolute belief in the integrity of his employer seemed a bit naïve, but again he was not accustomed to intrigue. His numerous close escapes from death and the ineptitude of his pursuers were a bit unrealistic, but by this point I was pulling for him anyway. I liked this book so much that my recent birthday present was a first edition, first printing, autographed copy of Steve Berry's first book, "The Amber Room".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good audio, bad novel

    Good audio, bad novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8