Customer Reviews for

The Romanovs: The Final Chapter

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Books like this are why I love to read.

From time to time, as I trudge through a clunker of a novel or muddle my way through overly expert prose, I wonder why I don't just devote my evenings to Sitcoms. But then a book will find its way from my shelf (this one was there for a half dozen years) and dominate my...
From time to time, as I trudge through a clunker of a novel or muddle my way through overly expert prose, I wonder why I don't just devote my evenings to Sitcoms. But then a book will find its way from my shelf (this one was there for a half dozen years) and dominate my leisure time for a week. Fascinating information, well honed prose and a narrative that informs and enriches. Nothing short of a delight. The very reason why I am proud to have never seen an entire episode of Will & Grace.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I expected more of Massey. This was just a rehash of old news. Way too detailed about the battle with the DNA testing.

posted by 965384 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    Books like this are why I love to read.

    From time to time, as I trudge through a clunker of a novel or muddle my way through overly expert prose, I wonder why I don't just devote my evenings to Sitcoms. But then a book will find its way from my shelf (this one was there for a half dozen years) and dominate my leisure time for a week. Fascinating information, well honed prose and a narrative that informs and enriches. Nothing short of a delight. The very reason why I am proud to have never seen an entire episode of Will & Grace.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Great book. Wonderfully written.

    I first became a Romanov fan when I first watched the now famous animated movie 'Anastasia.' From that time to now, I cannot think of a better book that summarizes it all better than this book. Massie does a great job in keeping the reader entertained, every page is better than the next. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the last Imperial family. It's a great read.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Loved this book-

    I have always been a fan of russian history, particularily czarist russian history, and the tragic lives of the Romonovs. Although they were a bit questionable in some of their decisions and beliefs as rulers, this book helps shed some light on how "normal" they wished they could have been, and how unprepared Nicholas was to rule. They were loving, overprotective parents of four beautiful daughters and one very sick heir to the throne whos safety and good health ultimately played a huge part in their demise. Great book. Lots of great information. It's not what I would call aquick read, but it was worthwhile for me. I just wish the ending could have been different.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Identifying the bones of Tzar Nicolis II and his family

    The book is an example of excellent writing and research. This issue is important and book is worth while reading to anyone interested Russian history or history in general. It reveals enormous the tragedy of the royal family's murders on the orders of Jewish Bolshevik leaders. This book is about the beginnings of the enormous tragedy of communism and the subsequent loss of life because of this criminal regime. I highly recommend the book to intelligent people.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    The Romanovs

    Th Romanovs is a compelling real life story about the investigation of the Romanov bones. Massie's writing style make the book easy to read and provides in depth information about the family, the fakes, and the current pretender to the throne. This book is excellent for anyone intrested in russian history, forensic science, or legal battles.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    bookworm09

    Very interesting. This book covers all of the aftermath on the findings of the romanov bones. It gives great detail about how the doctors found out which bones belonged to whom of the imperial family,the disappearence of two of Tsar Nicholas's children,and the great mysterious anna anderson who for years was known as being Anastasia the youngest daughter of Nicholas and Alexandra.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Very Informative! Good documentary

    I picked up this book as a last minute item. I feel and had heard that Robert Massie is a wonderful historian who sticks to the facts. The books is about the death of the Romanov's and what happened AFTER that than about their lives. I had no idea so many governments and power plays were involved. It's a very interesting part of history which I recommend reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    Excellent and unbiased portrayal of

    Excellent and unbiased portrayal of the Romanovs demise. Massie explores the possibility of Anastasia's survival with precision and an undeniable sense of wonder. Well written and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    An Amazing Read

    After reading Nicholas & Alexandra by Robert Massie, the next logical book would be this one – published in 1995 to update “what happened” after the murders of Nicholas, Alexandra and their children in 1918. Mr. Massie, a wonderful writer, gets into the initial and subsequent investigations, the finding of the bodies, proving they are the Tsar and his family, and DNA evidence. It also tells the stories of some of the people who claimed to be members of the family who survived – most notably an Anastasia “pretender” – and descendants of the Russian aristocracy. Although not as compelling as the author’s biographies, this book was an amazing read, interesting as only Robert Massie can make it. Now, all I need is an update of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1