BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Romantic Wedding Cakes

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Not what I expected.

    From the title,cover picture and other reviews,I expected mostly floral cakes.I have both of Sylvia Weinstock's books and I was expecting something like that. Instead,You have a sea shell cake,a few florals and some Wedgwood style cakes(not Jasperware style).There are other styles of cakes in there too,including a grooms cake.You also have recipes and directions for the different cakes.There are very lovely cakes in this book,But if I had flipped through it in a store,I would have bought a different book.Other people have loved this book and I will keep it since I've already paid for it.I bought it for a discounted price,so Ill enjoy it for what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    Well known for her devotion to promoting the sugar arts

    Kerry Vincent's Romantic Wedding Cakes is a visually stunning book and a must-have for sugarart aficionados. Save, if you're an experienced decorator looking for inspiration, or someone just interested in gazing at masterfully created cakes - this book is for you. Well known for her devotion to promoting the sugar arts, Kerry's steadfast attention to detail, and her generosity in sharing her know-how are exemplified in this 'reader-friendly' how-to book. H Cooney, Confectionary Designer--Consuming Passion Cakes Ltd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    This is almost like several books in one. Unbelievable instructions!

    Dear Publisher, I awaited with great anticipation the arrival of Kerry Vincent's first book and I was not disappointed. In fact, the book was even better than I could have imagined. The designs were stunning and yet spoke of quiet dignity as well. There were so many cakes to spark my own creativity, that I read through the book and reread it again many times before deciding that I would attempt to make the dogwood cake first. As impressed as I was with the designs themselves, the instructions were even more unbelievable. Kerry's explanations were clear, precise and very easy to follow. The numerous photos are of high quality. This one book contained such an abundance of information that it was almost like several books in one. Kerry's book gave me the confidence to try several advanced techniques like pleating and inlay that I had not attempted before. I can't speak highly enough of this book. It is fabulous tool for the professional decorator! Thank you so much for publishing this book. It should be a must read for every decorator!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Romantic Wedding Cakes

    I have been in the sugar art field for over 30 years. I have seen and have over three bookcases of technique books relating to sugar art. This book features unique designs, clear photos, and readable text. Kerry is an artist who inspires the possibilities of beautiful celebration edible works of art. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    Romantic Wedding Cakes

    Kerry's book is a beautiful book. It is very easily understood even for the novice like me in this type of cake decorating. I will use it for many years to come and the ideas are so beautiful and something out of the ordinary. The price makes it affordable to most any cake decorator.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    The cake is delicious

    What a delicious book! I've been a decorator and an instructor for about 16 years and have had occasion to purchase and read many books concerning the art of cake decorating. This book is, in my opinion, one of the best I've seen. There seems to be something for nearly everyone, ranging from simple to elaborate. Kerry's instructions are well-written and easily followed and there are plenty of 'how-to' pictures for those of us who are more visually oriented! I liked the fact that she not only dealt with how to put the cake together, but also gave great tips on getting it to the wedding and setting it up. I found it refreshing that she included cakes done by guest decorators, whose work was also remarkable. I would recommend this book to anyone from beginner to professional as a source of inspiration and wonderful tips concerning the art of cake decorating in the practical realm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    Romantic Wedding Cakes

    Most of what I have learned in cake decorating and sugar art has come from books--I have quite a few. Kerry Vincent's recent book, Romantic Wedding Cakes, is a wonderful find. Kerry's creative and innovative techniques are beautifully illustrated and clearly explained throughout. She makes the seemingly impossible easy when she teaches, step by step, how to use sugar to make sparkling jewelry for cakes; and to use ordinary plastic mats, ribbons, and other easily obtained items to achieve dramatic results. Fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    I hope there will be a collection of decorating books from Kerry Vincent

    Over the past number of years I have seen the most exquisite designs in wedding cakes, and many have been created by Kerry Vincent. So, it was with great anticipation that I awaited Kerry's book. I was not disappointed. The creations have her distinct mark of amazing detail and elegance. The guest cake artists she has included have submitted equally incredible designs, living up to their reputations as tops in the field. This book is a 'must have' for every cake decorator, of every skill level. As the owner of a specialty cake business, I am interested in the feasibility reproducing the cake design, as well as it's beauty. There are many designs in Romantic Wedding Cakes, that my staff is eager to recreate. The clear directions, and the beautiful, as well as, helpful pictures will make the process easier -- even for my beginning decorators. I, also, appreciate the codes used for tools that we may need for a project, and the accompanying resource list of where to purchase them-what a timesaver. As with each endeavor she undertakes, Kerry has given decorators a high standard to reach for in their own work. Thank you for all the hard work, it is beautiful. I hope there will be a collection of decorating books from Kerry Vincent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Stunningly artistic with fine attention to detail

    Romantic Wedding Cakes, is a cake decorator¿s and sugar artist¿s delight, informative relative to its attention to detail and entertaining with its stunningly artistic presentations. I sense throughout the book that dedication and enthusiasm for sugar art that you conveyed when I had the pleasure of meeting you in person. The more than one-dozen sugar artists in the Washington Metropolitan Area that I have shared your book with share my sentiments. Additionally, I have personally used your book as a reference text on techniques and new designs during sugar art workshops that we hold monthly. Member Greater Washington Area Cake Club. The Cake & Sugar Artists of Northern Virginia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    Amazing quality and attention to detail, this is a must have!

    Hats off, to you, Kerry! Your book is absolutely fabulous! It is refreshing to see a compilation of wedding cakes that define the very essence of modern sugarcrafting. The projects you share are beautifully photographed and presented in such a way that your book is a veritable vault of information. If I had to pinpoint the one element that sets your book apart, it would be the attention to detail on every page. Your instructions are clearly written, and all techniques are well presented. Romantic Wedding Cakes is a 'must have' for every cake enthusiast. Given the fact that I learn something new each time I pick up your book, I would like to thank you for sharing your mastery in the art of sugar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Romantic Wedding Cakes

    To all those who may have read my prior rating, please note that I clicked incorrectly. I hope my words relayed my high opinion of this book and I will now correclty rate the book a 5*. If there was a higher rating I would rate it a 10*.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Thanks for a great book!

    First I am enjoying 'Romantic Wedding Cakes' as a picture book. The cakes are truly beautiful. As a decorator, the unique designs expand my imagination and the clarity and detail of the directions enable me to futher my own creativity. I look forward to using this book as a reference for years to come! ICES 2002 Show CO-Director, past ICES Representative and demonstrator, and owner of Cake Creations by Claudette, Inc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1