Customer Reviews for

Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    The Incredible Journey - A Protestant Response

    Prejudice runs deep. I know for I have spent years unlearning things I ¿knew¿ for more than thirty years. A non-Catholic myself, I actually became fearful before completing this book that Scott Hahn was going to persuade me I HAD to become Catholic if I was going to approach my faith with intellectual honesty while taking the Bible seriously (issues of great importance to me). The arguments are presented with simple clarity and Biblical authority that rings true. They are arguments that conflicted with my prejudices, but not with Biblical teaching. Perhaps stronger even than the logic, however, is the reality that Hahn fought against that logic every step of the way. Coming from a non-Catholic background himself, and steeped in anti-Catholic teaching, in-depth study drew him against his intense resistance, to embrace the Catholic faith. This is a brilliant book, very dangerous to deep rooted prejudice, but giving a wealth of insight into the Biblical foundation of key Catholic beliefs and traditions. It is invaluable for Catholic and non-Catholic alike. I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to understand the teachings of the Catholic church, from either inside or outside. I will also give fair warning to those who cherish a strong anti-Catholic bias -- this is a dangerous book to read if you are intent on holding onto that bias. My respect for Catholic Brothers and Sisters has multiplied greatly, this book being a catalyst in the process. I don¿t know how to pay higher tribute to an author than to say ¿Thank you for helping me see old things with new eyes.¿ My understanding of my own faith, and the many core beliefs we share is deeper and richer today because of this book.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    Jesus used this book to show me His Church

    I was raised a Baptist, so I grew up hearing all about the errors and evils of Roman Catholicism. Finally, after years of Bible study. I have found my true home in the Catholic Church. How did it happen? Amazingly, our former preacher, after spending years attacking Catholicism, astounded our congregation after announcing his intention to become a Catholic himself. After briefly explaining his new-found Catholic convictions from Scripture, he held up his copy of this book, 'Rome Sweet Home,' in the pulpit, and then invited 'anyone with a mind truly open to God's Word and Spirit to read this carefully and prayerfully'. So I did (especially since he was giving away free copies). He became a Catholic last year, and now I became one this year. Amazing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Renewed my Catholic Faith

    I am a cradle Catholic and spent 12 years attending Catholic schools. I am married to a Lutheran and live in a very Christian but protestant community. I have been on a journey to answer the fundamental question, why am I Catholic. This book has lead me to a renewed faith and conviction in my Catholic religion. The Holy Spirit was truly working through Scott and Kimberly in the writing of this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    A Refreshing Look on a Timeless Topic---A Must Read!

    The Hahn's "Rome Sweet Rome" is a book that I found difficult to put down. I appreciate their honesty and insights about becoming catholic. The same struggles they shared I have experienced with my own spiritual growth. If you are wondering about the catholic faith and are too embarrassed or fearful of starting an argument with people of other religions then this is a book you should read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    What a Journey!

    Scott & Kimberly Hahn's journey home to the Catholic church is simply amazing! With most couples divorcing over the slightest of differences, these two stuck together through a difficult period of spiritual awakening that left me wondering how they would survive. The story is often painful as Scott grows closer to the Catholic church, much to Kimberly's complete and utter horror! I think the fact that these two people (both highly educated in theology) came home to the Catholic church through fact-finding through the bible was jaw-dropping to me. I found this to be an inspiring look at a couple's intimate journey to faith and I admire them both for it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    A must read for fence sitters, former Catholics and those interested in the truch of the Chruch

    This book is a must read for any person seeking to understand the Catholic faith. It is great to let a former Protestant theologan tackle some of the issues many Catholic and Protestants think they have problems with. As we growth in our faiths, we forget the lessons learned by the previous Christians over the last 2000 years. Let Scott Hahn do your homework! He is a gifted intellect and expresses himself in a very logical and readable manner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Looking for inspiration?

    I am a Roman Catholic, and this book was recommended by a young lady at my parish. I am fairly involved at my parish and it amazes me to see how many people appear to be disinterested and disillusioned by the church. There are many reasons for that, and I have been there too. The Catholic church has so much to offer and reading Rome Sweet Home was a pleasure. It is great to see that people still get excited at what the chruch has to offer. Thank you for telling your story. I think this is a valuable read by all and should be put on a 'definately should be read by Catholics' reading list. There are many people I know who may benefit from its honest enthusiasm.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I read this book in 3 nites. Any Catholic, non-Catholic, or anyo

    I read this book in 3 nites. Any Catholic, non-Catholic, or anyone THINKING about converting over to the Catholic Faith should read this book. I learned so much from reading this book. Very well written and I highly recommend it to ANYONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Wow!

    All I can say is thank God for Scott and Kimberly. They give great testimony to the faith and their work is certainly blessed! By far a wonderful book for both Catholics and non Catholics. This will change hearts and minds and lead them to Truth!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Engaging and educational

    These are two stories of conversion that are well told. Having heard "The Tape" of Scott Hahn's conversion story, I was still entertained and educated by the questions and their answers that he struggled with on his journey. I was very moved by Kimberly's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Find an Answer

    Heard about this on a radio show and had to purchase the book! Found answers to my religion that I was never allowed to ask. Born and raised Catholic, but searched many religions. Great discussion book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Rome Sweet Home came at a good time for me

    I have enjoyed Hahn's "Lamb's Supper" and thought I'd also enjoy the story of Hahn's conversion to the Catholic faith. For a man of his theologic background and Protestant upbringing to demonstrate such a longing and convey that to me is quite an humbling and affirming read. As a recent returnee to the Church I enjoyed reading about his earliest longings to investigate the awesome tradition of the Church. Thanks Dr. Hahn for telling me your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    THIS IS A SPECIAL ONE

    A story about a couple's search for the truth and how they dealt with the consecuences of finding it. There is so much to be learned from this couple. No matter what denomination of christianity you belong to, this is a book that grabs you. I could not let it down until I was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    A Must Read For All Christians Who Are Searching For The Truth.

    I received this book from a neighbor who insisted I read it. It was a book that touched my life tremendously. I had difficulty putting it down and when I finished I wanted to read it all over again. I have told numerous friends to read it, one professor bought twenty copies in Spanish to distribute to his students. It is a must read for every Catholic to spark their faith and for every Christian so that they will come home to the One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    I love this book!

    This book spoke to my heart and walks one through how difficult the transition is from protestant to the Catholic church.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    I so enjoyed this book. As a born, raised, fallen away and now joyously returned Catholic I really loved about the Hahn's journey to Catholicism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this a lot. I'm a Roman Catholic and recommend it especi

    I liked this a lot. I'm a Roman Catholic and recommend it especially to Catholics who don't know why they are Catholic versus Baptist, Methodist, Lutheran etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Good

    This is a good book for a convert or anyone wanting to know how the Catholic faith is Bible based

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    As a fellow convert I loved the journey they took. The theology

    As a fellow convert I loved the journey they took. The theology helped me strengthen my faith. I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Rome Sweet Home

    Offers a clear and comprehensive explanation of the devotion behind the Catholic-faithful, and why we see Christ's church as home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3