Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (Folger Shakespeare Library Series)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

You should read this

My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and...
My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and witty dialouge, and paraphrasing. You have to be good at that in order to read this, or NONE of it will make sense at ALL. We also watched the 1968 movie version (don't watch the new one-it's awful). My favorite character in the play was Mercutio!!! he was funny.

posted by Tealzmusic on November 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Difficult but good

I just finished reading and watching the play Romeo and Juliet for Freshman english. I must say that at first it's hard to understand but if you watch the movie after you read it it makes a lot more sense.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    Excelent Story

    The book I'm writing about is Romeo and Juliet. It's about two families that hate each other very much. The more they fall in love the more thier families feud and fight. This story takes place in Verona,Italy. The two main characters are Romeo and Juliet. The year the story takes place is in the 1500's. I really enjoyed this book because I like to read drama stories. I thought it wasa very interesting play. The part I njoyed the most was the sword fight between Romeo and Tybalt. I also enjoyed the fight between Tybalt and Mercutio which was very funny. I recommend this book cause it was a very interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    'A Masterpiece'

    Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet really captured the true meaning of love and hate. He transformed a simple story into a classical play that everyone would enjoy reading. This play is a little challenging to read, but it is a lot better than other books, and may be one of the only books I liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    Great format

    This book was really enjoyable. The captions that followed on the opposite page were EXTREAMLY helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2001

    'A breath taking ride into a writters skin'

    Ever time I sit down to read this play even the first words caputure my heart. I never want to put the play down. The love between Romeo and Juliet is so wonderful that it is breataking to the point that it can never be real. I have never read a play that showed true love so well, and that people would do whatever it takes to keep that love alive. Shakespear show his own feelings through the play letting the reader jump into his skin to become apart of the script. I give this book five stars because it is one of the most powerful play that I have read. I would encouge anyone to read this masterpeace of a play, so they can feel the love betwenn Romeo and Juliet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Beautiful

    Shakespeare is amazing!This book is wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2001

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    This was trully an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    Inspiration to us all

    Romeo and Juliet is the best classic I've read in my entire life.It is a story about romence and passion. It's a great book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    Beautiful piece of literature

    William Shakespeare's new play tells the story of two star- crossed lovers, whose families have a long bitter feud between them. It shows that destiny cannot be avoided but also that love does conquer all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    A Great Classic

    This is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    Somebody pinch me!!!!!

    This is by far the best book/play/movie I've ever read/seen. Romeo & Juliet is Shakespeare's best work! Every time i see it It's like I'm seeing it for the first time. I would recommend it to anyone no matter what your book preference is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    What else is there?

    This is by far the best story I've read or seen. I have read it so many times I know almost every line in the book. I ABSOLUTLY LOVE THIS PLAY!!! No book can come close in greatness, ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Weak and unrealistic

    I mean come on, think about it for a second. Juliet wants to be with Romeo more than anything, right. So she goes to that priest and he has a magic potion that'll make it look like she's dead? Gimme a break. Shakespear gets really into his story, then just gets sick of it and says, 'Oh, and...uh...she drinks this magic potion that makes her look like she's dead.' I'm not believing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    I love this Play!

    Omigosh! we are doing this play in Drama and I am in love with it! I am now a total complete shakespere fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    Shakespeare's best play!!!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I wish I could've been alive when the play was first written. I would've been the first person at the theatre to see it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    For the sun is the east, and this book is the greatest

    For the sun is the east, and Juliet is the west. Obviously this book is the greatest! This book is a romantic tale about two families who fight and feud over a relationship between Romeo & Juliet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    It waz a cool book.

    I would recomend this book to anyone who loves romantic-tragic stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6