Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (Folger Shakespeare Library Series) (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

You should read this

My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and...
My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and witty dialouge, and paraphrasing. You have to be good at that in order to read this, or NONE of it will make sense at ALL. We also watched the 1968 movie version (don't watch the new one-it's awful). My favorite character in the play was Mercutio!!! he was funny.

posted by Tealzmusic on November 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Difficult but good

I just finished reading and watching the play Romeo and Juliet for Freshman english. I must say that at first it's hard to understand but if you watch the movie after you read it it makes a lot more sense.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    You should read this

    My class at school just finished a quarter unit on this book/play. Like everyone in my class ended up loving it, although when I first saw it on the syllabus, I groaned and thought "Great, we have to read Romeo and Juliet." I liked it especially the quick, sarcastic and witty dialouge, and paraphrasing. You have to be good at that in order to read this, or NONE of it will make sense at ALL. We also watched the 1968 movie version (don't watch the new one-it's awful). My favorite character in the play was Mercutio!!! he was funny.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Difficult but good

    I just finished reading and watching the play Romeo and Juliet for Freshman english. I must say that at first it's hard to understand but if you watch the movie after you read it it makes a lot more sense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Meh

    I didn't really enjoy reading this very much. Romeo acts kind of like a girl. I'm not sure of behavior in the Elizabethan era, but it was so over-dramatized. The sexual puns didn't really add much to the story (my English teacher was explaining them. My oh my..) except for humor. Well, Elizabethan humor. Characterization was so strange, I just found it a bit unusual to read. But I do love the movie, if that counts for anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    Thrilling!!!

    Romeo and Juliet is a touching/dramatic experience to go through. It's a non-stop book where you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    A Great Edition for High School Students

    As an experienced high school English teacher, I always advise my students and their parents to purchase a Folger's edition of Shakespeare's plays. The notes, summaries, and other commentary serve the novice Shakespearean reader well and make the classical allusions and denotations of unfamiliar and common words and phrases from the Elizabethan age much easier for 21st Century readers to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Just What I thought...

    Ok, im sorry.... but this just didnt make any sense to me when we read it in class... good plot, though, i guess...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Wow...

    What a truly amazing book.I have just finished reading it, and I can't help wondering, 'What would of happened it the Montauges and Capulet's didn't hate each other? Would Romeo and Juliet not end in a tradgedy?'Some of you are either a. blowing the whole book out of proportion or b.didn't understand what the book was about. The reason Juliet drank the potion was because she was already married to Romeo, and wanted to remain a loyal wife. But Romeo misunderstood the message delivered to him, and wanted to also remain loyal to his wife, so he killed himself for her. And when she woke up and there was 'not a drop to help her over' (the poison on Romeo drank) she stabbed herself, once again, being a loyal wife The other reason she did that was that if she 'magically' came back alive to her parents, they'd probably really kill her anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    romio and julliet rocks!

    i think its good. im reading it in my class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Classic Love Story

    There is a *reason* this story is considered one of the most classic love stories of all time. This is where knock-knock jokes come from - Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet! It's a fantastic tragedy, one that should be read and treasured, and if you don't like it the first time, do try again. You have to keep in mind while reading it several things. First, it is a play, not a fiction novel. Secondly, it was written in the sixteenth century, and things were much, much different back then. I do love this edition, as it explains much of the Shakespearean English and includes some illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Decent...

    There are two possible reasons I didn't like this book. 1. I had my expectations too high, 2.It just wasn't that great. I think it was a mix. I think that the book went too fast at some parts and too slow at some. The idea of the story was brilliant, but the story wasn't great or anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Westside story is screwy English

    This book is pretty good I must admit, but reading it aloud has been difficult. You should probably invest in a book on Shakespearean English. I often get tounge tied when reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    JUST NO WORDS TO DESCRIBE IT

    Romeo and Juliet is probably a great beginner's book ofr Shakespeare's reader. It describe situations that occurs in our everyday lives. And this book also decoded Shakespeare's language, a lot easier for me. But A Midsummer Night's Dream is still the best Shakespeare I had read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Love Birds

    This play was very good. In some parts it was hard to understand, but it was very romantic. I would have to say it was a bit boring, but I liked it more than any other play I have read. I recommend that you read this play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    This play doesn't even deserve a star.

    I have read all of shakespeares plays and although I havnen't enjoyed all of them this one was the worst. Romeo and Juliet is a play about two star crossed lovers more like two spoiled rich kids seeking attention. Throughout the play both characters ignore solid fact and don't think before they act. This book was extremley unrealistic. If Juliet had told her parents that she'd already wed Romeo and the marriage had been consumated then they couldn't do a thing about it. In the end I belive that the parents would have realized that there childrens marriage strenghtens both houses. Both Capult and Montgue were wealthy families and by the joining of there children are now even wealther. So you see why this play was trash in my mind. Although Shakespeare wove the tale extremlly well and does deserve credit for his efforts and the marvelous writting talent that was wasted on a poor story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    Best adaption ever!

    As a high school freshman in a honors class, this is the best Romeo & Juliet Book ever! Next to each page is a list of old engish translations from the text on that page. It is an easy book to read because most of the Old English has been translated for ease of use. But while doing this, it does not destroy the "feeling of the piece." Which is wonderful because I want to read it as Shakepere wrote it. Having all of these side notes is having crib notes built into the book. I feel that this is a must have for every English classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Moving...but not powerful

    The Tragedy of romeo and Juliet is a deeply emotional story, but it is definatly not for people who dont enjoy love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Good Book For Beginners

    I was only 15 when I read this book but it really helped me to understand what some of the harder words meant. I plan on digging it out and reading it again. I recommend this book only if you have a good vocabulary and/or are a patient reader. I still had difficulty since not all of the words and meanings of phrases were explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    Captivating!

    This story was beautifully and wonderfully created; romance with a tragic twist of irony. Shakespeare speaks with such eloquence in this play. A tragedy that is truly timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Arrgg.. I thought it would be good.

    I bite my thumb at you! Hark! ye is be not the greatest play.. Overdramatic and unrealistic. Desperation and love is all good fun until magic potions get all foom with the fire and the evil and the killin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Romeo and Juliet

    I'm not giving this book five stars because if something better ever came along, I'd give that five stars -- but this play is one of the most incredible pieces of writing I've ever read. The flow of the language and powerful descriptions provide the imagination with compelling images.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6