BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (Bantam Classic)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the ...
I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the play and your reading experience.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

can not download completely

It continues to shut off while I open a new page! Nothing seems to work.

posted by Joiann on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the play and your reading experience.

    49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    A must-read for everyone!

    I firmly believe that Romeo and Juliet is something everyone should read in their lifetime. It's a beautiful love story and though, yes, it all happened really quickly, it added to the passion of the whole thing. I will always, always, love this play, and I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great and tragic love story!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    Romeo and Juliet Book Review

    I thought this was a good book, but I needed some explanation on the difficult Shakespearean dialect. I liked the plot and the characters, the only thing was that this story was a legend of sorts that Shakespeare simply wrote down; it wasn't his original idea. Other than that, I thought that it was well done.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    A great classic Shakespeare tale of love and tragedy, but this b

    A great classic Shakespeare tale of love and tragedy, but this book takes each part, and translates it into modern, easy-to-read English. What struck me while reading is how little people have changed in 500 years, obsessed with sex appeal, status, and envy of their neighbors.




     

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    can not download completely

    It continues to shut off while I open a new page! Nothing seems to work.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    Okay

    I read Romeo and Juliet twice; once on my own and once for my freshman English class. It's a little bit hard to understand (make sure you get a copy with footnotes on old language), but an okay story in the end. I love the ending!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Good format

    Numerated footnotes and explanations on the opposite page made the text easy to follow. My only little complaint is that the tiny font of this series got annoying sometimes. To enlarge it on the nook color, you have to enlarge the page, which becomes bothersome when you have to swipe back-and-forth from one line to the next. All in all, a good version of Romeo and Juliet, whether for the scholar or casual reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    This book is Corrupted, don't buy

    This book is corrupted, DON'T BUY it.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Tragic Tale of Young Love

    Romeo and Juliet is a great way to get hooked on reaing Shakespeare. This play is about the tragic tale of two lovers who's parents are enemys and the parents raise their children to despise eachother. But little do they know that their children have fallen in love till death do them part. The ending is both happy and sad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    It was very good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Not a huge fan of the size, but the binding is simply beautiful.

    Not a huge fan of the size, but the binding is simply beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    I enjoyed reading Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear). Gar

    I enjoyed reading Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear). Garamond Press has done a good job of creating an informative and readable guide to Shakespeare’s play. I learned some interesting background information on Shakespearean England as well. This would be especially helpful for students who want a modern-day explanation of Romeo and Juliet. The one thing I would have done differently is create footnotes instead of using in-text notes. This would have made the text even easier to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Don't understand Shakespeare's play ? This review will spell it

    Don't understand Shakespeare's play ? This review will spell it all out for you in easy terms. It not only tells you in the chapter summary what each act is about but it also explains the characters, the words and why they were used and the history of the town and culture of the people. It also explains the dialect of the time and what the slang or pun terms of the words mean. Throw away your cliff notes, this review is way better than notes, its as if there is someone right next to you talking to you about what the play means in easy detail. Definitely worth buying!!
    marjoriea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    This is a time-saver for sure and will spare students a great de

    This is a time-saver for sure and will spare students a great deal of confusion. The layout is great, will help introduce younger readers to Shakespeare in a way they can relate to. Even Shakespeare veterans will learn a lot through helpful comments in the text (e.g., definitions, performance notes, historical commentary), although the tone is slightly patronizing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    This little booklet provides a hearty synopsis of a dense and so

    This little booklet provides a hearty synopsis of a dense and sometimes confusing masterpiece. It’s pretty much a godsend for anyone reading a Shakespeare drama for the first time while also being a fun and informative (but maybe light) read for folks who are familiar with the work. Worth keeping side-by-side while you’re reading the play itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This semester I was assigned Romeo and Juliet in my introduction

    This semester I was assigned Romeo and Juliet in my introduction to Shakespeare class. I wanted to do well so I asked a friend of mine who has previously taken this course to give me some advice. Very simply she said, “Read Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear); it’s a great supplemental text and will help you understand Shakespeare so well it will be like night and day!” She was right because after getting this book I’ve understood all the underlying messages, poetry and themes so well that I have aced my essay recently! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespear Made Clear) was written for folks t

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespear Made Clear) was written for folks that do not pick up Shakespeare to read for pleasure on a quiet 
    afternoon.  This book was written for the vast majority of us that find Shakespeare a chore, not a joy.  The author not only provides clear,
    succinct  translations of the text as it was originally written, but provides brief, entertaining descriptions of the culture, setting, and history of eatre
    theatre in the 1500's.  I strongly recommend this book for anyone struggling with the Elizabethan language and the sonnet form.
    I think you will be pleasantly surprised and may find yourself actually reading Shakespeare on a quiet afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Shakespeare Made Clear¿s ¿Romeo and Juliet¿ contains Shakespeare

    Shakespeare Made Clear’s “Romeo and Juliet” contains Shakespeare’s full original text. Alongside the original, there is a modern day translation that clarifies what’s going on for the 21st century reader.

    It also comes with an in-depth analysis of the play’s themes, characters, and scenes, along with a specific overview of the story and important facts.

    If you haven’t read the play, or you’ve read it a million times, this guide will surely provide new insight and pleasant reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Shakespeare¿s Romeo and Juliet in American Lingo It can¿t be dis

    Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet in American Lingo
    It can’t be disputed that there is no substitute for the classic Shakespeare work, Romeo and Juliet. According to the book, Romeo and Juliet Shakespeare made clear by Garamond Press, other versions of this story existed before Shakespeare wrote his, and certainly this story moved through time with other versions . These included the 1957 West Side Story musical stage production and the 1961 film which garnered the Academy Award for best picture.
    This book offers a wealth of information about the history of the era, the traditions and customs of the times, the previous and post versions of Shakespeare work, a synopsis of the play, summaries of each act, explanations of the way the language was used, and a full translation of every set of lines into the American vernacular.
    This book is an excellent tool for any student assigned to read this work, and for anyone else who really wants to know what the characters in this story are saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I found this guide to Romeo and Juliet to be extremely useful. I

    I found this guide to Romeo and Juliet to be extremely useful. It eliminates the language barrier of a few hundred years or so and allows for a clear and complete understanding of the play.  For me, the layout was most helpful. The old text is broken up into small fragments with the modern translation directly below it, allowing me easy transitions between the two translations. Another benefit is the definitions and explanations offered of words and phrases. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12