Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (Annotated)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the ...
I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the play and your reading experience.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

can not download completely

It continues to shut off while I open a new page! Nothing seems to work.

posted by Joiann on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am in High School, and we used this edition in class, and it was extremely helpful. Not only is it very clear to read, explains well the words you don't know, but it also gives an indepths explanations, on the puns, and etc. which enchances your understanding of the play and your reading experience.

    48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    A must-read for everyone!

    I firmly believe that Romeo and Juliet is something everyone should read in their lifetime. It's a beautiful love story and though, yes, it all happened really quickly, it added to the passion of the whole thing. I will always, always, love this play, and I would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great and tragic love story!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    It was very good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    I enjoyed reading Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear). Gar

    I enjoyed reading Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear). Garamond Press has done a good job of creating an informative and readable guide to Shakespeare’s play. I learned some interesting background information on Shakespearean England as well. This would be especially helpful for students who want a modern-day explanation of Romeo and Juliet. The one thing I would have done differently is create footnotes instead of using in-text notes. This would have made the text even easier to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Don't understand Shakespeare's play ? This review will spell it

    Don't understand Shakespeare's play ? This review will spell it all out for you in easy terms. It not only tells you in the chapter summary what each act is about but it also explains the characters, the words and why they were used and the history of the town and culture of the people. It also explains the dialect of the time and what the slang or pun terms of the words mean. Throw away your cliff notes, this review is way better than notes, its as if there is someone right next to you talking to you about what the play means in easy detail. Definitely worth buying!!
    marjoriea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This semester I was assigned Romeo and Juliet in my introduction

    This semester I was assigned Romeo and Juliet in my introduction to Shakespeare class. I wanted to do well so I asked a friend of mine who has previously taken this course to give me some advice. Very simply she said, “Read Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear); it’s a great supplemental text and will help you understand Shakespeare so well it will be like night and day!” She was right because after getting this book I’ve understood all the underlying messages, poetry and themes so well that I have aced my essay recently! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespear Made Clear) was written for folks t

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespear Made Clear) was written for folks that do not pick up Shakespeare to read for pleasure on a quiet 
    afternoon.  This book was written for the vast majority of us that find Shakespeare a chore, not a joy.  The author not only provides clear,
    succinct  translations of the text as it was originally written, but provides brief, entertaining descriptions of the culture, setting, and history of eatre
    theatre in the 1500's.  I strongly recommend this book for anyone struggling with the Elizabethan language and the sonnet form.
    I think you will be pleasantly surprised and may find yourself actually reading Shakespeare on a quiet afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Shakespeare Made Clear¿s ¿Romeo and Juliet¿ contains Shakespeare

    Shakespeare Made Clear’s “Romeo and Juliet” contains Shakespeare’s full original text. Alongside the original, there is a modern day translation that clarifies what’s going on for the 21st century reader.

    It also comes with an in-depth analysis of the play’s themes, characters, and scenes, along with a specific overview of the story and important facts.

    If you haven’t read the play, or you’ve read it a million times, this guide will surely provide new insight and pleasant reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    This book helps you fully understand, in modern English, the pla

    This book helps you fully understand, in modern English, the play Romeo and Juliet.  It gives details about England at the time the play was written and it talks about Shakespeare life so you can fully appreciate his masterpiece.  With the modern translation summarizing the whole play, scene by scene, anyone can master Romeo and Juliet with ease.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    This book caught my attention from the very beginning. It opens

    This book caught my attention from the very beginning. It opens with a mini history lesson about Shakespeare, his plays, and the people who acted in and watched his plays. I was able to read this book very quickly because of the way Shakespeare’s words are translated into modern English on the same page as the old English. I understand the story a lot more now! This book would be great for someone in school who is studying the story of Romeo and Juliet, and for those of us who have read it and needed a little more help understanding some of the phrases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear) is all you need in ord

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear) is all you need in order to get the most out of reading Romeo and Juliet. With easy to read synopses and line by line translations into contemporary language, this well designed study guide is just what the Bard ordered to make his tragic tale come alive for today’s readers. Whether you are Montague or Capulet, you will enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    If you love or hate Shakespeare, but you need to read it, then y

    If you love or hate Shakespeare, but you need to read it, then you will love this companion to Romeo and Juliet. The explanations side by side of the language make it more clear what the meaning is and the author even goes as far as explaining the setting and/or the old country that most of us would not understand otherwise. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    The book is formatted with the expressed intent that the reader

    The book is formatted with the expressed intent that the reader become seduced by Shakespearean prose and ultimately choose it over the modern translation. This can only be a good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    There was a time I would look at Shakespeare and think to myself

    There was a time I would look at Shakespeare and think to myself “Yikes.” The stuff might as well be in a completely foreign language to me, because I literally understand none of the old English dialect. Thanks to Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare Made Clear) my ignorance of the language is now a thing of the past, because this version of the book shed a completely new light on the play! Having a clear and concise translation right next to the original Shakespearean language makes it so much easier. It is way better than the other translation books that have the translations as footnotes, making the reading experience inconvenient. This version makes it so easy, I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Shakespeare is regarded among the greatest literature ever writt

    Shakespeare is regarded among the greatest literature ever written.  As a lover of words and literature, I always felt like I was missing out because I could never understand his metaphors or stylized writing. "Romeo and Juliet: Shakespeare made clear" gives a verse by verse translation of the original writing into modern day language that helps you read through the play, understand the language, and appreciate the beauty of the writing. With this book, it's truly fun to read Romeo and Juliet. I strongly recommend this for students who want to understand and appreciate the play and the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare made clear) is a simple guide that

    Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare made clear) is a simple guide that breakdowns the complex language Shakespeare uses into simple and easy to understand summaries of the lines in each scene of each act. On every page of every play, Shakespeare’s original text is followed by an up-to-date, line-by-line translation, in a design that eliminates confusion. There is insight into the historical facts, local color, and the origins of an unusual word or phrase, or a character’s deeper motives. This play is a great read of love, hate, difficult parents, sex jokes, and the love of two teenagers so deep that it ends in them taking their lives because of their conflicting families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Shakespeare¿s famous plays are often hard to read due to being w

    Shakespeare’s famous plays are often hard to read due to being written in Old 16th century English. Romeo and Juliet: Shakespeare Made Clear places our modern language next to the original language which makes reading and understanding the play much easier. The book also has an explanation of old terms and phrases, discusses the structure of the play and the historical context. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is reading Romeo and Juliet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The days of resistance by students to review this famous play by

    The days of resistance by students to review this famous play by Shakespeare for their assignment, have finally come to an end because of this book. Finally, someone has developed an ingenious way to be excited about reading Romeo and Juliet without having to scratch your head in bewilderment. Using the language of this century while keeping the old, gave depth to understanding the different emotions and context of the play. This easy to read version of Romeo and Juliet cemented in our hearts why we just can’t get enough of this classic play.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Shakespeare Made Clear¿s guide to Romeo & Juliet is essentia

    Shakespeare Made Clear’s guide to Romeo & Juliet is essential reading for anyone hoping to experience the play with the vibrancy and complexity intended from its very first performance. Centuries have passed but the story endures, waiting for a new generation to unlock all that it has to offer. This book is just the tool for that, bursting with helpful tidbits, fun facts, and concise clarifications of Shakespeare’s original text. Carrying it is like having access to a professor round the clock, providing color and invaluable insights every step of the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    "Shakespeare Made Clear" takes the work out of reading

    "Shakespeare Made Clear" takes the work out of reading "Romeo and Juliet." Instead of placing definitions and explanations at the bottom of the page or hidden in an index, a translation of the dialogue and extensive side notes are included on every page. You can easily skip past these explanations and focus solely on the play, or enjoy an enriching experience with all of the extra information included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6