Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (No Fear Shakespeare)

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Helpful

When my English teacher announced that we would be reading Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet I have to admit I was petrified. However my friend told me about this book and I bought it right away. It aided me tremendously throughout the semester and also helped me get a gre...
When my English teacher announced that we would be reading Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet I have to admit I was petrified. However my friend told me about this book and I bought it right away. It aided me tremendously throughout the semester and also helped me get a great score on the exam. I would recommend this book to anyone. It really helps!

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Strange numbering

This book is very usefull and helps you with reading the original book.
There is one promblem the numbering of lines our out of order

posted by Sual on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    confused no more!

    this book helped me a great deal! in english class we had to read Romeo and Juliet and i was completely lost...but then i read No Fear Shakespeare and i was right on track! Thanks! I have already recommended this to all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Very helpful!

    the 'no fear shakespeare' books are all really helpful. i read 'romeo and juliet' in my 9th grade english class and was very confused by all the elizabethan language.. after i got this book, everything came full-circle and i understood. i HIGHLY recommend any book in this series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Jeffrey R, a student, May 26, 2005

    I cannot tell how much this guide aided me in my exploration of Romeo and Juliet.A first time reader a Shakepeare's work, I must admit that I was a bit intimidated by Shakespeare's eloquent and, at times, foreboding diction. But let me be one of the many to tell you: No Fear Shakespeare is an immense help, whether you're reading for pleasure or for school. You may even come to like Shakespeare, as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Excellent

    I have always been intimidated at the thought of reading Shakespeare. This book gave me the courage to turn the cover. Although I understood much of what was written hundreds of years ago, the translation was like an insurance policy that I could fall back on whenever I needed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    OUTSTANDING

    As one of my homeschooling assignments, I had to read Romeo and Juliet. I got the Sarknote's No Fear Shakespeare Romeo and Juliet, and was amazed. On the odd pages there is the origional text, and on the even pages, the moden English explanation. For a 5 dollar value, this is truly amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    GREATEST THING EVER

    This really helped me out. It has great understandable translations for every single line of the play. Its better than books with footnotes because you can read just the translation and understand it instead of going back and forth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Great Translations

    Great Translations - good way of describing things in the book that relates to future things in fate; common on tests. Great analysis of characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    great

    i was awesome...had really good translations..for its value

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Amazing

    This way of reading Shakespeare makes it much easier for people to understand Shakespeare. I know this book had helped me in school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    a really good book. I loved it.

    I really liked the translation of the play in this book it was easy to understand. Romeo and Juliet was a great book an i hope people enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5