Customer Reviews for

Romeo and Juliet (No Fear Shakespeare)

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Helpful

When my English teacher announced that we would be reading Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet I have to admit I was petrified. However my friend told me about this book and I bought it right away. It aided me tremendously throughout the semester and also helped me get a gre...
When my English teacher announced that we would be reading Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet I have to admit I was petrified. However my friend told me about this book and I bought it right away. It aided me tremendously throughout the semester and also helped me get a great score on the exam. I would recommend this book to anyone. It really helps!

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Strange numbering

This book is very usefull and helps you with reading the original book.
There is one promblem the numbering of lines our out of order

posted by Sual on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Dont buy for the nook.

    This book doesnt work on my phone and im bit scared that it will not work on my nook either. I would reccomend buying this in paper version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    NOOK VERSION WON'T SUPPORT FACING PAGES!

    The entire point of a version with side-by-side translation is to enable the reader to see both simultaneously. Nook version doesn't allow this, making this a 100% frustrating waste of time and money. Get the print version on Amazon for cheaper and save the incredible frustration of being misled into thinking you could have the side-by-side translation, as intended by the publisher, available in e-format. Ain't happening in a Nook version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I bought this Nook book and was really looking forward to it, al

    I bought this Nook book and was really looking forward to it, although I have read it before some time ago. However, the Nook book won't work on my Nook app. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good

    I like how its translated into modern day language! Its pretty easy to understand so I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No Fear Shakespeare is a life saver!

    I was first informed of No Fear Shakespeare by my Freshman English teacher when reading Romeo and Juliet. It was a great help in giving me a way to understand Romeo and Juliet completely. I used it again Sophomore year for Othello and once again found it to be a great help. I use the website for my reading. It's free. They have the complete work on their site. I don't know if they have every one of his works available. So far I have yet to come across one that is not on the site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Amazing. Now I can finally read the legendary play by William Sh

    Amazing. Now I can finally read the legendary play by William
    Shakespeare and fully understand it. Great for everyone. 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Romeo and Juliet is a romance book which can be expressed with s

    Romeo and Juliet is a romance book which can be expressed with simple words or more complex words. But "No Fear Shakespeare" is a great side-by-side book with plain English and Shakespeare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This story is utterly terrible and very inappropriate. I thought

    This story is utterly terrible and very inappropriate. I thought that this book would be suitable to be read to my 5 year old son, but the content that Shakespeare hints everywhere is so TERRIBLE. My son ended up looking at translations of the book and asking me questions about this inappropriate content. If that was not enough, this book is very unrealistic. You do not just fall in love in get married within less than a day, I mean come on. Romeo is a big cry baby and always gets himself into trouble. The romance was very cheesy and writing was just too much. No fear did help understand the book better, but I think it was best left untranslated. Shakespeare, you have scarred my boy and there is no undoing that.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    It was easy to understand with the modern translation. it was a

    It was easy to understand with the modern translation. it was a good book other than the har to read language.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    In Romeo and Juliet there are two families the Capulets and the

    In Romeo and Juliet there are two families the Capulets and the Montegues. There is a fight that goes on with the family, and when Romeo and Juliet meet they try and change that. They fall in love, and when they both die they bring the families together. Romeo and Juliet is a good book, it started out with good detail and and gave you a lot of information. As the book went on the story got even better. This book is great to read, and very easy to understand with the No Fear Shakespeare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I think this is a tragic love story, a romance gone wrong. I lov

    I think this is a tragic love story, a romance gone wrong. I love it so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Recommended by teachers

    Bought one for my son who is in 9th grade (teacher recommended). It has line to line explanation of the play which makes the book a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Highly Recommended - You must check it out

    One of the best book from B&N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Romeo and Juliet

    I thought it was a very good book. Alot characters died in the book.And the end was good. I loved how the book had old English next to the modern text. A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing translation of one of the best works of literature!

    Sparknote's translation of Shakespeare's legendary play is very easy to understand and helpful. The commentary provided helps the reader completely understand what Shakespeare is trying to say and leaves no doubt in his mind. This is definitely a must have for all of those interested in reading and comprehending Romeo and Juliet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Helpul book

    These books were purchased for my high school freshman kids who are now reading Romeo and Juliet in school (freshman English - Honors). The books were shipped very quickly, and thus received very quickly, which was important as their classes had already begun reading the book. The price was extremely reasonable, less than I would have paid in the store. As I bought two copies, the shipping charge was also reasonable. My children liked the books, and found them helpful to them in their classes. i would strongly recommend this book to others, and I would definitely recommend purchasing it online.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    No Fear Shakespeare Romeo and Juliet

    I bought this book for my teenage daughter for school, and she loves it. It makes Shakespeare understandable for her age group, and encourages her to keep reading the story and not get lost in the old english language that I had to read Romeo and Juliet in.

    I have even read through some of the book just to check out the No Fear Series, and it is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Lifesaver

    We had to buy a copy and Romeo and Juliet for English. I went to the B&N and my sister told me I should get this version. It saved my life. Other books may have little commentaries, but this book has line by line translation. After you read the translations, it is so much easier to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    GRETA EXPLANATION

    I think that this book is great for everyone who wants to understand and love William Shakespeares works deeplier
    i had read romeo and juliet before and didnt really understand the whole stry and i didnt really love it and after this book i loved ROMOE AND JULIET and enjoyed deeply I really liked it and I would recomend it to anyone especially teens who have to do book reports on ROMEO AND JULIET plus it is very cheap and afffoordable for anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6