Customer Reviews for

Romiette and Julio

Average Rating 4.5
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Romi and Julio

Romiette and Julio

Have you ever been told who to date and not to date? Were you ever told what race you could and could not talk to? Romiette also known as ¿Romi¿ was a young African-American woman who grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio. Romi is trying to over come ...
Romiette and Julio

Have you ever been told who to date and not to date? Were you ever told what race you could and could not talk to? Romiette also known as ¿Romi¿ was a young African-American woman who grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio. Romi is trying to over come her horrible dreams of drown and her fear of water. Julio was a young Mexican boy who had just moved to Cincinnati. He didn¿t like the cold weather at all. He wished that he could of moved back home to his grandfather¿s ranch. He knew that there was no chance of him going back because his parents moved away from Texas because of the gang affiliation that Julio can be involved in. Julio will attend school in Cincinnati and he is not very pleased because he knows that he will have no friends.

Julio attends the first day of school with aggression because from the start he knew he wasn¿t going to like it. By the end of the day he got away with hitting a boy who dyed his hair different colors. Later that night Julio gets on the chat room to see what Cincinnati is all about. Indeed is where Romi meets Julio. They were having a private conversation in another chat came to find out that they go to the same school. They managed to meet up with one another during lunch. Julio was token back by how beautiful Romi was. Romi also thought that Julio was so handsome. They began getting to know one another real well. They continued to have lunch with each other. This group of boys they call themselves the ¿devil dogs¿ who all wore purple it was sort of an inside gang. They had a problem with Romi talking to Julio. They said something to her about was race she was and what race he was and how they don¿t mash. Romi and Julio were a little startled by it. They talked about what they were going to do the next time they bother them. They handled it very well to where the devil dogs were astonished that someone stood up to them. After they stood up to the devil dogs they threaten to get even. They began stalking Romi and Julio is there every move. So Romi and Julio and their two best friends Ben and Destiny began to make an escape plan. It winded up putting Romi and Julio in a death situation.

posted by bor.12 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I was dissapointed

I picked up this book hoping to read a realistic romance novel with the interesting twist of a modernized Romeo and Juilet story. The fact that it involved gangs and a poor area of the city also made me interested because I thought I would be able to relate to the chara...
I picked up this book hoping to read a realistic romance novel with the interesting twist of a modernized Romeo and Juilet story. The fact that it involved gangs and a poor area of the city also made me interested because I thought I would be able to relate to the character coming from that background Both characters were incredibly unrealistic, speaking in ways the no teenager has spoke in since the early 19th century! The slang the author attempted to use was also awful, and it makes me believe that she had no connection with her character and didn't know ANYTHING about teenagers in general The plot and idea was orginal and very good, although the charaters were underdeveloped and unrealistic

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Romi and Julio

    Romiette and Julio<BR/><BR/>Have you ever been told who to date and not to date? Were you ever told what race you could and could not talk to? Romiette also known as ¿Romi¿ was a young African-American woman who grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio. Romi is trying to over come her horrible dreams of drown and her fear of water. Julio was a young Mexican boy who had just moved to Cincinnati. He didn¿t like the cold weather at all. He wished that he could of moved back home to his grandfather¿s ranch. He knew that there was no chance of him going back because his parents moved away from Texas because of the gang affiliation that Julio can be involved in. Julio will attend school in Cincinnati and he is not very pleased because he knows that he will have no friends.<BR/><BR/>Julio attends the first day of school with aggression because from the start he knew he wasn¿t going to like it. By the end of the day he got away with hitting a boy who dyed his hair different colors. Later that night Julio gets on the chat room to see what Cincinnati is all about. Indeed is where Romi meets Julio. They were having a private conversation in another chat came to find out that they go to the same school. They managed to meet up with one another during lunch. Julio was token back by how beautiful Romi was. Romi also thought that Julio was so handsome. They began getting to know one another real well. They continued to have lunch with each other. This group of boys they call themselves the ¿devil dogs¿ who all wore purple it was sort of an inside gang. They had a problem with Romi talking to Julio. They said something to her about was race she was and what race he was and how they don¿t mash. Romi and Julio were a little startled by it. They talked about what they were going to do the next time they bother them. They handled it very well to where the devil dogs were astonished that someone stood up to them. After they stood up to the devil dogs they threaten to get even. They began stalking Romi and Julio is there every move. So Romi and Julio and their two best friends Ben and Destiny began to make an escape plan. It winded up putting Romi and Julio in a death situation.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Pretty Good Modern Version of Romeo and Juliet

    This was a pretty good version of Sheakspeare's Romeo and Juliet. It kinda strained credibility like the annotation above said,on how teenagers speak. I think Ms. Draper has great ideas for novels and the storylines are awesome but I just don't think she is very good at writing the way teenagers really talk. She tried too hard to be all poetic and lyrical when she had Romiette and Julio talking to each other about thier feelings. She is not anywhere near the eloquence of Sheakspeare. Although i don't think that Romiette and Julio is a very well written literary novel, if you don't really think about about and just read for pure fun, then its a great book. It is interesting and sweet and you will fall in love with Julio. I imagined him as being so hot! Overall, it is a fun, light book and despite my harsh critisim, I really like Ms. Draper as an author and I really enjoyed Romiette and Julio.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    modern day romeo and juliette

    this book is about an africain american girl who believes in love at first sight, and a hispanic boy who never wanted to move away from his family. one day they both just happened to meet in a chat room online and they started to talk and they found out that they go to the same school.romiette knew they had a new student at school but she didnt know who it was. so the next day julio told romiette to meet her in the lunchroom and he would be standing on the table with a rose in one hand and hotsause in the other. they both liked hot sause on everything. they started to eat lunch with eachother every day. romiette and julio fell in love, when they started hanging out more a gang started to threaten their lives. but that wasnt going to stop them from loving eachother, so they kept hanging out. one day the gang got fed up and profucely tied them up and draged them away. the gang put them in a boat in the middle of the lake which is bad because romiette is deadly afraid of water. romiette's parents dont like julio because he is hispanic, and julios parents dont like romiette because they are black but they finally begin to work with eachother so they can find their kids. the question is will they ever be found and will they be okay?.......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    J Senua Senia

    Awesome !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A tale of two lovers is written by Shakespeare and retold in a m

    A tale of two lovers is written by Shakespeare and retold in a more modern version called Romiette &amp; Julio. Everyone who likes romance, drama, and maybe a little action in their love stories:  this is the book for you. You can really get into the story .It’s not boring; it’s very interesting and hot. Every book that you read by Sharon Draper is always very interesting. She is a very good author, especially in this book that’s why I love it.
    Going back to school the next day Romiette Capelle and her friend Destiny talk, and they plan what they will wear the next day, Romiette is not very excited about going back, but she has to. Julio Montague moves from Corpus Christi, Texas to Cincinnati. His parents wanted him to get out of the gang related environment he was in so they moved.  Julio hated the fact that he had to move, but he had no choice. He hated to leave his dog Max and the ranch his grandfather gave them to move to Cincinnati to a damp, cold, old-looking apartment complex. Julio thought to himself as he walked up the stairs to the doors of the high school, “it’s horrible here I hate it, Texas was never this bad and this cold!!!” pg. (100)
    Julio Montague was Mexican American, and Romiette Capelle was African – American. This is an interracial love story that is very intriguing. Julio and Romiette met on an internet chatting site where they started talking. Julio invited Romiette into a private chat room so that they could talk. They talked and Romiette soon found out that Julio had moved to Cincinnati and is now attending her high school. They agree to meet with each other the next day at lunch. Romiette describes Julio as sweet, poetic, lovable,  not weird or strange in any way. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Good

    This book is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Awesome book right here!!!

    I love this book its awesome. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Romiette and Juilo.

    While reading Romiette and Julio, i realized how well of a job the author did explaining and decribing event and characters. The way the author introduced the characters. she explained her outter apperance, thoughts and also explained her parents and how they are. As well as she did the same for Julio , she expliained his outter apperance , thoughts and and she gave a well devopled description of the setting of the book from his perpestive. The different qualties of this book are, it's more of a teen book and people can relate to the events that happens in the book. There aren't really any surprising events so far, you can kind of predict ehat's going to happen next. I really can't explain what drew me into reading this book so much, it's just once you start reading it, it's hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Good Teen Multicultural Romance -- from Bestselling Author of the Hit YA Coming of Age eBook, HER TEEN DREAM

    Nice multicultural Shakespearean YA romance that tests the mettle of the young couple. -- from Devon Vaughn Archer, bestselling author of the hit YA eBook romance, HER TEEN DREAM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    Good Book

    I recently read this book and i thought i t was really good but its one of those books that you would only read once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Romiette and Julio

    I think this book was amazing. I absolutely loved it. It was a page turning book...I couldn't put it down. I just couldn't stop reading and not see what happens next. This author is so good. I also read Darkness befor Dawn and Tears of a Tiger. This book is worth reading...honestly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    romiette and julio

    Do you believe in the soul-mate system? Do you believe that your soul-mate maybe within one of your dreams? Well in Romiette and Julio, Romi and Destiny believe in everything that has to do with finding your soul-mate.Every night romi is having these dreams about drowning and some guys voice calling for her. Although she doesn't realize that the boy who is calling her is Julio.He is a boy from Texas who moves to Ohio to get away from all the violence and gangs at his school,not realizing that it's everywere. romi and julio get involved in the biggest gang at their school''The Devil Dogs'' both of them not realizing how much harm they can be doing by deciddeciding to break the rules and date eachother. They soon find them selfs fighting for their lifes, and end up realizing how much love for eachother they gain out of all this. In this 320 page novel Sharon M. Draper describe how love is about caring for that one person and protecting them through whatever life throw at you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A Modern Romeo and Juliet

    If you liked the famous Shakespearean play Romeo and Juliet, then you will most likely be interested in Romiette and Julio by: Sharon M. Draper. In this 300 some page, drama filled novel, Romiette is an African American girl from Ohio and Julio is a Mexican boy from Texas. When Julio leaves his hometown of Corpus Christi, Texas for Ohio to get away from the gangs in his school he realizes that the gangs in his new school are just as bad. Romiette and Julio face the problem of their different ethnicities with the main gang in their school, the Devildogs. Will Romiette and Julio face the same fate as in the famous Shakespearean play? Read this novel to find out. If you are a teenager who wants to read a book you can relate to and enjoys a book that makes you not want to stop reading, this is definitely the one to read. I give this book two thumbs up and a 4.5 star rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Stars are in it for this book!

    This book was totally asome I just couldn't put it down. I'm even thinking about reading it a second time. Eventhough I don't live in a gang infested city I totally get were their coming from. It made my heart race and I really suggest that you read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    This is a M-U-S-T read book!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! I was reading this book where ever I went! It all starts out when a boy named Julio moves to Cincinnati, Ohio and starts at his new school. He starts talking to this girl on the internet. Well come to find out it was a girl that went to school named Romiette. They met one day during lunch. Meanwhile there is a gang named the Devil dogs. Julio is Hispanic while Romiette is African American. The Devil Dogs don¿t believe in mixed relationships. When they decide to catch this gang in the act it all goes terribly wrong. They get kidnapped and are missing for a couple of days. Will they come back alive? You¿ll have to read the book to find out!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Unrealistic Dialogue

    I really enjoyed this book. The story kept me wanting to know more. Sharon M. Draper is an amazing writer! One thing about this book I did not like was the unrealistic dialogue. But if you can get past that, it's an easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Suspense is great

    I think and believe that these two are destined to meet they both find romance within each other, but there is one thing trying to stop them which are the gangs at their school. This is a great off-spring of shakespeare's play ' Romeo and Juliet'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    A good read

    I liked this book because it was different and not about a snotty girl living in LA or NY. It was a raw love story that made me want to keep reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    An Amazing Love Story

    Romiette and Julio is an amazing love story about two teens from different racial background that fall in love, but because of the people around them they run into a lot of problems. I love how realistic this story is about certain places in the world. The language and setting was a really good way to put the reader in the characters positions. There is a great sense of emotion used in the story. You can always tell how the characters are feeling. When Romiette is having her reoccurring dream about the water the emotion is extremely powerful. This is one of those books you just can¿t put down. This story defiantly lives up to its ¿altered¿ title.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Really Good Book...Highly Recommended

    This book was realli good...it took me 5 and a half hours to read it. I actually stayed up late to read the whole thing in that amount of time. There were a few corny parts cuz u kno a boy would never say some of the things Julio said, but it was interesting, romantic, funny, and dramatic. I was left in suspense until i reached the last page...definately a book to buy...when i get some extra cash!! =)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2