Customer Reviews for

Romiette and Julio

Average Rating 4.5
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Romi and Julio

Romiette and Julio

Have you ever been told who to date and not to date? Were you ever told what race you could and could not talk to? Romiette also known as ¿Romi¿ was a young African-American woman who grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio. Romi is trying to over come ...
Romiette and Julio

Have you ever been told who to date and not to date? Were you ever told what race you could and could not talk to? Romiette also known as ¿Romi¿ was a young African-American woman who grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio. Romi is trying to over come her horrible dreams of drown and her fear of water. Julio was a young Mexican boy who had just moved to Cincinnati. He didn¿t like the cold weather at all. He wished that he could of moved back home to his grandfather¿s ranch. He knew that there was no chance of him going back because his parents moved away from Texas because of the gang affiliation that Julio can be involved in. Julio will attend school in Cincinnati and he is not very pleased because he knows that he will have no friends.

Julio attends the first day of school with aggression because from the start he knew he wasn¿t going to like it. By the end of the day he got away with hitting a boy who dyed his hair different colors. Later that night Julio gets on the chat room to see what Cincinnati is all about. Indeed is where Romi meets Julio. They were having a private conversation in another chat came to find out that they go to the same school. They managed to meet up with one another during lunch. Julio was token back by how beautiful Romi was. Romi also thought that Julio was so handsome. They began getting to know one another real well. They continued to have lunch with each other. This group of boys they call themselves the ¿devil dogs¿ who all wore purple it was sort of an inside gang. They had a problem with Romi talking to Julio. They said something to her about was race she was and what race he was and how they don¿t mash. Romi and Julio were a little startled by it. They talked about what they were going to do the next time they bother them. They handled it very well to where the devil dogs were astonished that someone stood up to them. After they stood up to the devil dogs they threaten to get even. They began stalking Romi and Julio is there every move. So Romi and Julio and their two best friends Ben and Destiny began to make an escape plan. It winded up putting Romi and Julio in a death situation.

posted by bor.12 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I was dissapointed

I picked up this book hoping to read a realistic romance novel with the interesting twist of a modernized Romeo and Juilet story. The fact that it involved gangs and a poor area of the city also made me interested because I thought I would be able to relate to the chara...
I picked up this book hoping to read a realistic romance novel with the interesting twist of a modernized Romeo and Juilet story. The fact that it involved gangs and a poor area of the city also made me interested because I thought I would be able to relate to the character coming from that background Both characters were incredibly unrealistic, speaking in ways the no teenager has spoke in since the early 19th century! The slang the author attempted to use was also awful, and it makes me believe that she had no connection with her character and didn't know ANYTHING about teenagers in general The plot and idea was orginal and very good, although the charaters were underdeveloped and unrealistic

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended- you must check it out !!!!

    One of the best books i ever read it kept me entertained for hours!!!! you need to buy this book !!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Omg!!!!!!!!!

    This was the best book i have ever read! My sister told me about it and i tgought hey what the heck. But it turne dout to be so good i literally could not put it sown. The way the author plays out the suspense at the end expecially but throughout tue book is so clever. If you havent read this book...you havent lived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I lOve this author

    I love this book and This is my fav author!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Maya Sumpter's review on Romiette and Julio

    Well in the book it was wierd because Romiette and Julio's names are really close to the Shakespears play Romeo and Juilet. And it was kind of the same thing happening the gangs didnt like Julio and so they tried to break them up but nothing would do it. But also this book was overall a 10 in my ratings because it always kept me on my toes waiting to read what would happen next. I absoluty loved this book. And i recommend it to anyone that likes romantic stuff but would like some action in there also.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Romiette and Julio

    The Book I read was Romiette and Julio and was written by Sharon m. Draper. This book is a real attention grabber and a romantic novel. This book is somewhat like the old play of Romeo and Juliet written by Shakespeare, although the main characters didn¿t have that drastic ending but came very close. In the book Romiette and Julio, Romiette Cappelle thought she would never meet the right one or the perfect soul mate until Julio Montague comes along, a Hispanic who transferred from Texas because of the gang violence. When the first met Romiette thought highly of, him. She thought he was cute and had a wonderful personality but she felt that there would never be a chance with him because she was African American and he was Hispanic. Romiette and Julio shared the same thoughts about each other which was that they loved one another. They then became very close and were always hanging out at school and out side of school. Thinking that nothing could go wrong because they loved one another but others couldn¿t see the joy they had in there faces when they were together. One day at lunch they were approached by ¿The Family¿ or known as the Devil dogs. This local gang had a big problem with Julio because of the fact he was Hispanic and that he was hanging with Romiette. They thought that blacks should be with blacks and Hispanics should be with the Hispanics. They then threaten Julio to stay away from Romiette or else. Paying them no attention at all Julio continued to talk and hang out wit Romiette. While walking home, Romiette and Julio were approached again by the Devil Dogs. The Devil Dogs weren¿t playing at all, ¿ We¿ve warned you once and you failed to listen, so we must take matters into our own hands, Terrell said, the leader of the group. They began tying them both up and drive them to a lake, where a boat was awaiting their arrival. ¿The Family¿ put them both in a boat where they were left stranded in the big storm helpless. Two days pass and of course the parents were worried, they looked all over for them. After all the two were found and there life were changed ever since.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    For Mrs.Lasley

    Romiette and Julio is a perfect book for girls who love romance and drama books. Romiette and Julio facing gangs and critism from other students about the relationship doesn't stop the two love birds.Moving to Chiago the total opposite of a small mexican town where you grew up can be tough. Julio kept himself together long enough to meet Romiette and there souls instantly connected. not knowing how out of hand things would get they became very close friends to the part where they have to work with each other to survive. In this book you could really understand the definition of true love. Putting all cares and worries from what others think behind and letting your true feelings for one another explode and intwine together. This book has all the necessities of a great novel comedy, drama, romance, and fear. when you combine all together into one novel your senses and mind run wild with imagination.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Romiette and Julio

    Romiette and Julio is an amazing book , at first I thought it was going to be like the play Romeo and Juliette, but it¿s actually a lot like the play , but about cultural differences. I absolutely love this book because it demonstrates how two teenagers fall in love, but their local gang threatens both of them. Due to their different ethnicities. Since Romiette is African-American, and Julio is Hispanic they both meet online in a chat room. But actually they both go to the same school. Julio is a new kid he has moved from Texas to Ohio. At first they start talking as friends but then they realize they have more in common and love each other. Even though their local gang always threatens them , Romiette and Julio don¿t care as long as their happy together. Even Julio¿s father doesn¿t like Romiette at first , because she is African-American and it reminds him of an incident in the past. He tells Julio that he should stick to his own race and not talk to Romiette. Julio is in love with Romiette and tries to make his dad recognize that. Romiette¿s fears are water , and fire, so she thinks that Julio is her soul mate to rescue her from her fears. But then Romiette and Julio make a plan to get away from the gang. They¿re parents almost find them drowning , but either way no one can stop them . Julio rescues her and Romiette¿s parents accept each other as a family, without differences ever again. Even the families seem to get along perfectly not even their traditions change that. So I definitely recommend this book it¿s a romantic book and thrilling!! It will keep you reading until the end of the page. It is perfect if you like love stories, and romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    TRUE LOVE

    This book was recommended to me by a friend and now im recommending it to anyone who is interested in reading books about romance.It is a very captivating book because once you start to read it you will not be able to get your hands and eyes out of it. It is about a african american girl and a hispanic boy who fall in love but cant be together because of a gang at there school wont allow it. The gang is called the devildogs and opposes thier interracial relationship. Even their parents dont want to allow it at first. This book is similar to the play romio and juliette and thats one of the reasons i really like it. Since at my school there is alot of racial disputes who are african-americans and hispanics. so if anyone was in a interracial relationship they would probably get haseled by some students at school. Even parents now a days wont allow it. thats why i think that this is a good book to read to understand a little more about this situation. This book is about true love because before they even meet eachother they connected and when they first saw each other it was love at first sight. Its also about true love because they go through anything just to see each other, even after their parents told them not to. They also risked thier lives just to spend a couple of minutes with each other. they also tryed to handle thier situation with thier local gang and almost got killed, so with that scare it brought thier each pothers parents together and got them to understand that thier kids were in love with each other. even though it took an almost tragedy to happen to get everyone to understand them. so if you are into romance/drama this is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    This book was good

    I like the name how she changed it. This book had meh scared too. But all was good, all was good. MustRead thus.
    -@swagqueenchick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Very good highly reccomended

    This book is amazing! Once again Sharon has brought us a wonderful exciting novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Good book

    I thought this book was going to suck but it is a very intresting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I love this book.....<33333333333$$%%-*::--;;

    I can relate to this because this is how i feel about someone right now n we go outttt i love my baby hes my everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Anonomys

    Amazing book. Very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Awsome book

    I absolutely love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Love it :) :)

    I love the sample but now i want the book and i dont have any money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    So good

    This book was so good. I can honestly say it was one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Gooooooooooo book!

    This book was an lovly book for teens an book full with action and everthing els. ONE THING THOE IT NEED A NUMBER TWO !!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Mating

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    OMGGG!!!

    This book is sad and romanticc luv it they is such a stronge couple nothing got b/w them !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Amazinggggggg

    Loved it! Dont hesitste to check out this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11