Customer Reviews for

Rooftops of Tehran: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Hush

    Please come back...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Hush

    *she sighs.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Hush

    o.o Ohmygosh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Hush

    Seriously. v-v God. I am so dobe with this. I ruin everybody. Im sick lf it. Ima go write Ggost yet another suicide letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Crypt

    Nods and teleports out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This book was filled with the mysteries of daily life and the difficulties of the Iranian peoples. From two lovesick young teens to young men wanting love they can't share with the women they want, to the heartbreak of mysterious death and disappearing life as they know it.

    Would love to read another novel this author releases; very descriptive, moving and thoroughly enjoyable.

    A DEFINITE read for book clubs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    The blurb pretty much sums this whole book up. We have Pasha Sha

    The blurb pretty much sums this whole book up. We have Pasha Shahed, who is a normal teenager like most people have been. He spends his summer on the rooftop and he's enjoying life. But one thing will change his life forever: love. Not only does Pasha's love with Zari have an impact on him, it has an impact on everyone around him. Pasha grows up and matures throughout the book—he's no longer blind to the things going around him. He loves deeply and truly, and he also cares a lot for the people around him. He has moments where he doubts the things he's been taught, his religion, and many things like that. That's what made this book so realistic. This book is truly a coming-of-age novel—and a really good one at that.
    Zari, in my eyes, is brave as she is reckless. Her decision was an act that in order to commit it, one had to be brave. But she also had to pay for her actions, which affected other people besides her. I'm not sure if she thought that part through, but then she, in a way, opened other people's eyes to the things she say. I hold a lot of respect for Zari.
    This book is powerful. Just as Zari's choice opened Pasha's eyes, it opened my eyes to a lot of the problems people around the world face and though some of them aren't in the USA, we should still know about them. Rooftops of Tehran brought out dozens of emotions. While reading this book, I cried. When I finished this book, I cried. The ending left me wanting for more.
    I truly hope there is a sequel, but if there's not I'm content with how the book ended. It ended perfectly for a stand-alone book, but also for the book that has a sequel. Either way, this book is a great book that teaches great life lessons and is a heartwarming as well as heartbreaking story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I was really fond of this book and loved how I was able to see h

    I was really fond of this book and loved how I was able to see how life was during the Shah's dictatorship. It really opened my eyes, many of my Iranian friends still feel like it's the same today. Thank you for this wonderful book and I recommend it to all that is curious about Iran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Amazing

    All i have to say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Beautiful.

    The best book ever written, simply put.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for TeensReadToo.com

    Set in the summer of 1973, 17-year-old Pasha Shashed spends most of his summer on the rooftops with Ahmed, his best friend. They joke around and talk about the future, life, and love. Crushing on Zari, the betrothed of his mentor, the neighborhood radical, Ramin Sobhi. Torn between his feelings for Zari and his loyalty to Ramin, he feels guilty over their friendship, but can't resist spending time with her. Pasha's life comes crashing down, however, when the Shah's secret police take away Ramin and kill him. Forced to grow up fast and come to terms with his feelings for Zari, his country's ruler, and his connection to his dead friend, summers will never be the same for Pasha ever again. A touching, endearing story about coming of age and falling in love. The characters are well-developed and believable. The plot is hard-hitting and well-done. Readers everywhere will relate to this novel of discovering one's self. Readers who like more modern historical fiction, stories from other countries, and semi-autobiographical novels will enjoy reading ROOFTOPS OF TEHRAN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Enjoyable and thought provoking

    An easy read and very current even though it was set in the 70's. Found it thought provoking as the characters exbited different personalities then one would imagine. It's refreshing to read a book that provides a different understanding of an unknown culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE ROOFTOPS OF TEHRAN

    This book reminded me of THE KITE RUNNER. It is the story of teenagers growing up in Tehran and the difficulties they had to face. It was written during the overthrow of the Shah and the turbulence that followed. If you enjoy stories of other cultures, this is a book you should read. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rooftops of Tehran is a Must-Read story of Coming of Age in Times of Turmoil

    In Rooftops of Tehran, Mahbod Seraji masterfully weaves Pasha's coming of age story into the instability of Iran's political climate. Seraji's language and vivid descriptions immediately transport his reader to Tehran as it was in the early 1970s. He allows the reader to understand how politics, culture, education, and religion interplay in the decisions young adults make, while focusing on the constants in their lives: family, friendship, and school.

    Seraji holds no punches in describing the prevalence of Iranian hostility toward and suspicion of the United States. At the same time, Pasha's parents are encouraging him to study engineering in the US to bring change and advancement to Iran upon completion of his studies. Further, Pasha relates incidents in his life to those in American movies and gives much thought to western attitudes toward romance and marriage.

    Rooftops of Tehran is a beautiful coming of age story with a good balance of philosophy, religion, and politics. This novel is an ideal work to discuss in book groups or a liberal studies curriculum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Amazing

    This book was easily one of the best romance stories I've ever read. The characters were relateable and entirely unique, the plot gripping and shocking; the type of book you can read for hours without realizing any time has passed. It gives fascinating insights into Iran's culture and was, overall, unforgettable. However, two warnings: 1. Be ready to cry 2. This is not a book for younger readers, as it is filled with cursing and crude humor. All the same, this is a story we all need to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding! Don't miss this one!

    "Life is like a boat without sails: there is no telling where this boat will take us or which shore we'll end up on. Sometimes it is wise not to fight the wind and accept things as they are, as painful as they may be, trusting in the wisdom of God and believing in the certainty of fate." This quote from page 315 sums up this wonderful book. I rely on the reviews of other readers when choosing which books to read. Everything said about this book is true and then some! I cannot wait for Mr. Seraji to write another wonderful book and to hopefully read a sequel to Rooftops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    A Story that Stays...

    At a time when ignorance about and fear of Iran run rampant, Seraji's Rooftops of Tehran is a welcome window into a beautiful, vibrant culture. The unassuming way that Pasha and the other characters guide non-Persian readers through the thick of their customs left me feeling both wiser and humbled at the same time. Even the minor characters had the spark and weight to carry their own scenes, particularly Pasha's mother and Ahmed's grandmother - two strong women proving that age is no barrier to love or passion for a Persian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A story for all

    I tried to write my review for this novel as soon as I finished reading; however, I was unable to do so. Whether it was from writer's block or from fear of writing an inadequate review, I do not know. I am leaning toward the latter. I considered stringing together a set of adjectives: brilliant, funny, original, haunting. Although they could all be used to describe this novel, it would not have been enough. Instead, I started off with the following: "Rooftops of Tehran", a debut novel by Mahbod Seraji, is a wonderfully written coming of age story of young love. After that I just stared at the page for quite some time and gave up. How could I do justice to Mr. Seraji's masterful prose?
    -----
    From the rooftop of his home, Pasha and his friends talk about life - sharing their dreams, hopes, and fears. They spend an innocent summer falling in love and becoming good friends. Their innocence comes to an end when Pasha unwittingly betrays a friend and leads one friend to a self-destructive decision. But where are the rooftops? New York, London, Paris. Could be but, no, they are in Iran. Not a place nor a people that most Westerners know much about. Through his vivid characterizations and descriptions, Mr. Seraji is able to transport us to Iran and give us a glimpse into this ancient world. I could clearly picture the homes, alleyways, streets and rooftops. He breathed so much life into these characters that they will not be forgotten. I laughed when Pasha's father was unwittingly the perpetrator in ding dong ditch. I felt compassion for Grandma and was awed that the entire neighborhood looked after her - not something that is commonplace here in America. I felt for the characters when tragedy struck and I rooted for them in their moments of rebellion. In short, his characters had That - they had honor, treasured friendship, prized love, had courage and strength to stand up for what they believed in.
    -----
    "Rooftops of Tehran" is much more than a love story. It is a an affirmation of shared human experiences. We all dream, love, laugh and cry. We have fears and and want good things for our children. Mr. Seraji has given us a glimpse into the unknown and it is up to us to recognize that regardless of religion or culture we are more alike than some would like us to believe.
    -----
    At times, this novel is funny and at other times tragic. It is certainly unforgettable. I highly recommend to those wishing to broaden their horizons and learn more about the Persian people and culture. Mahbod Seraji is an author to watch. I know I will be looking and waiting for his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Once you start you won't want to put it down!

    The authors gentle style of writing takes you into the lives of Pasha & Zari in such a way you share each laugh each tear each moment of despiration and desire for hope.
    A wonderful coming of age story constrained and enhanced by cultural traditions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    You will not be able to put this book down!

    I recommend this book to everyone. It was an incredible story that keeps you on edge with every page. It will make you laugh and cry and anticipate his next piece of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2