Customer Reviews for

The Rook

Average Rating 4.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery!

When I think of The Rook the first word that comes to mind is 'fun.' Great fun actually. But to simply say that The Rook is 'fun' would be facile on my part. The Rook is a terrific read for a lot of reasons. Foremost The Rook is very well written. The mystery of why Myf...
When I think of The Rook the first word that comes to mind is 'fun.' Great fun actually. But to simply say that The Rook is 'fun' would be facile on my part. The Rook is a terrific read for a lot of reasons. Foremost The Rook is very well written. The mystery of why Myfanwy Thomas is without her memory and who did what to whom is hard to crack. As soon as I'd thought I'd figured it out, the story proved me wrong. Not because of authorial plot shenanigans, but because the unraveling of the mystery was very well handled. I really enjoyed how this is done with new Myfanwy being aided by information left behind by old Myfanwy. Myfanwy is a wonderful character. She's trying to figure out how to do her job as Rook and racing against time to find who in the Chequy harmed her and why. The Rook is not a short read (nearly 500 pages), but I barely noticed the length. The Chequy is itself amazing. It's a fantastical governmental agency. Think FBI/CIA rolled into one that handles supernatural threats. Yes, other supernatural agencies exist in literature, but none quite like the Chequy. How the Chequy functions is explained well, but never bogs down the story. I really enjoyed seeing how the Chequy works, how threats are handled, and meeting the people with whom Myfanwy works, despite that fact that one of them wants her erased. Mr. O'Malley's scrupulous attention to detail creates a believable, if somewhat unusual, governmental agency. The upper echelon of the Chequy are fascinating characters themselves. Because Myfanwy is trying to figure out which of them might be after her, we get to know each of them well. I certainly enjoyed learning about them and their powers... and trying to figure out who did it and why. Mr. O'Malley has infused The Rook with wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery. The Rook made me laugh out loud, entertained me, and kept me fascinated from start to finish. I give The Rook 5 Qwills. Originally posted at The Qwillery.

posted by Qwillery on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun read

Very fun book to read! Excellent for a first novel!

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery!

    When I think of The Rook the first word that comes to mind is 'fun.' Great fun actually. But to simply say that The Rook is 'fun' would be facile on my part. The Rook is a terrific read for a lot of reasons. Foremost The Rook is very well written. The mystery of why Myfanwy Thomas is without her memory and who did what to whom is hard to crack. As soon as I'd thought I'd figured it out, the story proved me wrong. Not because of authorial plot shenanigans, but because the unraveling of the mystery was very well handled. I really enjoyed how this is done with new Myfanwy being aided by information left behind by old Myfanwy. Myfanwy is a wonderful character. She's trying to figure out how to do her job as Rook and racing against time to find who in the Chequy harmed her and why. The Rook is not a short read (nearly 500 pages), but I barely noticed the length. The Chequy is itself amazing. It's a fantastical governmental agency. Think FBI/CIA rolled into one that handles supernatural threats. Yes, other supernatural agencies exist in literature, but none quite like the Chequy. How the Chequy functions is explained well, but never bogs down the story. I really enjoyed seeing how the Chequy works, how threats are handled, and meeting the people with whom Myfanwy works, despite that fact that one of them wants her erased. Mr. O'Malley's scrupulous attention to detail creates a believable, if somewhat unusual, governmental agency. The upper echelon of the Chequy are fascinating characters themselves. Because Myfanwy is trying to figure out which of them might be after her, we get to know each of them well. I certainly enjoyed learning about them and their powers... and trying to figure out who did it and why. Mr. O'Malley has infused The Rook with wry humor, unusual supernatural beings, and a deeply absorbing mystery. The Rook made me laugh out loud, entertained me, and kept me fascinated from start to finish. I give The Rook 5 Qwills. Originally posted at The Qwillery.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A superb book!

    I am an avid reader of nonfiction, which is why I am surprised I enjoyed this as much as I did. O'mally is excellent and has a wonderful pace to the book. The is great for anyone looking for a top rate read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awesome Book

    Great Story, I highly recommend this. I kept hoping, as I got closer to the end, that some plot hole would be left unfilled in preparation for another book in this series. Unfortunately O'Malley does a great job of wrapping all of the loose ends. I hope you enjoy!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is easily the best book I've read this year. It's funny an

    This is easily the best book I've read this year. It's funny and extremely well-written. For me, The Rook is the most seamless blending of reality and fantasy since Harry Potter. I've tried other urban fantasy books and series, but they usually feel like they're trying too hard to make the fantastical seem mundane. In The Rook , I never question the presence of the supernatural (of course, some of that may have to do with the fact that it's set in England, and I find it much easier to believe in possibility of magic there). Myfanwy is an amazing character. She's smart and strong and funny and feels like a real person. The Rook carries along at a brisk pace; I never felt my interest flag. A really run read which (hopefully) leads up to a whole series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Clever and aggressively readable, I stayed up way too late one night because I got utterly caught up. The author has an engaging style and the story, while playing with themes we all find familiar, seems fresh and new. Another reviewer complained that they were looking towards some loose ends with a hope that this might be the start of a series, and I have to say, I agree. While no loose ends were presented, I do hope to see the return of Myfanwy Thomas.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I love this book. It's amazing. I'll be honest, it took almost 150 pages to get really good. I almost quit reading it actually. I'm so glad I didn't. This book made me laugh out loud way to much, it made my heart race a few times (especially when Miffy confronts the traitor that stole her memories) and it left me extremly satisfied and wanting another story about the Checquy, Miffy, Ingrid, Shantay, and all the characters you will fall in love with, cry for, worry about and be saddened for when they die or get hurt. Do not pass this book up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Loved It!

    WHat a great book! I couldn't put it down! I love the premise of not only finding out who tried to kill her, but also trying to find her way in this new world she's been introduced to, and finding out her own personality. I recommended this book to a lot of friends, and they all loved it (even those who arn't that into reading).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    One of the best I've read

    I am a big scifi-fantasy reader and this is one of the best books I have had the pleasure to read. Great plot, well written, interesting characters who (gasp!) develop throughout the story. Rook is a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    good

    Very well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Ugh, I wrote an entire review and my computer ate it

    The short version is I greatly enjoyed this book. It is fast paced, I've never seen the framing technique of amnesia used quite so effectively and I liked that it is not a part of a trilogy or series so I didn't have to worry about getting to the end and finding a cliff hanger. The best part of this book is how imaginative the author is. There are no generic, overused, "X-Man" mutations here; each character has a unique and exciting power. Even your standard fare, such as vampires and dragons, get fresh treatment. The fact that this book passes the Bechdel test with flying colors is also a huge plus. If you enjoy sci-fi powers mixed with a dose of history and a wry sense of humor you will greatly enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    I keep meaning to research whether or not Dan O'Malley has consi

    I keep meaning to research whether or not Dan O'Malley has considered selling the movie rights to The Rook due to the obvious possibilities for an entire franchise of sequels based on Myfanway Thomas' adventures. Of course, I'd MUCH rather read the sequels than watch them, so please, Mr. O'Malley, give us more Myfanway!
    Yes, the resemblance to X-Men is undeniable due to characters with special "gifts", but that's where the similarities end. O'Malley has created an "anything's possible" new world with entirely new and fantastically likeable characters (unlike X-Men), who are smart, witty and endearingly odd. LOVED The Rook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Fantastic debut

    This book had it all--super powers, mystery, action, kick-ass heroine, supernaturals, humor, fabulous characters, spies, politics, and a great plot that keeps you guessing until the end. This books starts off with a bang and nevers slows down. This is one of the best books I have ever read and I read around 25 to 30 books per month. There are very few authors whose debut novel is as fantastic as this one. I sincerely hope that Myfanwy is seen again soon in more of his books. I will definitely be on the look out for more of his novels. I HIGHLY recommend this great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I normally don't read books that have a supernatural element to

    I normally don't read books that have a supernatural element to them (with the exception of the Harry Potter series), however I saw this book mentioned on The Today show when I was in the waiting room at the doctor's. This book was phenomenal, I literally could not put it down. I enjoyed both version of Myfanwy and would love to learn more about both of them. The concept of the Chequy is quite complex, and left to another author may have left a reader very confused, but O'Malley handles it in such an effortless simple way that leaves you wanting more books about this alternative world. The first line has you hooked from the beginning and I was quite sad when I finished reading because I just wanting to keep reading about the adventures of Myfanwy. If you like suspense and puzzles, this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Excellent

    Fast paced and funny by the time its over you want to be part of her inner circle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    One of the top ten books I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great read

    Total Recall meets X-Files with a british accent and dash of unique imagination. Simply wonderful. Sequel please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so funny and so well written! The mystery of why M

    This book was so funny and so well written! The mystery of why Myfanwy Thomas is without her memory and what caused her memory loss is a clever plot and so well written that it unravels timely and neatly, and packs a surprise punch or two, just when you think you’ve figured it out.
    The writing itself is so engaging I couldn’t put the book down! It’s a good, meaty read, but if you’re a reader intimidated by long reads – you won’t even notice the length.

    The Chequy is the reigning governmental agency within the novel that sort of acts like the CIA and handles all supernatural threats. While supernatural agencies exist in other books, the Chequy is different in that it’s role and functions are explained but that explanation isn’t long or out of place, nor does it slow down the story.
    I loved every aspect of this book. My favorite part was the duck who could see the future. I was laughing to the point of tears during that chapter!

    This book is one for the lovers of the supernatural genre, and for those that don’t take that love too seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Unique, fun and original

    Fantastic read. The plot is original and fun; girl loses her memories, oh an said girl is a high ranking member of a secret society who sole focus is to protect England from supernatural entities. The supernatural forces are not your standard fare, and wholly interesting and fun. The girl MyFanwy (pronounced Miffany) goes from introverted/antisocial to inspiring and powerful. The story is told in a combination of real time first person (new MyFanwy) and juxtaposed first person (old MyFanwy) through letters to new MyFanwy. The letters build the backstory that constructs the real time story unfolding throughout the book. As original as the approach is, it does breakup the pace (tension) of the book, a common complaint of many readers, but necessary. The end does seem a little underdeveloped but the build up was well done. Some interesting characters are under utilized (Alaric and Farrior). Anyone that liked All Souls trilogy by Harness or looking for a stand alone adult Harry Potter, this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    A great rea

    This was a fantastic read & I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Clever and laugh-inducing

    Loved 'The Rook' from start to finish, and I was particularly fond of new Myfanwy's unique (and liberally sarcastic) voice. The situations in which she finds herself are often so completely ridiculous and her reactions so...well, normal, that the end result is an unexpected hilarity, much in the same vein as 'Catch-22.' I'd recommend this even for those who normally avoid the whole supernatural thing - I promise, it's a bizarre yet wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7