Customer Reviews for

Room

Average Rating 4
( 3140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1361)

4 Star

(968)

3 Star

(458)

2 Star

(190)

1 Star

(163)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT! FRIGHTENING!

THE ROOM is about the special strength, determination and splendor of a Mother's love and of a woman's will to survive against all odds. This was a fantastic story! It is imaginative, creative, unique and beautifully written. This is narrated and seen through the eyes o...
THE ROOM is about the special strength, determination and splendor of a Mother's love and of a woman's will to survive against all odds. This was a fantastic story! It is imaginative, creative, unique and beautifully written. This is narrated and seen through the eyes of a five year old boy, Jack. Imagine seeing the world from the perspective of a child, experiencing life for the first time, his innocent thoughts that adults could actually learn something from. Jack's mother had been kidnapped and placed inside a stifling small space, a bathroom, some basic cooking equipment, and a TV. Over a period of years, she gives birth to Jack, and he too is kept locked inside, so his view of "the world" is so limited, not even to have seen daylight. What imagination it had to have taken to create this realistic view of such horror and innocence. This is an experience to behold and nightmares maybe experienced long after.

posted by LCH47 on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

I do not recommend this

While this was an interesting concept, the novel feel short on many levels. It did not have enough to really keep it going and the voice of jack while often cute, was frankly at times annoying and ever so trite. I was disturbed to the many references to nursing a five y...
While this was an interesting concept, the novel feel short on many levels. It did not have enough to really keep it going and the voice of jack while often cute, was frankly at times annoying and ever so trite. I was disturbed to the many references to nursing a five year old. Jack's "I want some" was grating. Much of the time the novel seemed voyeuristic.

There was so much that could have been explored with both Jack and the mother, but it was left out. The book felt gimmicky and since it was based on a real event that defeats the purpose of the story.

posted by mweinreich on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    I do not recommend this

    While this was an interesting concept, the novel feel short on many levels. It did not have enough to really keep it going and the voice of jack while often cute, was frankly at times annoying and ever so trite. I was disturbed to the many references to nursing a five year old. Jack's "I want some" was grating. Much of the time the novel seemed voyeuristic.

    There was so much that could have been explored with both Jack and the mother, but it was left out. The book felt gimmicky and since it was based on a real event that defeats the purpose of the story.

    32 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    M

    Here goes harriet klausner again revealing everything. Her along with these other long winded posters needs to be banned and fined. They ruin a book by telling everything that happens. You plot revealers need to stop and realize that other ppl would like to read the book and be surprised, but thanks to your vain, god complex, there is no need to read the book. Look at other reviews, they simply state if they liked the book or not, they dont dissect every plot point. If you want to debate a book, start a web site, go to facebook, BUT STOP RUINING BOOKS FOR OTHERS!!!!!!

    26 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    rotten

    Reading an entire book written in the voice of a five year old is challenging, disturbing and annoying. I rarely abandon books I start, but this was an exception. Loathed it.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Not that great...

    I thought the plot of this story was very compelling but the characters were lacking in depth. Responses and clarity could have been better. I chose this book because of the high rating but was very disappointed. I kept reading hoping that it would redeem itself but no such luck. Waste of time.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Not a good read

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. The concept was interesting, but telling the story in the voice of a five year old quickly became very annoying. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    A chore

    This book grabs you and makes you want to read to the end in hopes that it gets better, but it is complete false hope. The book drags on and feels like a chore to read. It is a waste of time.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    I wanted to like this book but just could not do it

    I rarely write bad reviews on books because I think the act of writing a book in itself is something that should be praised. However, I could not bring myself to like this book as much as I tried.

    Why?

    The main character "Jack" was utterly annoying! Even though he is five years old and the subject matter was serious, I could not stand the annoying little five year old. Telling the story through his voice, and all his mispronounced English made this book unbearable. There was nothing cutesy about his manner of speech. It was overkill.

    The only person I felt any sympathy for was his mom because she had to put up with being locked in a room with this kid for so long. I also found his whole "I want some" or "can I have some" utterly disturbing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't bother

    Narrated through a 5 year old this book is difficult to read because the narration is so unappealing. Based on sensationalized cases of abduction which involve bizarre places, abuse and other adults who know what is going on and look the other way. After reading those stories and this fictionalized account I'm struck with a feeling I can't escape; how do humans do this to others and wake up each day acting like this normal. The book jacket says Room is a place you will never forget; I concur and suggest reading something else.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    This is an interesting read for a bookclub

    I appreciate the work that the author did for this book in respect to writing this story from the perspective of a five-year old child. But I felt the book was heavy with the "baby talk" and not much story was really available to the reader.

    I would have liked more story and maybe more from the mom's perspective of the aftermath of her ordeal.

    I think this is a good book for a bookclub discussion. Some readers will like it and others will not. I did not.

    A large negative was that I found the overall story boring and I skimmed thru a lot of the book because I kept waiting for the next part of the story to happen. Dissapointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Hard to read

    Very disappointing. I couldnt bear to read any more. If my five yr old spoke like that id figure myself to be a lost cause. The verbage is terrible. This book is just not for me, i dont think this author is either.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Not recommended - entire book club disliked.

    Room was chosen as a book club read. I can't say much about the message or meaning of this read because I put it down after concluding Chapter 2. I found it trite, gimmicky, and the vocabulary of the child unbelievable and annoying. Only 2 of 8 club members read the entire book. I will not read (nor will the club select) other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Boring

    I found it irritating to have a 5 year old narrating the book. I do ot want to read in baby talk. Made it through about 50 pages, and gave up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Boring. Need Patience. A lot of it.

    i do not recommend. its quite boring. its a good read if you skip to the only eventful part. predictable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Boring

    I was reading the book and the whole time I was waiting for it to get better. I almost did not want to even finish it but I decided it had to get better in the end. I was wrong. I wish I never resad this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Room

    What is this book ahout the cover looks good!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Annoying

    I only made it a few pages in and said forget it. Reading a book from the perspective of a child feels like reading a book written by a child. Sorry couldn't handle it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    too short

    The sample of the book is way too short, it dosent explain about the book at all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    highly recommended

    great book! reading gets a little difficult at times but its a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I truly despised this book.  I had to read it for book club and

    I truly despised this book.  I had to read it for book club and could barely finish.  First and foremost, many of the plot lines are just not plausible.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Could not finish

    Read sampling - I didn't. Book is all in 5 year old viewpoint which i could not dig through in order to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9