Customer Reviews for

Room

Average Rating 4
( 3106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1339)

4 Star

(960)

3 Star

(455)

2 Star

(189)

1 Star

(163)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT! FRIGHTENING!

THE ROOM is about the special strength, determination and splendor of a Mother's love and of a woman's will to survive against all odds. This was a fantastic story! It is imaginative, creative, unique and beautifully written. This is narrated and seen through the eyes o...
THE ROOM is about the special strength, determination and splendor of a Mother's love and of a woman's will to survive against all odds. This was a fantastic story! It is imaginative, creative, unique and beautifully written. This is narrated and seen through the eyes of a five year old boy, Jack. Imagine seeing the world from the perspective of a child, experiencing life for the first time, his innocent thoughts that adults could actually learn something from. Jack's mother had been kidnapped and placed inside a stifling small space, a bathroom, some basic cooking equipment, and a TV. Over a period of years, she gives birth to Jack, and he too is kept locked inside, so his view of "the world" is so limited, not even to have seen daylight. What imagination it had to have taken to create this realistic view of such horror and innocence. This is an experience to behold and nightmares maybe experienced long after.

posted by LCH47 on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

I do not recommend this

While this was an interesting concept, the novel feel short on many levels. It did not have enough to really keep it going and the voice of jack while often cute, was frankly at times annoying and ever so trite. I was disturbed to the many references to nursing a five y...
While this was an interesting concept, the novel feel short on many levels. It did not have enough to really keep it going and the voice of jack while often cute, was frankly at times annoying and ever so trite. I was disturbed to the many references to nursing a five year old. Jack's "I want some" was grating. Much of the time the novel seemed voyeuristic.

There was so much that could have been explored with both Jack and the mother, but it was left out. The book felt gimmicky and since it was based on a real event that defeats the purpose of the story.

posted by mweinreich on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 455 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    An "Ok" Read (Possible Spoiler)

    I was anxious to read "Room" having heard so many wonderful reviews. Everyone I talk to seems to have loved this book.

    I struggled to read from the beginning. Maybe it was the broken language of a five year old, maybe it was the repetitive nature. Whatever it was? It was slow. (I typically read a book in 2 days, but this took me an entire week.)

    I didn't feel that there was any real climax to this book, sure it picked up when Jack made his great escape. But it never really grabbed me the way many books do.

    I couldn't stand Ma's family. I tried and tried to put myself in their place, which is normally pretty easy with a book. But these characters were just so unlikable that I couldn't manage it. I liked Ma in room; and I can't begin to imagine her trauma, but I just had a difficult time sympathizing with her once they'd escaped.

    Overall, I didn't love the book. It was just sort of ok, and I definitely would not recommend it to my friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    ?

    I have not read it but it might be good might not ,but it seems good!!

    1 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad, Not Fantastic

    Quick, easy, interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good story

    Like others here have already said - it's a good story. Not the best or the worst. A solid three stars. Though its told through Jack's eyes, "Ma" is the one I think I wanted to know more about. The breastfeeding also became an annoying little device after the first 50 times it was mentioned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    On the fence...

    Can't decide whether I really liked this book or not... it was difficult to read at times because its told through the 5 year olds perspective (interesting yet weird). There were times it got kind of slow and times where I was on the edge waiting to find out what happens next. The ending was a little lackluster, but somewhat relieving also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Room

    Its a different book if u like reading what a five year old would talk like.if u didn't have nothing else to read id say go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Maybe I don't know enough about children? I thought the idea of

    Maybe I don't know enough about children?

    I thought the idea of a five-year-old narrator very interesting, until I started reading it. It makes sense that Jack turned things like Wardrobe and Bed into proper nouns but there were other things in Room that he didn't personify which made it slightly confusing. I've been around children in a limited capacity so I obviously can't speak accurately to their way of thinking/understanding the world around them. However, I found Jack to be a very limited character. He lacked the natural curiosity that I've seen from children. My best guess is that was supposed to be a side effect of being in Room. Jack never displayed the fear that I anticipated he would and couldn't seem to grasp Ma's fear. Maybe it would have been better to have dual narrators with Ma & Jack to get a full scope of the story. It also felt like the "action" of the novel happened very quickly which seemed odd in comparison to the amount of time spent on everything else.

    Maybe this just wasn't a book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    One of the most unique views on a subject that we have all read

    One of the most unique views on a subject that we have all read about at one time or another. The viewpoint the author uses makes this book so much more powerful and poignant. Kudos to Ms. Donoghue for writing such a brave novel. I was not afraid to read it and though it was hard at times, it is a masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Jack though initially adorable, ends up both the books greatest

    Jack though initially adorable, ends up both the books greatest stregth (in the beggining with his unique perspective of the world) and weakness (his utterly profound ability to become quickly annoying in the outside world. Midway through the book your left thinking "There's more?" and by the end your left wishing there wasn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Room is told entirely from the point-of-view of a five-year-old.

    Room is told entirely from the point-of-view of a five-year-old. The writing is unlike anything else I've read before and I'm still unsure if that's a good thing or not. The narration takes a while to get used to and, even by the end of the book, I still wasn't thrilled about it. I must say that I felt Jack was done very well. Jack seems like other five-year-old boys that I know. He's naive, selfish, and slightly annoying. While all of these things might sound bad, when in context, they aren't. He's a child and, even given his circumstances, he's a lot like a child should be. Emma Donoghue did a really great job at making Jack come to life and made an excellent choice in having him narrate the story. I believe it's much more powerful through his eyes as opposed to his Ma's.

    [Very minor spoilers here] A few things that I didn't enjoy: the talk of breastfeeding (which is never actually referred to as such). It made me pretty uncomfortable. I'm not against breastfeeding in any way. I'm not even against breastfeeding a child of Jack's age (not that I could do it personally). I understand that breastfeeding brought comfort to Jack and Ma. I just don't want to hear a child talking about which breast tastes better and which is creamier. It was downright weird, in my opinion. Another thing that I found really weird was Ma letting Jack keep her rotten tooth. Really? How is that okay? He's sucking on it. I cannot possibly be the only one that thinks that's really gross. I know I'm nitpicking, but these things really stood out and bothered me.

    Overall, this book is difficult for me to review. I've read many reviews where people say you'll either love it or hate it and that's just not true in my case. I definitely didn't love Room, but I didn't hate it, either. I can't really recommend or not recommend it to anyone.

    3.5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    A fascinatingl plot, and well done.---Ms Donahue was clever and

    A fascinatingl plot, and well done.---Ms Donahue was clever and consistent in speaking through the voice of a 5 year old.   At the halfway point, however, the five year old voice began to get on my nerves.     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Borderline.

    The book was OK, easy to read and follow along. However, every character seemed to be so annoying!!! I can't tell if it is because of the point of view or just the story itself but i found myself getting really irritated at the book all the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    .

    A heart breaking reality. I have never read a book that was through the eyes of a child. Found it hard to read at times. I would not call this book amazing but its not awful either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Loves to read

    Ok book starts out slow not recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Get past the 1sr part & it gets good

    ,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Interesting.

    Different take on kidnapped victims. Unusual dialog.
    Better understanding of real situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    ?

    Im ten should i read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Interesting

    Wanted to read this one but the subject was of concern to me. However, it was interesting to imagine (and read the author's assumption of) what the sensory deprivation might have been like and the difference between knowing what you are missing and not knowing things exist outside of your room. It was an easy quick read. Not much depth to fill a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    so disturbing

    While applaud the depth of the characters, I was really bothered by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 455 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23