Customer Reviews for

Room Full of Mirrors: A Biography of Jimi Hendrix

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    So Helpful

    For my class project we had to write a 3 page paper on any subject, only using print rescources. Although I didn't buy this book, I checked it out at the JMRL library. This was book was so helpful and interesting I had a hard time making it only 3 pages. I learned so much about Jimi Hendrix that I really understand his music and have an even more compelling feeling to meet him. If you love music, books, biographys, great writing, interesting little nuggets about something, or Jimi Hendrix, you'll defenitely love this book. It's completely outrageously fantastic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    SUPERB HENDRIX BOOK!!

    My absolute favorite Hendrix book of all time. This book is so well written and interesting, that once I started reading it, I could not put it down. It was so full of new or corrected information on Jimi that I felt I was in the Hendrix 'inner circle'. I have read over 30 books on Jimi and I am certain that this is the best one. If I die famous, I hope that Charles Cross does my biography because I know that he will spend the time to get it right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    A amazing biography of Hendrix life

    This is a great book for anyone who's a fan of music or Jimi Hendrix. In this book you learn about many of the people that were in Jimi's life, as well as the places in Jimi's life. In the book you learn about his poor childhood to his rich adulthood. You will be able to know about his whole family, all of the bands he was in and his history of guitars. You'll also find out how he moved back and forth when he was a child, how he moved to join the military to how he went to England and after that went everywhere else.

    This is an amazing book that I just couldn't put down. Everybody should read this book even if there not into music because its still a very interesting book. Many of Hendrix biography's had been boring and full of rumors but no facts. In this book you will learn about the rumors and the facts all in one chapter. Anyone who reads it will more then likely instantly like it. This book was a great biography that had a lot of detail in it.
    Student at Hewitt-Trussville High School in Alabama

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    Room Full of Mirrors a revealing read

    I purchased this book for my son for Christmas who chose Hendrix to play when learning the guitar at age 15, the same age Jimi did. Now I know why he chose to play only Hendrix then. He is 29 now and just bought a Stratocaster (how coincidental). I finished reading it last night so I could wrap it and put it under the tree. I couldn't put this book down. It was well written with terrific insight into a legend who still keeps us wondering if he had lived, what creative and prophetic music would he be giving us today. An angel flying too close to the ground. Read this book and transform yourself back to the day when you too slept with your guitar. Because my son did, I know he is going to enjoy this book.<BR/><BR/>Thanks Charles R. Cross for a great read. Please do a follow-up book on the later music publishing of the Hendrix Experience following Jimi's death and combine it into a collective biography on all those remaining 60's American and British rock legends who are still living. I'm sure their individual music journeys would be additionally insightful to music lovers and offer a great Christmas read. No wonder we all love angels at Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    WOW!

    I think that a good book needs to grip you and of course you need to be interested in what you are reading. The biography of Jimi Hendrix, Room Full of Mirrors took hold of the way I am a fan of music. To know how Jimi went through so much and how dedicated he was it was really outstanding to learn. The book made me feel energized to go out and accomplish my goals. The book jumped around a little to much at least for me to understand because there were so many different characters it was hard to read in the beginning. Then I got into the later part of the book where it was about Jimi and that is where I couldn't put the book down. I think any book that makes you motivated to accomplish your dreams in life should be read. If you are a music fan and especially when it comes to the guitar or better yet the famous Jimi,I reccomend this book to you. You will not be let down, guarenteed. You have to have interest in the music though and the want to know how Jimi played like a magic man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    The complete account of Jimi Hendrix

    Room Full of mirrors: A Biography of Jimi Hendrix by Charles Cross gives a complete account into the life of Jimi Hendrix spanning from his childhood, early struggles as a musician, life in the army, drug usage, life as a world renowned superstar and death. The biography starts out with Jimi as a baby it describes the difficulties Jimi faced with his two dysfunctional parents Al and Lucille. Al rarely treated Jimi with love he was regularly drunk and abused Jimi at the drop of a hat. However Lucille was very nurturing and always made her love known to Jimi. Next, the biography highlights Jimi's early stages of playing guitar and being in a band. His first guitar had only one string, but Jimi managed figure out and play simple melodies using only his ear. After that, Jimi's experience in the army and struggles as a budding musician were depicted. During this time, Jimi had just got out of school and began honing his skills for a quest of pure musical expression. Then finally the biography delves into Jimi¿s superstardom and the events surrounding his untimely death. Throughout the biography, themes of perseverance and determination are very evident. For example when Jimi started out, he had a very long battle with finding work as a musician he constantly starved and went without basic necessities such as clothing that provided warmth and shoes that were worn past the soles in order to pursue a career as a professional musician. Cross highlighted how Jimi never gave up and never took no for an answer. I really enjoyed how Cross gave such a microscopic view of the life of Jimi Hendrix and made reading the biography a sensory experience. I felt that Cross poured his heart and soul into creating such a complete account of the life of Jimi Hendrix. His attention to the minutest of details sets this biography apart from other Hendrix biographies. However, I disliked the fact that some of the details Cross gave were reiterated multiple times where they did not have to be. I would recommend reading this biography because I feel that it gives an indisputably complete and unbiased view into the life of Jimi Hendrix. However more importantly, it is a real life account of someone who started out with nothing and created something so universal and monumental regardless of the numerous setbacks he faced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Clairebear

    I love jimi but i have to say i love led zeppelin more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book was great because it was short and it went in depth about Jimi Hendrix and his life. This book highlights the highs of overcoming poverty and becoming an immortal in the Rock and Roll industry and lows of his very short life. It was a quick read even though the book is a little over four-hundred pages since I like to play guitar since it was relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Awwwwwww A BIOGRAPHY OF JIMI HENDRIX!! &lt;3

    WOW, GREAT DETAILS, LOTS OF QUOTES, VERY EXPLAINED.. EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT JIMI HENDRIX. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A BOOK REGARDING TO JIMI, THIS IS THE GREATEST CHOICE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Room Full of Mirrors by Charles R. Cross , if you really like Jimi hendrix and want to find out infomation on him you should read this book. But if your not up for the read I dont think you should read this book.This book was good and entertaining but that may just be me because I think jimi hendrix was great and he could play good but this book was really good . On November 27, 1942 in seattle washingtong jimi hendrix was born, Ever since Jimi was a child he wanted to be a rock star but his father wouldnt let him allso in school his grades didnt cutt it he would bring home F's in everything. He lived with his aunt dolores his mother was a alcholic and his father was in the army thats why he would live with his aunt then his father came back from the army then jimi and his younger brother . Jimi and his father al and brother kept on moving places unable to keep a home Al stayed with one of his friends and then when jimi was 14 they got the news that his mother died jimi would allways go in his room and cry according to dolores when they had his mothers funeral they couldnt go and jimi asked why and the father said he didnt have enough money to go but said heres bus money and said you can go but jimi didnt want to and so this was the first time his father gave him alcohol but not the last .He was not altheltic also he played football but was the weakest. Jimi was derpressed from his mothers death for a while. Al bought jimi his first guitar and jimi had to re wire it to to right because he was left handed his friends and family said he would never put it down .He thought him self how to play the guitar but got some ideas from friends and how to play differnt notes. One day he got his guitar stolen and he played gigs and he played for a bang and i guess they put money for him and bought him a new guitar and for sure he wouldnt put this one down then he begain to ask kids around the block if they could teach him some new things then acouple of years later he became famous. Jimi needed glasses but never wrote them because he said he looked nerdy and things like that , that was some of the reasons of him crashin his cars and he was introduced to marijuana bye his band members be played with . Jimi had some conflicts on his way to fame first his mothers death then when he was in the army he had thought he was gay then he went to see a doctor and they said nothing was wrong so they shiped him home they say it was an excuse just to go home but we dont know . He also thought he would become good friends with other famous guitar artest and he did on September 18, 1970 Jimi hendrix died he drowned in his own vomet he was drunk and wanted to go to sleep bout couldnt so he took some sleeping pills but took to many so when he trew up he couldnt move like anyone else and he just drowned in his own vomet. I think this book was really good i give it thumbs up because it was interesting ive learned new things about him and how he grew up and how he grew up and what he had to deal with and some things where sad but seemed like he had a good life but yeah id you want to read a good book you should get this book it is very intertaining.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    The Actual Jimi Hendrix

    Room Full of Mirrors: A Biography of Jimi Hendrix by Charles R. Cross is a beautiful, detailed, and complete account of one of the greatest guitarist¿s of all time and answers much of the mystery surrounding his life. The book gives very detailed accounts throughout Jimi Hendrix¿s life, from his poverty stricken childhood, his problems and experiences with drugs, his struggles and triumphs to becoming one of music¿s greatest performers, and finally to his sudden, mysterious death. It begins with Jimi¿s poverty stricken childhood, with his dysfunctional parents trying to find work, many of his siblings given up for adoption because of birth defects and they could not support them. After his mother¿s death, Jimi was mostly taken care of by other family members, and on and off with his father. His musical side came around when he got his first guitar when he was fourteen that only had one string, trying to make as many sounds as possible and eventually got a real guitar trying to learn by watching others whenever he could. Later, after flunking out of high school, Jimi got involved with the law about a stolen car. This led into having to go into the army and after only little into his service time, he wanted out, and faked being a homosexual and was discharged. Out of the military, he pursued his musical interests and played in many bands, struggled for food and clothing, earing little or no money, and during this time found his style and fine tuned his skills as a guitar player. Then eventually depicts his life when he was discovered, taken and worshiped in Europe and eventually America with The Experience and all the other bands he ever was in. Then suddenly out of nowhere he died at the age of twenty seven from an overdose on sleeping pills and other substances. The story of the life that the biography depicts shows many instances of determination, with even Jimi¿s past of poverty, he was determined to make his living with music and after all his struggles with trying to become famous he eventually became one of its greatest performers and showing that with enough perseverance that anyone can do anything they set their mind to. Another theme present in his biography is his commitment to music and his perfectionism in making his music, and the energy he hade to do all the shows with the intensity that he presented to his audiences. There are many things that I liked about the book, mostly just how detailed it dwells into the life of one my and many others music idols. One of only the few things I didn¿t like about the book was just the sheer length of it and how detailed and much information was presented on some small incidents in the biography. I really enjoyed this biography about one of my greatest musical icons, and I think that people with a real desire and interest in older musical styles, and really want a extremely detailed and unbiased depiction of Jimi Hendrix should read this because it will be remembered by anyone who reads it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1