Customer Reviews for

Room One: A Mystery or Two

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A great mystery! I am a sixth grade student in Glendale, Az.

The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in...
The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in third grade. He listens to what people say and you don't have to say it more than once. There is a young boy named Ted who delivers papers and love mysteries. So, one day he was delivering papers and saw a young girl face in the old abandoned house window. Therefore he decides to stop and go see and doesn't find any body. Now everyday he leaves a few cans of food right inside and of course eats the food. Happily they became really good friends and then one day she is not there and everybody figures it out. The novel's setting was past and it theme is a mystery. I liked this story because I love freaky mysteries. I connected to the book very good. But I suggest that if you are going to you should be at least in third grade depending on your reading level and I loved this book!

posted by 2271175 on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good but apparently not too exciting

My nephew really likes the author, Andrew Clements, and he likes mysteries so I thought it would be a winner. For the first half of the book my 9 yr old nephew kept saying it was boring, but that he was going to stick with it. About 2/3 of the way through he started t...
My nephew really likes the author, Andrew Clements, and he likes mysteries so I thought it would be a winner. For the first half of the book my 9 yr old nephew kept saying it was boring, but that he was going to stick with it. About 2/3 of the way through he started to get more interested in the story, and ended up liking the book. Still it was not one of his favorites, and I doubt he would recommend it. He really enjoyed Clement's "No Talking".

posted by 4458078 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great mystery! I am a sixth grade student in Glendale, Az.

    The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in third grade. He listens to what people say and you don't have to say it more than once. There is a young boy named Ted who delivers papers and love mysteries. So, one day he was delivering papers and saw a young girl face in the old abandoned house window. Therefore he decides to stop and go see and doesn't find any body. Now everyday he leaves a few cans of food right inside and of course eats the food. Happily they became really good friends and then one day she is not there and everybody figures it out. The novel's setting was past and it theme is a mystery. I liked this story because I love freaky mysteries. I connected to the book very good. But I suggest that if you are going to you should be at least in third grade depending on your reading level and I loved this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    This book is amazing!!!!!

    This book was awesome, it was thrilling and suspenseful. I would recommend this book to any fifth grader!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Very Good Mystery!

    I really liked it! It is a great mystery to read on rainy days. My favorite part of the book was when Andrew Clements was explaining the one room school house and the Kids and teacher. This book is not boring it is very exciting!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Good but apparently not too exciting

    My nephew really likes the author, Andrew Clements, and he likes mysteries so I thought it would be a winner. For the first half of the book my 9 yr old nephew kept saying it was boring, but that he was going to stick with it. About 2/3 of the way through he started to get more interested in the story, and ended up liking the book. Still it was not one of his favorites, and I doubt he would recommend it. He really enjoyed Clement's "No Talking".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Room One

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Room One Andrew Clements
    Title of review: Room One book review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction-if you like a book with cliff hangers this is a good book.

    Description and summary of main points-Room one is about a boy, Ted, and a small town helping a homeless family. Ted tries to use detective skills to solve the mystery.

    Evaluation-I thought Ted was the best character. He tries to help a poor family. I thought the book was alright.

    Conclusion-I would recommend this book to people who like cliff hangers.
    Your final review I give this book Stars.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting

    andrew clements is one of my favorite authors and this book topped it all off starting from the beginning to the end it was just so interesting i didn't want to put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!!!!

    I love this book so much!!If you love mysteries then this book is great for you!It's about a boy who meets a family who is in need of a home.It's a really great book and once you read it you'll know what I mean!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Is Room One a Mystery or Not?

    Room one is about a family that lives in an abandoned house. The house is located in a small town in nebreska called Plattsford. The family consists of a mother and her son and daughter. The mom's name is Alexa Thayer the son's name is Artie, and the daughter's name is April. The Thayer family is hiding in the house because they are on the run from the mom's ex-boyfriend. The family has gone through some tough times after the childrens father died in Iraq. So they are hiding in the house until the rest of their family comes to get them to bring them to Colorado. In Nebraska they meet a boy named Ted Hammond. So Ted starts to help april and her family surive by bringing the family what they needed. But Ted can't keep bringing them what they need. So Ted set up a plan to help april and her family and he hopes it will work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Worst Book I Have Ever Read! (No joke)

    How can you even call this a mystery?! There are no clues and there isn't even a plot! It's sooo slow and I bet you there is not a single '!' in the whole book. Example: 'There was a face in the window. Oh no.' The boy wasn't the sharpest tool in the shed, and the ending was horrible and ruined the whole book (not that it wasn't already ruined). My theory is this: The author has written some OK books and then decided to try and write a mystery and ended up with something pretty lame. If you ever see this book in the library, discard it ASAP so no one will have to go through the misery and boredom of reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Pretty cool

    I like it. Was it the best Andrew Clements book? No. Is it still a good book? Yes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Em ko

    I hate his books and tvvyuyvrddsxrtyukkbfetu.kbrdtuo
    .uuycrtywzxghgfghzggdFghjgcvbjj

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Anwsering a question

    Yes it is a wonderful book and thats a good question i dont know how many pages there is in the book probly somewere in the hundreds....... bye

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    ANSWER NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!please?!!!!!!!

    How many pages are there and is it a good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Best book

    Do u like mysteries? If u do, read room one its the best Andrew clements is the best ever

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good book

    I liked the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Decent

    Pretty good, but it's VERY expensive 4 the level it's at though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Best Book

    This book is great! It involves things that actually happen in reality. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    moronic

    War propaganda for children. Do not buy this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Good Book,

    Room One was good, not GREAT. The book is good for 3-5th graders cuz it has a 5.1 reading level and has suitable font.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Bad Mystery Book to Read!

    Ted Hammond a 5th grade student believes that the Andersons home is haunted as the Andersons moved away and nobody is supposed to be living there. Ted wants to be a detective so that he can discover the mysteries of the haunted house. Through his expedition he meets April a big, tough, adventurous girl who lives in the mysterious house. The House is not what it seems to be. Instead of many adventures, the book talks a lot about a family in need. Not a lot of adventure as I expected to read. Most of the story was boring and not to imaginative. Not at all what I expected!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3