Customer Reviews for

Room One: A Mystery or Two

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A great mystery! I am a sixth grade student in Glendale, Az.

The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in...
The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in third grade. He listens to what people say and you don't have to say it more than once. There is a young boy named Ted who delivers papers and love mysteries. So, one day he was delivering papers and saw a young girl face in the old abandoned house window. Therefore he decides to stop and go see and doesn't find any body. Now everyday he leaves a few cans of food right inside and of course eats the food. Happily they became really good friends and then one day she is not there and everybody figures it out. The novel's setting was past and it theme is a mystery. I liked this story because I love freaky mysteries. I connected to the book very good. But I suggest that if you are going to you should be at least in third grade depending on your reading level and I loved this book!

posted by 2271175 on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good but apparently not too exciting

My nephew really likes the author, Andrew Clements, and he likes mysteries so I thought it would be a winner. For the first half of the book my 9 yr old nephew kept saying it was boring, but that he was going to stick with it. About 2/3 of the way through he started t...
My nephew really likes the author, Andrew Clements, and he likes mysteries so I thought it would be a winner. For the first half of the book my 9 yr old nephew kept saying it was boring, but that he was going to stick with it. About 2/3 of the way through he started to get more interested in the story, and ended up liking the book. Still it was not one of his favorites, and I doubt he would recommend it. He really enjoyed Clement's "No Talking".

posted by 4458078 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great mystery! I am a sixth grade student in Glendale, Az.

    The book Room One is an incredible book created by Andrew Clements and he is a great writer with excellent description. The main characters in this book are mostly just Ted and he is a young boy who delivers papers in the morning. He is a very diligent student who is in third grade. He listens to what people say and you don't have to say it more than once. There is a young boy named Ted who delivers papers and love mysteries. So, one day he was delivering papers and saw a young girl face in the old abandoned house window. Therefore he decides to stop and go see and doesn't find any body. Now everyday he leaves a few cans of food right inside and of course eats the food. Happily they became really good friends and then one day she is not there and everybody figures it out. The novel's setting was past and it theme is a mystery. I liked this story because I love freaky mysteries. I connected to the book very good. But I suggest that if you are going to you should be at least in third grade depending on your reading level and I loved this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Very Good Mystery!

    I really liked it! It is a great mystery to read on rainy days. My favorite part of the book was when Andrew Clements was explaining the one room school house and the Kids and teacher. This book is not boring it is very exciting!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Room One

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Room One Andrew Clements
    Title of review: Room One book review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction-if you like a book with cliff hangers this is a good book.

    Description and summary of main points-Room one is about a boy, Ted, and a small town helping a homeless family. Ted tries to use detective skills to solve the mystery.

    Evaluation-I thought Ted was the best character. He tries to help a poor family. I thought the book was alright.

    Conclusion-I would recommend this book to people who like cliff hangers.
    Your final review I give this book Stars.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    interesting

    andrew clements is one of my favorite authors and this book topped it all off starting from the beginning to the end it was just so interesting i didn't want to put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Is Room One a Mystery or Not?

    Room one is about a family that lives in an abandoned house. The house is located in a small town in nebreska called Plattsford. The family consists of a mother and her son and daughter. The mom's name is Alexa Thayer the son's name is Artie, and the daughter's name is April. The Thayer family is hiding in the house because they are on the run from the mom's ex-boyfriend. The family has gone through some tough times after the childrens father died in Iraq. So they are hiding in the house until the rest of their family comes to get them to bring them to Colorado. In Nebraska they meet a boy named Ted Hammond. So Ted starts to help april and her family surive by bringing the family what they needed. But Ted can't keep bringing them what they need. So Ted set up a plan to help april and her family and he hopes it will work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Pretty cool

    I like it. Was it the best Andrew Clements book? No. Is it still a good book? Yes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good book

    I liked the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Good Book,

    Room One was good, not GREAT. The book is good for 3-5th graders cuz it has a 5.1 reading level and has suitable font.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Do you like mystery books? Lf you do, then you should read Room One by Andrew Clements. It is one of the best mystery boos I have read. This book is about a boy named Ted Hammond who is a newspaper delivery boy for a small town. On day he found a girls face in a girl's face in a deserted house. He had never seen this face before and is now on a mission of finding out who that face is and what she is doing in a deserted house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was surprized that this is one of the best childrens books i have ever read i was a very exciting book .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1