Customer Reviews for

A Room of One's Own

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This is an extraordinary treatise on women and fiction. Woolf examines the subject closely, as if through a magnifying glass, and from so many angles. This covers history, the relationship between men and women, the psychology of the genders, and so much more. Whi...
This is an extraordinary treatise on women and fiction. Woolf examines the subject closely, as if through a magnifying glass, and from so many angles. This covers history, the relationship between men and women, the psychology of the genders, and so much more. While cool and critical on the surface, this seems to be seething with passion and fire underneath. The writing is exquisite, rich in imagery and symbolism. I read this in one day, but I would love to re-read this at a more leisurely pace sometime. I think that every woman who loves to read or who writes should read this!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Reason Behind Woman Inferiority

If you like an analytical book that is packed with ideas, then _A Room of One¿s Own_ by Virginia Woolf is the book for you. The style in this book is particularly unique. Incorporating words of her own with quotes of several famous authors of her day, Virgi...
If you like an analytical book that is packed with ideas, then _A Room of One¿s Own_ by Virginia Woolf is the book for you. The style in this book is particularly unique. Incorporating words of her own with quotes of several famous authors of her day, Virginia Woolf proceeds to explain what a woman needs in order to write well and purely. These include having a stable income and a quiet room of one¿s own. ¿Why did men drink wine and women water? Why was one sex so prosperous and the other so poor? What effect has poverty on fiction? What conditions are necessary for the creation of works of art?¿ These are only some of the questions that she tries to answer. Women, she explains, have been made inferior by men, so that men can feel superior. She points out that if Shakespeare had a gifted sister, Judith, she would never be given a chance by men or society to develop and display her talent just because she was a woman. The reader is stricken by the book¿s truth, and reminded of the social differentiation that is still present in society today. Woolf¿s thoughts wander and jump, as she strolls in the park or gazes though her window, but they still flow efficiently, giving the reader the feeling the he is following her, and she is sharing her thoughts face to face. Eventually her ideas, stories, and quotes fall smoothly in place, as she makes her ultimate point. The book reads like an essay, combining the stories of several female artists, both recognized and unrecognized in society, concluding that women are not inferior by birth, but rather by the discriminations of society.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    The Reason Behind Woman Inferiority

    If you like an analytical book that is packed with ideas, then _A Room of One¿s Own_ by Virginia Woolf is the book for you. The style in this book is particularly unique. Incorporating words of her own with quotes of several famous authors of her day, Virginia Woolf proceeds to explain what a woman needs in order to write well and purely. These include having a stable income and a quiet room of one¿s own. ¿Why did men drink wine and women water? Why was one sex so prosperous and the other so poor? What effect has poverty on fiction? What conditions are necessary for the creation of works of art?¿ These are only some of the questions that she tries to answer. Women, she explains, have been made inferior by men, so that men can feel superior. She points out that if Shakespeare had a gifted sister, Judith, she would never be given a chance by men or society to develop and display her talent just because she was a woman. The reader is stricken by the book¿s truth, and reminded of the social differentiation that is still present in society today. Woolf¿s thoughts wander and jump, as she strolls in the park or gazes though her window, but they still flow efficiently, giving the reader the feeling the he is following her, and she is sharing her thoughts face to face. Eventually her ideas, stories, and quotes fall smoothly in place, as she makes her ultimate point. The book reads like an essay, combining the stories of several female artists, both recognized and unrecognized in society, concluding that women are not inferior by birth, but rather by the discriminations of society.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    Amazing!

    This is an extraordinary treatise on women and fiction. Woolf examines the subject closely, as if through a magnifying glass, and from so many angles. This covers history, the relationship between men and women, the psychology of the genders, and so much more. While cool and critical on the surface, this seems to be seething with passion and fire underneath. The writing is exquisite, rich in imagery and symbolism. I read this in one day, but I would love to re-read this at a more leisurely pace sometime. I think that every woman who loves to read or who writes should read this!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Commentary on Women in Literature

    A Room of One's Own is Virginia Woolf's statement about the place of women in society during her lifetime. Imagine being invited to speak at an extremely prestigious university and then told you needed an escort to enter the library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    not real exciting but...

    I can concede that the theme of this essay is noble...but...the content is a bit boring and dry. I will say that Virginia Woolf had some poetic ideas! There are two main ideas that I particularly liked in this essay. The first being Shakespeare's Sister.<BR/><BR/>Woolf points out that if Shakespeare would have had a sister who was born with the same genius that is Shakespeare, she would not have been remembered because her artistry would have been allowed no outlet.....because she was a female.<BR/><BR/>The other point I took away from this essay ties in with Shakespeare's Sister. Women need "a room of one's own" and freedom from the worry of everyday living in order to write fiction. Woolf illustrates how these needs were not met throughout history for women. That is why there is no Shakespeare's Sister.<BR/><BR/>This essay is not the most exciting book I've read lately. But taken for what it is, Virginia Woolf does make her point heard

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    A fresh appeal to feminism

    This book is absolutely fabulous. Wolfe provides a fresh outlook on feminism. Her distinct word choice and use of metaphors and similes make for thought provoking reading. Her views on feminism are far from female idolization as she points out that women are far from being perfect while at the same time illustrating the demorilizing and unfair limitations put on women by society and by men as a whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Concept still relevant today

    I found it amazing that this book seemed to have been written yesterday in a sense. It had some very thought provoking statements and I feel like I should read it on a daily basis just to affirm its lessons. It made me wish I had a trustfund coming my way so I could know the luxury of life on one's own by their own means and could take my time to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A thought-provoking look at women and fiction on several levels

    Brilliant woman!!! This is the first thing I have read by Woolf and I was throughly impressed. Woolf had this subject suggested to her--to write about women and fiction. What she does is explore the subject throughly: women characters in fiction, women who write fiction, and why not many women wrote much at all throughout history. She explores her ideas as to why men wrote women in so many different lights (from saintly to inferior to evil) and why they wrote so much about them at all. In doing so, she examines sexism throughout the ages and in her own time period. I would have given this five stars but her style of writing became a bit laborious at times to read. I wish I could give her 4 and a half! But like I said: this is my first venture into reading Virginia Woolf and it will most definately NOT be my last!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Everything about this book is beautiful

    Impossible to describe; impossible not to read again. It's inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Not my thing

    I wanted to use this for a research paper thinking this would help a lot. It didn't. Sorry, not something I'd pick again. Wast of my money.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3