Customer Reviews for

Roots: The Saga of an American Family (30th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Account, truly an outstanding book

As a young girl I remember sitting in front of the television with my family to watch Roots when it had been made into a series. Over the years I have often wanted to read the book and find all the missing parts that the limited series had left out. I am so very glad ...
As a young girl I remember sitting in front of the television with my family to watch Roots when it had been made into a series. Over the years I have often wanted to read the book and find all the missing parts that the limited series had left out. I am so very glad that I did. The author took me to a time when human slavery was a common place, and allowed me to feel the attrocities that took place during that time. I felt the pain, love and courage of the people and was very glad to be transported to a era that has long been forgotten and should never be. If you would like to read a book that is a fantastic read as well as a eye opening experience, read this book.

posted by Star_Dreamer on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

'Rooting' Out Plagiarism and Fact from Fiction

Although Haley was obviously a great story-teller, it is important that readers understand that 'Roots' is just that -- a story. It is NOT history, it is not factual, it is fiction. This is all the more important because 'Roots' was originally published in '76 as 'non-...
Although Haley was obviously a great story-teller, it is important that readers understand that 'Roots' is just that -- a story. It is NOT history, it is not factual, it is fiction. This is all the more important because 'Roots' was originally published in '76 as 'non-fiction' - a very irresponsible editor's choice indeed. According to the Village Voice ('Alex Haley's Hoax' Feb. 23, 1993), 'Haley invented 200 years of family history.' Before his death, Haley admitted that he 'was just trying to give [his] people a myth to live by.' Even the little unspoiled village of Juffure where Kunta Kinte allegedly lived, was in actuality a thriving slave-trading post and its resident Africans themselves captured and sold other Africans into slavery. Not only was Haley guilty of 'genealogical creativity,' he was also a talented and admitted plagiarist. He copied copiously from a 1967 novel about slavery by Harold Courlander entitled 'The African,' as well as excerpts from 'Travels of Mungo Park' and 'The Story of Phillis Wheatley.' You decide, is a lie still a lie even when it's told with good intentions? And should we be concerned that yet another generation, 25 years later, will either read this book or watch an 8-hour TV mini-series thinking it is authentic historical drama?

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Wonderful

    To me people think he copied because he was successful with his work.insted of saying he copied just think how and why leave the man alone he wants to tell our generation how his was

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Known classic

    Amazing movie! Im for sure that the rest is just as amazing! Its in my waiting list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    A classic. Alex Hayley is an amazing writer.

    A classic. Alex Hayley is an amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Saw the movie

    Had to watch for school assignment it was sad how the slaves were treated it starred alot of great actors which are still alive roday like john amos etc i started to read the book but had to return it to the library i plan on buying for the nook then i can read thewhole story agreat reading assignment for all kidsit opens your eyes posted by REgina from nj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    IM READING IT

    Th book is realy good( i meen i just started and im on chapter 4):but its awsome; i didnt know it was fit for 11year olds and it good for 11year olds i recomend it to all u reading his post.it about an african boy who is called"kunta kinte"and he is taken to be a slave...if u like a good saga about a slave. read his book its a realy good peace of writing so far. I know it hard to know im a kid but i am... <----------- :-()

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Eye-opening and Fascinating read Eye-opening and fascinating read!

    LOVED every page of this nook book. Well worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Great book but missing entire pages

    I never realized how powerful this book was and I am enjoying it very much. The Nook version is missing entire pages at a time which is disappointing since Roots is one of the most absorbing books I have read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    High recommended

    I have loved this book since I was a teen some 20 years ago. Alex Haley wrote this book as an account of slavory. But it was so inspiring to see the strength of this family. Then I watched the series. Both were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I haven't finished it yet, but so far I think it's very good, & plan to pass it on to my friends. I saw the movie & it was very good too, although extremely sad in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Quality read

    I really enjoyed this book but the only downside is the long length.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book!

    After reading the book I watched the DVD. Both were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    roots

    the book is just as riveting as the movie.it brings to life the hardships faced by the black Americans so many years ago.following the lives of these people as they fight for their freedom shows us how strong one can be when they have to.they never let anyone or anything stop them from achieving what they wanted.i can't imagine being manhandled like these people were.everyone should read this book and find out how the black people have earned their rights in America.i believe that it should be required reading for high school students studying American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Roots the book u need ro read

    I am 12 years of age and read a lot of girly books but when it comes to this book it was the one. I love this book i would read it again and it was like watching the series of episidos. I liked it a lot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    My past

    Am 12i saw the movie roots at age 7 am lerning about my history and what my people has gone throw So i really think that an color person should anf needs th read this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    everyone should read this

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a must read for anybody intersted in reading American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    A Must-Read

    Heartbreaking, shocking, and brilliant. This book leaves its reader not only with a deeper understanding of the horrors of American chattel slavery, but with a "marrow-deep" appreciation for the power of family history. Taught me, touched me, and shook me to the core - an unforgettable book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Excellent Book!!!!!!!!

    Couldn't put the book down. Was using my daughters nook and she was getting annoyed with me using her nook caused me to have buy one for myself. Strongly suggest this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Among the Most Important Books That I Have Read

    I loved this book when I read it. It is a great story about the scourge of slavery in the United States told through the eyes and history of a particular family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What A Great Book!

    So far Roots is a great book.
    I suggest it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8