Customer Reviews for

The Roots of Obama's Rage

Average Rating 3.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

92 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Excellent - I highly recommend this to EVERYONE

I did not understand why Obama acts like he doesn't like America, makes promises to those in need then turns his back on them This book explains why he has done so many things that baffles many of us and why he continues to forge forward with very unpopular agendas. ...
I did not understand why Obama acts like he doesn't like America, makes promises to those in need then turns his back on them This book explains why he has done so many things that baffles many of us and why he continues to forge forward with very unpopular agendas. I did not vote for Obama as I am from Illinois and know the corruption that comes out of Chicago. But this is beyond Chicago. Obama's behavior can be explained by his beliefs rooted by his past. This is not difficult to figure out.

posted by HRABBIT on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

How can I put this... "YOU LIE"

ahhh there we go.

This book likes to note how obama is black every 4 sentences.
Its written very boringly and makes no sense.

But if your a republican who only listens to what you like to here go ahead and buy the horrible thing...
How can I put this... "YOU LIE"

ahhh there we go.

This book likes to note how obama is black every 4 sentences.
Its written very boringly and makes no sense.

But if your a republican who only listens to what you like to here go ahead and buy the horrible thing.

posted by Megan_w on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Excellent - I highly recommend this to EVERYONE

    I did not understand why Obama acts like he doesn't like America, makes promises to those in need then turns his back on them This book explains why he has done so many things that baffles many of us and why he continues to forge forward with very unpopular agendas. I did not vote for Obama as I am from Illinois and know the corruption that comes out of Chicago. But this is beyond Chicago. Obama's behavior can be explained by his beliefs rooted by his past. This is not difficult to figure out.

    92 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    what Obama-maniacs fear

    I am reading this book and find it insightful and thought provoking.

    What is most interesting for this particular book is no matter what reviews I read, the book either receives 5 stars or 1 star, yet nothing in-between, while Bob Woodward's book receives a normal range of reviews.

    In addition, to my knowledge, this book is so original that nothing else like it on this particular individual is available at this time, I believe that is why the fierce Obama defenders are so enraged. They do not approach this with a reader's open mind, their reviews are frighteningly reminiscent of Soviet style of repression of dissenting opinion.

    What is amazing about this president is how LITTLE we actually know of him. Dinesh D'Souza's careful research, including the photograph of Obama's impoverished half-brother for whom Dinesh states he initiated fund-raising to alleviate his poverty, for me is new material.

    Why did the media not vet this candidate? Why do we know so little of his political philosophy? Where does he wish to lead this country and why?

    I can only encourage those who WISH to THINK to read this book. Those who prefer to accept what I can only truly call "The Party Line" should not bother. I would also like to convey a sense of urgency, prior to the mid-terms, to read this book, then watch the President himself and his comments regarding the upcoming elections, and those private individuals he calls by name and maligns. If D'Souza is correct, and I do believe he is, this will help the reader "decode" what is actually going on, and why this president chooses to degrade and demonize the American way of life.

    79 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    NOW I Understand

    Now I understand, better, Obama. Now I understand why he hates America and how he used it to get where he is at. The Dems were wrong to cover it up. Obama was wrong to cover it up..but now I understand the "rage" agenda. I have to vote this man's "rage" out of office. No one gets anything done with grudges. It was a great audiobook and well versed in facts. I appreciated the insight.

    61 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Dinesh does it agian!!!

    Dinesh exposes Obama. Enough Said. Rather than labeling him as a right wing extremist, read the book and your eyes will be opened...

    54 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Well done!

    As a young student, I read Frantz Fanon, heard Kwame Nkrumah and Jawaharlal Nehru. I read about the Mau Mau. I studied Soviet involvement in the anticolonial movement from Lenin to Brezhnev - including their side-adventures in Africa via such institutions as Patrice Lumumba University in Moscow. During the 2008 campaign, I read both of Obama's books. I came to pretty much the same conclusion that D'Souza has. If one pays attention to Obama's own words, it is hard to reach a different conclusion. To do so one would have to know nothing about the political climate of the 1950's and 1960's that shaped his father, Barack Obama Sr. One would have to discount Obama's own claims that he finally found his identity as a Luo tribesman in Kenya. One would have to likewise dismiss his obvious and often-repeated preoccupation with the heroic father who deserted him. "Dreams From My Father" is a treasure-trove of keys to Obama's psyche. If nothing else, the return of the Churchill bust - a senseless slap in the face of an often-essential ally - lit up the landscape like a giant flare to anyone who knew anything about Obama's Kenya connection and about Churchill. The bust was a gift from the British people after 9/11 intended to evoke on behalf of the United States Churchill's spirit of undying resistance to Germany in World War II, but to Obama the bust represented merely the old bull of the British Empire that dominated Kenya during Obama Sr.'s lifetime. As a mindset, I suppose it is understandable, but would Americans knowingly put somebody whose head was in such a place into the Oval Office, let alone someone who could reasonably be demonstrated to have the reduction of American power and influence as a prime goal of his existence? D'Souza has done an excellent service by laying out the case so clearly and compellingly. His own position as a son of British India, gives him not only a unique insight but also considerable "street creds" on the issue. The only pertinent information that D'Souza has neglected is the extent to which President Obama has been and continues to be personally involved in the internal politics of Kenya. Obama actively supported - before, during, and after the 2008 presidential campaign -- his cousin. the Islamizing Raila Odinga, in his successful quest to be prime minister of Kenya. Subsequently he enlisted the Department of State to support Odinga's proposed sharia-friendly constitution for Kenya. He even sent Vice-president Joe Biden personally to Kenya to support the new Odinga constitution. It is a breath-taking admission of divided allegiances! It is not an invalid exercise to wonder whether Obama's ultimate loyalties lie with his mother's homeland or with his father's Kenya?

    38 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Hey pwillini84

    Hey pwillini84 - You give one star on a book you might not like when it comes out. What was it you liked best and the least in this book that has not yet been published? I give it 5 stars because I might like it, even though I haven't received it yet. Another good read by the same author is What's Great About America. I'm with you.

    30 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended, Highly

    As I began my journey through the pages of The Roots of Obama's Rage I was intrigued with the format of the book. Being inundated with facts I just assumed it would be one to bore one silly. How ever that was an incorrect assumption. I found a book so well written that one's interest was held in anticipation of the next chapter. As the information rolled out of this book, I came to better understanding of our President and His world views. Which explained His actions that have made many wonder why He did some of the things He has done? The presentation of facts was backed up with excellent research. I would recommend this material be read by all avid readers, and those who study the political arena.

    27 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Great book every American should read!

    This is a very easy read by a very bright guy. It is hard to doubt his analysis of Obama when he gives Obama's own words for his beliefs and actions. Very scary stuff for the president of the United States!

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    WOW! A book badly needed in these trying times

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible

    How can I put this... "YOU LIE"

    ahhh there we go.

    This book likes to note how obama is black every 4 sentences.
    Its written very boringly and makes no sense.

    But if your a republican who only listens to what you like to here go ahead and buy the horrible thing.

    21 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Highly Recommended - The Author has Obama Nailed!

    Highly Recommended - The Author has Obama Nailed! The author has really done a great job of research and documentation for this book. I believe he has completely diagnosed and explained what makes Obama think and behave in the way he does. Upon reading this book you will come to understand that America has made an awful mistake in electing Obama to Presidential office and he is unfit to be our president. Specifically, the man is angry, racist, and hates America. We must not allow this person to be re-elected!

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Recommend if you want to have a more logical view of the President

    You can take or leave the author's views because he not only gives you his conclusions but his unemotional rationale for why he has come to a conclusion. He makes is particularly interesting because of the similarity of his growing up to the President's. Which is quite different from a typical continental born American. Very easy read. I did it in one setting because I could not put it down.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lactified Trickster Pimp

    D'Souza describes three faces of Obama.

    I label these three faces as follows:

    "Lactified Trickster Pimp I," (LTP1,)
    "Lactified Trickster Pimp II," (LTP2,) and
    "Lactified Trickster Pimp III," (LTP3.)

    LTP1 uses "camouflage" (pp. 20, 179,) such as the way he pimps the loyalty of the descendents of American slaves, (pp. 7-8, 145) the lies he told at the 2004 DNC, (p. 19-20) a fake story from "Dreams From My Father," (pp. 9-10) and placing Lincoln's bust in place of Winston Churchill's. (Newsweek.)
    The Lincoln bust is also camouflage because it secretly symbolizes Kimathi and the KLFA (a.k.a. Mau Mau,) an emancipation movement. (pp. 113-116.)

    LTP2 is a bearded Marxist who constantly blames and demonizes GWB, overthrows banks and investment houses, rams through totalitarian control of healthcare, and seeks to decimate the American energy industry through judicial activism and EPA diktat - all against the popular will of the people, (pp. 19-20.)

    LTP3 is hiding in plain sight:
    The anti-Colonial in "Dreams From My Father," veiled beneath the Lincoln bust camouflage.


    D'Souza has critics and adequately responds to them.
    For example, see the forward to the second edition of "The End of Racism."

    Except, this time, he summarized the thesis for this book in a Forbes article, "How Obama Thinks," a month before its release, thus, drawing the fire of critics in advance.
    Now, perhaps, he will answer some of the critics in the first edition.

    Beside being one of my favorite authors and researchers, D'Souza is an amazing scholar with acute analytical skills and incisive interpretive vision.
    Hence, I give him Five Stars in advance.

    At the risk of preempting his responses to criticism thus far, here are some of my responses, even before the book is released.

    Critics say:
    D'Souza is complaining that Obama is funding Brazilian oil exploration while the oil stays in Brazil.
    But the funding was unanimously endorsed by the bank's five board members, none of whom were Obama appointees.

    My response:
    It is TARP money and Obama could stop or regulate it if he were really concerned about environmental impact.

    Critics say:
    If Obama is motivated to protect poor countries from being ruined by excessive American consumption, why is his economic agenda an attempt to boost consumption?

    My response:
    When critics level this complaint, they conveniently leave out the fact that debt is destroying our economy and compromising national security.
    They also forget to mention the schemes of Cloward and Pivens.

    Critics say:
    Obama propped up financial institutions and increased government oversight to make credit available for American businesses to grow their way out of the recession.

    My response:
    This is a risible complaint.
    Much of the TARP money was ultimately used overseas.
    While the intransient moratorium on drilling in the gulf is decimating American industry and pushing big oil abroad, (Mexico, Cuba and Chile,) Obama gives money to these countries to drill for their own consumption.
    Tax increases on small business stifle growth and push business abroad.
    While unemployment is 16.7% in the private sector, (including underemployment and hidden unemployment,) public union power and employment is on the rise, suffers no unemployment and pays members almost twice as much (in tax dollars) in earning and benefits than parallel private employment.

    C

    16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Check it out immediately!

    I was amazed, the writer filled-in many blank spaces for me. What D'Souze records coincided with other sources willing to write about Obama, the difference is the specific references the writer records in these few pages. One review suggests D'Souze makes reference to Obama's Race every few sentences, is pure policital balogna. Obama is an African both by haplo type and by the brainwashing he received from his white mother Stanley Ann and her white parents. Obviously, he is not an African-American and has never claimed to be; he is, however, a multi-racial African Socialist in every sense of the term. Obasma is a definate danger to America and must be removed from the office of POTUS ASAP. I highly recommend reading this book before November 3, 2010. God Bless America!

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Racist trash

    Racist garbage not worth reading. Not even worth one star

    15 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    This book is a MUST for all who are intrigued about Obama. Mr. D'Souza has done his homework. I was very cconfused about this president's motive but now everything Obama has done to date is clear. I thank you for putting all of it in a neat and understandable package. Dont know why no one lese has done this research. We are in deep trouble!

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    I would highly recommend you read this book and think about perspective.

    In the primary season I walked through the blowing cold snowy morning to vote for a centralist, bipartisan candidate. Shortly after that I begin to realize his language was very specific and misleading. So I began to try to figure out who he really was. I haven't felt any of the TV or Radio speakers really understood him. They had perceptions that were partially true, but their models fell short. Dinesh D'Souza present a case that really presents a much better case. I think you will be able to much better understand Barack Obama after reading this book. I think you will develop a fair perception. I spent nearly 3 decades in third world countries working often as a team of only 1 or 2 Americans. His perceptions seem to be very accurate at describing a very real view. I certainly would weigh very heavily this view of a man who tries very hard to conceal his true agendas. By the way I read Dreams from My Father and Audacity of Hope. After reading this they have a much clearer meaning.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Only the "true believers" will lend this work any credibility

    Following my reading of the book, my has to be that I have not seen anything that intellectually shallow or rancid with petulance and personal anger since reading Mein Kampf or books by Lenin and Mao Tse Tung (other absolutist thinkers). The first sixty pages, for those who recognize what they are reading, will note that it consists mostly of regurgitation of what others have said, including their interpretations.

    Given the authors past record, the contents of the book are no surprise to some of us. In this work, the individual remains in good standing in the "true believer" club.

    I do not know which disturbs me the most. Is it the intellectual shallowness of the author, or the fact that he has been placed in charge of an institution of supposed "higher learning" where he can influence the minds of students who are going to that institution for an education and not to be indoctrinated?

    He is undoubtedly part of that so-called "conservative" movement attempting to take over our educational system in order for them to turn them over to serve the needs of economic and financial forces, such that they can serve their needs. This is nothing new in human history. Every totalitarian or would-be totalitarian regim seeks to do the same thing. It is "Control the mind, and you control the individual."

    14 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    NOW I FINALLY UNDERSTAND THE "OBAMA AGENDA"

    This book is the most revealing exposure as to why he wants to destroy our country, our America. He wants to bring us down in order to pull up the rest of the world who can't or won't bother to try on their own, even with our help. This should be required reading for all those about to reach voting age. My daughter is reading it as I write. She thought Obama was cool; she lost that feeling about six months ago. Now, she will really know why, for sure.
    I pray Obama's congressional puppets will get a rude awakening shortly.

    TP'er

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    Helps answer my questions as to what motivates Obama

    This is a brilliant book. Well researched and insightful. Must reading for anyone who desires insight into Obama's motivation. He is one messed up dude. His mother was a whack job flower child who raised young Barry with a reverence for his absent father, who was and an alcoholic anticolonial socialist, with emphasis on anticolonial. We are now suffering from their bad parenting. Sad.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15