Customer Reviews for

The Roots of Obama's Rage

Average Rating 3.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

Excellent - I highly recommend this to EVERYONE

I did not understand why Obama acts like he doesn't like America, makes promises to those in need then turns his back on them This book explains why he has done so many things that baffles many of us and why he continues to forge forward with very unpopular agendas. ...
I did not understand why Obama acts like he doesn't like America, makes promises to those in need then turns his back on them This book explains why he has done so many things that baffles many of us and why he continues to forge forward with very unpopular agendas. I did not vote for Obama as I am from Illinois and know the corruption that comes out of Chicago. But this is beyond Chicago. Obama's behavior can be explained by his beliefs rooted by his past. This is not difficult to figure out.

posted by HRABBIT on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

How can I put this... "YOU LIE"

ahhh there we go.

This book likes to note how obama is black every 4 sentences.
Its written very boringly and makes no sense.

But if your a republican who only listens to what you like to here go ahead and buy the horrible thing...
How can I put this... "YOU LIE"

ahhh there we go.

This book likes to note how obama is black every 4 sentences.
Its written very boringly and makes no sense.

But if your a republican who only listens to what you like to here go ahead and buy the horrible thing.

posted by Megan_w on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Gives another view

    This was a very well written book that uses Obama's own words. I admit that I have not been impressed at all with our president's performance and have often been confused at choices he has made and things he has said. This made a lot of sense to me. Many of Obama's own words are used in this work which makes it a little hard to overlook.

    To those who blow it off as drivel and say that it is written for conservative, unintelligent people who will believe anything...I suggest you take a look in the mirror. While you may not agree with everything in the book, those who blow it off entirely simply cannot accept there might be another side to things and are afraid to see they might be wrong about something and thus show their own foolishness.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Hey Tampa Trib:

    Forbe's piece was hatchet job by author to get on right-wing book club. Suggest you buy two copies and stimulate the economy.

    10 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth reading by Republicans and Democrats.

    My review of "The roots of Obama's rage" By Dinesh D'Souza.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and finished it on my kindle in one day. The author is extremely knowledgeable about Obama, he is thoughtful and fair in his analysis. He writes well with a lot of listed references for backup. Some points he has made were outstanding, as well as enlightening, while a few I may differ on. Most of his criticisms about Obama as a President are views I agree with. Where I do not agree is when he psychoanalysis the psyche of the man. He is an author not a psychologist and some of his reasoning on why Obama is as he is I cannot agree with.
    To assume Obama's total ambition is to fulfill his Fathers dream is not plausible. As D'Souza himself writes the Father deserted Obama and his Mother before he was born and Obama only visited his Father once when he was older. There was little if NO relationship between them. D'Sousza also writes that Obama is NOT a socialist and only wants to change America from invading countries to colonize them. He claims Obama's Father was against colonization. D'Souza see's this as a huge danger for us the USA. Personally this is where I do not agree. I do not see him as a danger in any way. In America we have checks and balances to protect us, however I cannot see him being elected for another term. This was a book worth reading by all Republicans and Democrats alike. D'Souza is a Conservative Republican with a great mind.
    Anne Lebrecht

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Eye-Opening! Thought-provoking! A good read.

    Mr. D'Souza has written a remarkable peice in The Roots of Obama's Rage. Dinesh takes us through the life of young "Barry" Obama and his journey to discover the roots of his own life. Taking us to Kenya, the land of his father, and enlightening us on the Anti-Colonial mindset of BHO FROM his father.

    Do you know who Barack Hussein Obama is? I didn't either....before this book.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Ignorant people will believe anything

    Silly drivel, written for the mindless as evidenced by the coments. I see people have selective memory such as TARP coming out of the Obama Administration. If one can "inherit" rage from someone they didn't even know it's too bad they can't inherit common sense. Reading this made me even more certain that the America as it has been portrayed is simply a farce. Barack Obama doesn't hate America, but the treatment of him by his fellow citizens is making many of us wonder why not. Since his election I have ceased to identify myself as a citizen as I cannot bare the idea of being internationally linked with the small percentage of small minds. I'm so looking forward to seeing what the next President does to this place, may it be Bush 2 to the max, finishing this story once and for all. "never attribute to malice that which can easily be explained by stupidity" should be this country's motto, no wonder we lag behind every developed nation in everything except prison population.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Hit the nail on the head!

    Never before have I read such a "right on" book. D'souza nails it with his description of President Barack Obama. Unbelievable! Couldn't put the book down!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Obama haters will love it; objective readers will probably not be impressed.

    While D'Souza clearly did some research to write his personal and opinionated conclusion of Obama and his beliefs, motivations and objectives, I believe he has done little to enlighten readers. After reading this book and reviewing the list of books D'Souza has also written, I am left with the opinion the author's writing focus may be more on quantity than quality.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    lies

    only uneducated bigets would believe this crap. wish there was a -100 for stars.

    6 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Lacks insight

    nothing but conjecture

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    dinesh d'sousa is my favorite writteran did a wonderful job putting fthis book together.

    dinesh d'sousa loves the united states of america and he deeply cares about the direction that our country is heading. and whom is trying to lead. d'sousa knowes about the colonial system much more than obama becaause he lived in the tail ennd of the british rule in india. d'souza was raises a roman catholic and became a citizen of the united states and he takes both to heart. d'souza buts a lot of heart. and research in this book. i would recommend this book every american to understand what we have in the white house and the socialist agenda that he has th usa on. excellent read, graceson j. brotzman

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Surprised me--actually a pretty good book!

    Assumptions/conclusions are well documented...easy to see how Obama comes to many of his ideological positions. Guess it's still true...show me your friends and I can tell who you are. Too bad not enough people paid attention in 2008.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Don't Waste Your Time

    More absurd conjecture from another ideologue. If you live in the world where all of our problems began in January, 2009 you will surely embrace the conspiracy. If you live with the rest of us you won't. Same old palaver. Same old dog whistle messages to arouse fear and hate.

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    read it and i feel more ignorant

    As i read the beginning of this book in the store, I found it so little about truth a laughed at such skepticism found here. This book is the root of his rage. Such slander and propaganda would only strengthen the hatred ignorant people have toward the president.
    This book reminds of me of the tabloids: full of lies and rumors made by "unamed sources" and the stray picture twisted and manipulated. The picture painted by this book is just like those in those asinine magazines millions read.

    6 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Baseless

    A fabrication written By someone who knows how to make money by constructing sensational fiction.

    6 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    This is pure garbage. Plain and simple. It's sad that there is s

    This is pure garbage. Plain and simple. It's sad that there is so much hate towards this man. When Bill Clinton was our President, there was nowhere near the hate. When George Bush Sr or Jr was President, there wasn't pure hate. It's because this man is african-american. People can't stand it and don't know what else to do except write a book of filth. If I could give this book zero stars I would.

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Trash

    Conjecture and 'facts' made out of thin air. This is simply racist pap.

    5 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Don't trust glen beck

    glen beck has a twisted mind, in fact, he doesn't believe in global warming! I am amazed that people acrualy believe that man an trust him when he says to read this book. Obama seems to be the adult in the mess of youth.

    4 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Pure trash

    Junk.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Writing lacks credibility

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    good for partisanship

    this book was highly recommended by an acquaintance. had a couple of hours so headed over to the local b&n. as noted by many here, it was a quick read.

    what i'd taken away is that this author seemed more angry than the president about whom he is writing. his writing speaks of tired right wing ideology and slant as such.

    if you are conservative and have a visceral dislike of our president, you will love this book -- it will be like candy or red meat.

    if you are liberal or someone who desires to read something truthful, you just feel unsatisfied and disgusted.

    i'd done a bit of internet searching about the author and found him conservative -- this means nothing to me in an of itself, but during these days of political polarization, i know there is nothing in the middle about this author's message...

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15