Customer Reviews for

Rope Enough: The Romney and Marsh Files #1

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great read! I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  The story

Great read! I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  The story moved along, the pieces fit together, and although I figured out the suspect, there was still enough twists and turns to keep me going until the end.   Looking forward to books two and three and possibly mo...
Great read! I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  The story moved along, the pieces fit together, and although I figured out the suspect, there was still enough twists and turns to keep me going until the end.   Looking forward to books two and three and possibly more.

posted by Love2readTAM on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent story

This was a pretty decent story, however it was written by someone from the UK so there was a bit of a difference for me in understanding the terms used. But otherwise it was a pretty good story.

posted by clatterbuck9906 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Great read! I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  The story

    Great read! I was pleasantly surprised by this book.  The story moved along, the pieces fit together, and although I figured out the suspect, there was still enough twists and turns to keep me going until the end.   Looking forward to books two and three and possibly more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    A Good Read

    This is a great detective story. The British team of Romney and Marsh make an engaging crime fighting duo based in Dover, England. There were a few editorial errors therefore the four stars.

    Character development was good. The crusty veteran cop, Romney and the youngish female Marsh.

    Anxious to read the author's other works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    First of (Hopefully) Many

    An interesting pair of sleuths, in a very intricate plot that is well-developed and spell-binding. The story keeps you intrigued, as does the development of each character in the book. I look forward to reading of further exploits of Detective Inspector Romney (no relation to Mitt, I take it?) and Sergeant Marsh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great book!

    I love English mysteries and this one did not disappoint. Good characters and story line. I've got the next two and also enjoyed them. The characters develop nicely through the series. More please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Decent story

    This was a pretty decent story, however it was written by someone from the UK so there was a bit of a difference for me in understanding the terms used. But otherwise it was a pretty good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Good story

    Good mystery. I figured out who did it, but just then the police did, too, and there were some good twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    All right

    I was enjoying this book and the characters until I read 'Romney's' opinion of aging women. I put the book down for a couple of days and surprised even myself to finish it. I thought the author was insultive for no apparent reason or connection to his story, it served no purpose what so ever other than to alienate women 40 and over. I did like the cover, and had I judged this book by it's cover, I would have rated it much higher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Worth reading

    Very interesting if you enjoy police detective stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Excellent book

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. It was well written and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Liked it a whole lot!

    Nice to find how other-than-American detectives go about their business. The plot got a bit thin at the end, but the characters held my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great job

    Looking forward to the next book in the series. This is a surprisingly well-written free book.

    Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Recommended

    Good enough to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Excellent read

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Depressing and ugly

    Horribly depressing and ugly, it reminds us that England and its culture and society have long become a dystopia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    ROPE

    This was a well written book! It kept my attention and enjoyment of reading a fine mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Good Reading

    Interesting and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    A well crafted story

    The characters are believable and I was impressed the author did everything himself--good job! Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    very good story

    Really well done, the story hung together & maintained interest all the way to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Kentucky41

    Good plot. Kept me guessing. Will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3