Customer Reviews for

The Ropemaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    This book was absolutely terrible. I will say it is well written

    This book was absolutely terrible. I will say it is well written and shows the personalities of the characters well, but the plot is just not interesting. This book was meant for young adults, and I had to read it for school when I was 12. It made the month or two when I had to sue this book for English miserable. I was in advanced English in 7th grade, so reading difficult text happened to us all the time. However, with this book specifically, I ended up getting terrible grades on projects for this book because I couldn't get through reading it. I would read just the first 2 paragraphs and want to throw it way. By far the worst book I have ever had the displeasure of reading, and I would recommend it to anyone who would wish to take out any fun in their every day lives. I pity anyone who has to read this book for school or any other purposes, and if I were the publisher for this book I would have not even considered bringing it out into the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    A Good Book!

    I really enjoyed the book. It really makes you think about time and its mysteries. It's definitely a page turner and I can't wait to read more of Peter Dickonson's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Time Is A Great Rope

    We (a fantasy book club) give this book five stars. We loved the charecters especially Meena, who acts grumpy but has a sense of humor and good advice. This has a really complex plot that will keep you wondering what is going to happen and who is the real villian. We loved the descriptions and quotes like 'time is a great rope'. Although one should not judge a book by the cover, the illustration is a great addition to the novel. The beginning is a bit slow but definetly worth it for individual readers and book clubs alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    This is soo cool!

    This book is one of the best I have read and you should definately read it!! You can't put this book down, everyone was frustrated with me because I was reading 'The Ropemaker' and I wasn't listening to them talk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    This book is fantastic!

    this book is one of the best new fictions i've read in a long while. it's about tilja, an un-gifted girl from a gifted family. one thing after another happens, and she learns that she's not so un-gifted after all, and she meets all kinds of people, good and evil. this book has some lord of the rings-ian elements, and has plenty of the magic, danger, mystery, and excitement all good books demand. i reccomend it for any and all fantasy lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Peter dickinson is truly a genius

    Peter writes fiction like no one else. He brings this book to life and makes you feel like you are really there. If you love magic mystery and stories that are full of hope read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    A fantastic book, but a bit slow at times!

    Ropemaker is one of those special books that, like Harry Potter and King Fortis the Brave, grabs ahold of you and doesn't let you put it down until you are finished. And even then it leaves you wishing for more. Unlike Potter and Fortis, there are a couple of parts where Ropemaker drags, but if you force your way through them you will be rewarded with a book that is very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Fantastically Fantastic Fantasy

    Outstanding story! It has a complex plot, great characters that any reader can connect with, and interesting settings... It has a frequent usage of vivid verbs and awesome adjectives! It is very suspenseful and I highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    A book that made me not want to stop reading

    A book that made me not want to stop reading! *****I rate my book, The Ropemaker, five stars because so far it is the best fantasy book I have ever read. The main character of my book is a girl named Tilja Uraslaughter. Some of the other people in my book that help Tilja on her journey are Alnor, Tahl, Meena and Faheel, the ring holder. The Valley, which the magic is in to protect the people and creatures, runs out and everyone fights to get the powerful ring. On the way Tilja meets smart and interesting creatures that teach her how to control magic that is trying to hurt her and destroy her Valley. I liked this book because it goes way beyond the real world and how we do thing into a world that displays magic and powerful people. I also liked this book because it is very adventurous and good for all ages as long as you can read hard words. I disliked this book because it had a lot of characters that made it harder to understand what the book was trying to say. I also disliked that it was so long because it was interesting, but it got boring and made me want to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Outstanding

    The Ropemaker is an outstanding book. I am not yet finished reading it, but I believe that it is the best book that I have read so far this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Great!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! It was soooo interesting... I have never read anything like it. I just wish Mr. Dickinson would make a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    The Ropemaker

    The Ropemaker is a very interesting book with magic in. i like fantasy books and this is a very good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    WOW

    This book is really interesting. I love fantasy books and this book is just wonderful!! This book just sucks you in and wont let go of you. It isn't like other books that go through pages of descriptions the adventure starts at the very beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2