Customer Reviews for

The Rosary Girls (Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Whoa! What an exciting thriller.

    Highly recommend this book if you are a fan of police crime thrillers. Great story with interesting characters. I thought I had it figured out a number of times, but nope, not until the end. Even then I was wrong!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Great read

    I do a lot of reading and when I picked up this book, I thought 'more of the same in this genre'. Wow! was I wrong. This was a fast paced, twisted ,suspenseful thriller. You really don't know 'who done it?' until the last few pages, though there are many twists and turns up until then. If you are looking for a great read in this milieu this is it. And besides all of that you learn something of the rituals of the rosary and coincidently you travel the mean streets of Philadelphia

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    One of the Finest Novels I've Read

    THE ROSARY GIRLS is one of the finest novels I have ever read. It is fast paced and filled with page after page of seat-edged suspense. The book is difficult to put down and will keep you awake long into the night. The characters are extremely well drawn. Even the secondary characters have substance and depth. The dialogue is smooth and realistic, never stilted or boring. The first thing you will want to do when you finish this novel is read another of Richard Montanari¿s novels. Unfortunately, his previous novels are not readily available. The best thing this author¿s agent/publisher could do would be to reissue his backlist. It would be an act of kindness to all of us who favor the suspense or mystery genre. This author should be encouraged to write, write and then write some more. Fans of James Patterson, John Grisham, Sue Grafton, Michael Connelly, Mary Higgins Clark, Nelson DeMille and John Lescroart will add Richard Montanari to their list of favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Fabilous read

    This was gripping. Hard to put down at night. Highly recommended read. Will see what else has been written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Not a nonfiction book on using the rosary to pray

    crappy book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Fascinating story

    I picked this book up in the afternoon & did not want to put it down until I was done! I found the story complex and I kept guessing 'who did it' - I read a lot of mysteries and this is the first one is a while that totally hooked me in. I really enjoyed this book because other than the mystery I felt the characters were being developed as opposed to being two dimensional. Also the topic of young girls being murdered isn't exactly pleasant, but the author didn't go into gory details with the murders. I find alot of newer mystery writers try to go all CSI with how the bodies are found and what exactly were done to them. This book did discuss those topics but not ad nauseum like some others do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    This was my first book by this author. It will not be my last! Great thriller that had me on the edge of my seat and kept me guessing until the end. Looking forward to Kevin & Jessica's next case!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic...

    The Rosary Girls is very engaging and addicting. I enjoyed the characters in this book because they aren't portrayed as perfect, they are real people with their own flaws. Philadelphia provided an interesting setting for this mystery/thriller. The sadistic killer was demented, which is made obvious from the gruesome details in the book. Richard Montanari is an author that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys dark and gritty suspenseful thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    fabulous fast read!

    got this book from an equally addicted mystery reading friend and agree with her strong reccommendation! great plot lines, interesting characters and scary without being over the top!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    What a Great Read

    This truely is a great book. It keeps you guessing till the last page. Was hard to put down. Was one of those books that you couldn't wait for the end so you found out who was doing the killings, then when you have finished the book you missed the characters. The good news is Mr. Montanari has written a follow up book (The Skin Gods) with the same detectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Keeps you guessing

    This is an excellent read. Make sure you have time to read because this will keep you up all night wanting to read the next page. It will keep you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    A page turner

    This was the kind of book that you start reading and just can't wait until you get to the next page. Everyone is a suspect and it keeps you guessing to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    An Excellent Thriller

    This book was my first read of a Montanari novel and I couldn't put the book down until I finished the last page, which is a first for me! I have read all the best of the mystery/thriller writers from Crais, Connelly, Crichton, DeMille, Deaver, Flynn, North Patterson, Fulsome, W.E.B. Griffin,and so on and so forth. Although, I don't necessarily read a book because it's on the NYT bestseller list since that list is not necessarily accurate in it's judgement of what a great mystery read is For example; Richard definately belongs on the NYT bestseller list so how come he isn't on it?. I pride myself on being quite discriminate in my choice of excellent mystery novels and Mr. Montanari's 'The Rosary Girls' is certainly that. I am going to pick up the rest of his past mysteries and hope they are of equal quality. Of course, I wait with bated breath for another novel containing his characters Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano. I would venture to say, I have had a marvelous time turning the pages and holding my breath at the same time Bravo Mr. Montanari...you have a great talent and those of us who appreciate a good mystery salute you !!! .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A chilling thriller

    Philadelphia detective Kevin Byrne, a twenty year veteran, works in the homicide unit. He has a phenomenal success rate of clearing his cases but his methods make him a maverick who adheres to the letter of the law but not its spirit. Detective Jessica Balzano is assigned to the homicide unit with Byrne as her partner; he accepts her as an equal............................... Their first case is the murder of a teenage high school girl who is found in an abandoned house. Her hands are bolted together by someone using a drill. Her vagina is stitched up and a cross in blue chalk is on her forehead. The perpetrator left no other evidence behind. Two more teens are found dead in the same way, all three having attended a Catholic high school. They finally figure out that the killer is reenacting the five sorrowful mysteries of the rosary which means he intends to kill at least two more girls before he is finished. Byrne and Jessica work overtime trying to get one step ahead of him, not realizing that for his finale he has very special plans for Jessica and her daughter....................... Anyone who has not read a Richard Montanari thriller is missing something very special. THE ROSARY GIRLS is told in the third person from the police working the crime and the first person point of view of the killer. This is a book that is very exciting with several red herrings to force the reader (and the police) down the wrong path so that the audience will need to finish it in one sitting so they can find out who the killer is. Hopefully there will be future books starring Byrne and Jessica............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Rosary Girls - a Philadelphia Crime novel

    I'll admit I am partial to crime/mystery/legal novels that take place in my home town. William Lashner and Lisa Scottoline always seem to end up on my reading list somehow. Now, Cleveland native Richard Montonari has begun a series based on a duo of Philadelphia-based cops that freely combines both actual and fictional venues based in the City of Brotherly Love. Part of the fun is deducing the real places or institutions he cleverly masks. I got a preview of Rosary Girls recently, and was glued to a cover-to-cover read. Obviously, Mr. Montanari has a few cheesesteaks under his belt, as he has captured the flavor of a huge city with disparate neighborhoods and cultures. Our cops have a reputation for sometimes administering 'street justice', but even those of us with liberal leanings feel a little safer for it. Beyond the venue, however, this is a gritty, twisted tale with abrupt turns of plot, and characters you may alternately love, hate, admire and be repulsed by. Montanari's books are not for the squeamish, as the grisly details of his evil-doers' deeds could easily make a hoagie come straight back up. Despite the wild ride, he manages to wind up with a satisfying, if not necessarily happy ending, just when all is given up for lost. Regardless of your home town, Richard Montanari is a mystery writer who will doubtless join the top ranks. Even though reading him can be a disturbing, nightmare-inducing practice, once you are hooked, you'll be anxiously awaiting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2