Customer Reviews for

The Rose Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing and Believable

The Rose Garden is a beautiful love story in intermittent time travel that could be confusing if you don’t pay attention. There is wonderful introspection living Eva's disquieting confusion and terror as she fades in and out of a past that many dangers lurk. I love how ...
The Rose Garden is a beautiful love story in intermittent time travel that could be confusing if you don’t pay attention. There is wonderful introspection living Eva's disquieting confusion and terror as she fades in and out of a past that many dangers lurk. I love how Kearsley knows how to convey strong emotions and love without a display of acrobatics in the bedroom. I enjoyed witnessing the relationship grow between Eva and Daniel who were such lovable characters. The believable time travel, vivid detailed descriptions, lovely romance and mystery provided quite an intriguing story.

posted by E_M_13423 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I could not get past half way through the book. I just wasn't in

I could not get past half way through the book. I just wasn't interested any more. Nothing much happens. It just got boring after about a third of the book had been read. The writing style is good, but that's about it.

posted by 10576137 on December 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Breathtaking!

    Susanna Kearsley has written a beautiful novel that combines history, romance and just a touch of the supernatural. The characters come to life and leave you unable to put the story down. Definitely a much lighter read than Gabaldon's time travel novels; however, the plot is still well developed and the romance is not over the top. A great book for a rainy afternoon.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Very Enjoyable!

    Very interesting take on Time Travel; I liked it. Have read both of her books available on Nook. Like others, I enjoy the escape that historical fiction provides and this author doesn't disapoint.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Nice read

    I liked the contrast of a woman's life in modern times and old-we take so much for granted these days. I also liked that the story didn' t follow the tired old storyline of "he loves me, he loves me not". These two were in love and they knew it.

    The ending was a little confusing.

    I would like to read a follow up book about her life after this book ends and what the village was like in the old days...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Lmm.april


    This was a wonderful read. Very well written. Really did not want it to end. This is one writer I will look for in the future.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    The story takes a few chapters to get into, but once I did couldn't put it down. I'm in love with Daniel too !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Give it time

    Slow to start but turned out to be a good read




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I have read 2 books by this author and I just love her!! She is creative in a way that just keeps you mesmerized!! I highly recommend both of her books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Good book

    Just finished The Rise Garden, I liked it. A lot. Very similar to winter sea. Def not as goods as Winter Sea but still good enough to be worth the read and the $. Can't go wrong with this author as far as I am concerned.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I first read The Winter Sea and just loved it. I waited for The Rose Garden hoping it would be in Nook form and it was! I really enjoyed this book also. Kearsley's books are nice to escape with. Please issue more of her books in Nook form. I would read them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Good book by a good author

    I enjoy Susanna Kearsley's novels. Although not my favorite, this one kept my attention and was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Bbhjjj

    Ghjk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Good Read

    This was an interesting read with a good story - I would like to find a follow up as it left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Beautifully written

    I took a bit to really get into it. As others have mentioned, you have to pay attention. A couple of unexpected twists along the way were delightful. More than once I had to go back to see what I missed. In some books this is annoying, but here it like looking for the missing jigsaw edge piece. I bought the ebook but would buy it in hard back - I will reread this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Very Enjoyable Read!

    I became so engrossed in this story, I couldn't put it down. I would have given it five stars if it had just one more chapter at the end. I needed more 1700s closure. I also recommend Winter Sea and Marianna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Engaging time travel romance

    Enjoyable book, worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Well worth the time and I must read more from her.

    Very interesting plot, a real page turner, but with a bit more substance to it. Informative and truly entertaining.I have a new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good story

    I agree w/ previous review ~ a good story but not as good as Winter Sea. I will continue to read other works by this writer. History lessons are enjoyable when combined w/ a fictional tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    good book

    Good story but not as good as the Winter Sea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Very good book-

    Story line keeps you interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6