Customer Reviews for

Rose Harbor in Bloom (Rose Harbor Series #2) (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

i cannot seem to get this to come up on my nook library to read

i cannot seem to get this to come up on my nook library to read im dying to read this as i love her stories

posted by 7801223 on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

i can't get it to open up on my nook it just kepts saying preord

i can't get it to open up on my nook it just kepts saying preorder

posted by 4325046 on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    i cannot seem to get this to come up on my nook library to read

    i cannot seem to get this to come up on my nook library to read im dying to read this as i love her stories

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    4 STARS I have enjoyed both books in the Rose Harbor series. P

    4 STARS

    I have enjoyed both books in the Rose Harbor series. Parts of this story touched me more than others. I also laughed at some scenes. One scene where the 13 year old girls enjoyed the twirling dancing was a scene I saw last sat. The difference was a 11 year old asked a 24 guy to dance with her too. Debbie Macomber writes real scenes, tells stories with heart that connect us together. It is also a clean enjoyable read.

    In the Rose Harbor series Jo Marie Rose has bought a room and board inn across the water from Seattle in the town of Cedar Fort. She bought it after her husband died in a helicopter crash. She feels it is a place where she can heal. She has been making repairs and changes slowly. Her next project is a rose garden.

    Mark has been doing some work for her. He is starting to tear up the lawn for it. When he has an accident. Mark is not a happy camper and neither is Jo Marie. She hoped to have it in before her open house.

    Also in Jo Marie's personal life she hears from her late husband commander that they can now go in and retrieve the bodies. They could not do that when it went town last year. She has a few more phone calls from him and some other news that's hard to receive too.

    Annie has been planning her grandparents 50th wedding celebration. She has been planning it and staying busy while she heals from her broken engagement. Her grandparents are also going to stay at Rose Harbor with her. Also their neighbor Oliver who is driving them up. Oliver used to drive her crazy when she stayed to visit in the summer. She is not happy that he will be staying close by her.

    Mary Smith is staying for a few days on personal business. Mary is living back east and her doctor is not happy about her travel plans. She has stage 3 cancer and just got done with chemo. She is really frail right now. She wants to take care of things in case she doesn't win the fight. She needs to apologize to the man she left behind and tell him some secrets she hid from him.

    Annie's grandparents are fighting all the time she is afraid their marriage won't last through the party and renewing their vows.

    These story lines are woven into each other so well you don't want to put them down. You also get a little updates on two couples that had stayed at the bed and breakfast in earlier books. It also makes me want to come back and see whats going on in Mary Jo's life now. It is amazing how fast these stories take place because they are staying such short times at Rose Harbor Inn.
    I cried and laughed and am left with a smile as I think of all the characters I just met. Of course one of the heroes of the story is Rover who saves the day. He is a smart dog.

    I was given this ebook and asked to give honest review of it in exchange by Netgalley.
    08/13/2013 PUB.Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine books ISBN: 9780345528933

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I absolutely adore Debbie Macomber¿s books. It doesn¿t matter wh

    I absolutely adore Debbie Macomber’s books. It doesn’t matter where they are set, her books always manage to make me feel like I am coming home after a long journey as well as keep me highly entertained till the very end. In her amazing sequel to The Inn at Rose Harbor, we see what Bed and Breakfast owner Jo Marie Rose is up to, plus we learn about her new guests-each with a story and journey of their own. The author handles the many different characters with wonderful poise and the reader is drawn into the world that is Cedar Cove. I got to admit, I was thrilled to hear this author was returning to her magical Cedar Cove again in this new series yet was centered on different area of the town. The many characters in the Cedar Cove series drop in and I loved catching up with them.




    Meet Jo Marie’s Guests this time around. First we have Annie Newton who is organizing and throwing her grandparents a fiftieth wedding anniversary party along with a renewal of vows for friends and family. The path to the party is not smooth to say the least. A rejected ex is determined to get her back, her childhood nemesis is determined to shake her world up even more and her grandparents can not stop bickering. Needless to say poor Annie is stressed to the max. Then there is Mary Smith. Once a high powered businesswoman, being diagnosed with Stage Three breast cancer has left her reeling. She regrets leaving the one man she has loved deeply for her career but will she take that step to reconnect with him before the weekend is over? I love, love, love Ms. Macomber’s characters. They are very well written, have faults and more to appeal to the reader and you get a sense of who these characters are deep inside. They fairly leap off the pages and I was glued to the e-reader, flipping pages eagerly, as I raced to see what happened next for all these magical characters.




    A ROSE HARBOR IN BLOOM is a wonderful addition to the Cedar Cove series as well as a stand alone novel. Ms. Macomber delivers an emotional yet wonderful read that leaves you smiling in the end. The characters are multi-dimensional, the writing is tight and story flows so smoothly, I was lost within the pages in a matter of minutes. Compassion and joy await all who come to Cedar Cove and stay at the Inn, not just for Jo Marie but also for her guests. I can’t wait to see where this author goes next in the series. I just hope I am not waiting a long time for the next installment of the Rose Harbor Series.




    If you enjoy emotional, character rich storylines then you need to run-don’t walk-to grab this new book by Debbie Macomber. I can attest that whenever you pick up a book of hers, you feel like you are coming home after being away a long time. This is a perfect summer read on a lazy afternoon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I love that it is written in Cedar Cove, so some of the people w

    I love that it is written in Cedar Cove, so some of the people we like could be in the book too.
    The new owner of Rose Harbor Inn is a treat to get to know. 
    Thank you for this new series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    I am thoroughly enjoying the "Rose Harbor" series by D

    I am thoroughly enjoying the "Rose Harbor" series by Debbie Macomber. The newest residents of Cedar Cove are fun to get acquainted with and I'm ready to read the next book in the series as soon as I finish the current one! I also enjoy the cameo appearances by favorite characters from the Cedar Cove series. I am huge fan of Debbie Macomber. Her characters come across as real people such as my family members, friends, and neighbors. Reading her books feels like spending time with friends. I highly recommend "Rose Harbor in Bloom" to anyone looking for a fun summer read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Good book easy read

    I enjoyed this second book in the series. My only complaint is some of the character development seems rushed and repetitive. I still recommend this book, especially good for the beach or a girlsgetaway read :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Rose Harbor in Bloom is the second full-length novel in the Rose

    Rose Harbor in Bloom is the second full-length novel in the Rose Harbor series by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. In this instalment, Jo-Marie Rose’s guests of note are: Kent and Julie Shivers, a couple celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary; their granddaughter, party planner Annie Newton; the son of their next door neighbours, Oliver Sutton; and New Yorker, Mary Smith, recently diagnosed with breast cancer. Annie is annoyed by Oliver’s presence, stunned by the bickering between her grandparents and irritated by never-ending calls and texts from her ex-fiancé. The sudden changes in Mary’s life have brought her back to Washington State to seek out two people from her past. On top of looking after her guests, Jo-Marie is dealing with developments in the fate of her late husband’s remains, an open house afternoon and Mark Taylor, her cranky handyman. Mark’s prickliness adds a bit of spice and mystery to the tale, and he finds himself in the unenviable position of having to accept Jo-Marie’s help. Characters from the e-short, Lost and Found in Cedar Cove play a pivotal role, news of the previous guests is heard, and favourites from the Cedar Cove series also make appearances. Macomber deals with everyday issues, her characters have depth and appeal and there is an unexpected twist or two in the plot. Macomber is the queen of feelgood, and this book is no exception. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I enjoy reading Debbie Macomber stories & looked forward to

    I enjoy reading Debbie Macomber stories & looked forward to getting my copy of Rose Harbor in Bloom. It hasn't let me down, it has a feel good factor . How I would love a visit there . Hope book 3 is published soon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Having read both Rose Harbor series, this story kind of let me d

    Having read both Rose Harbor series, this story kind of let me down. I wish Debbie went a little further in the storyline toward the end such as the relationship between JoMarie and Mark and to finally bringing her husband Paul to his final resting place. Maybe Debbie will continue with another series of Rose Harbor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Loved this book

    Great story. It was hard to put this book down. Looking forward to the next Rose Harbor Inn book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m going to leave the book¿s story details to the book blurb an

    I’m going to leave the book’s story details to the book blurb and focus on my thoughts of Rose Harbor In Bloom. 

    Debbie Macomber wrote a sweet tender story of second chances, rekindling love and dreams. We are slowly immersed in the character’s lives, watching them make life altering decisions, facing insurmountable grief, reawakening their love, creating new friendships and finding hope in tomorrow. I found that Rose Harbor in Bloom gave me the feeling of coming home, a place that is familiar and people you call friends. What a completely delightful, engaging and heart felt story to read while enjoying the perfect cup of tea.

    This ARC copy of Rose Harbor in Bloom was given to me by Random House - Ballantine Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on August 13, 2013.

    Written by: Debbie Macomber
    Series: Rose Harbor
    Sequence in Series: 1
    Hardcover: 336 pages
    Publisher: Ballantine Books 
    Publication Date: August 13, 2013
    ISBN-10: 034552893X
    ISBN-13: 978-0345528933
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Woman's Lit., Romance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    A Book For Incurable Romantics!

    First off, I must admit to all, that I have been a fan of Debbie Macomber books for quite some time. Reading the author's book, ROSE HARBOR IN BLOOM, heightened my admiration of this writer's optimism about overcoming obstacles in one's life!

    The characters in this book are well-developed and animated. Macomber creates life crises that are so real, however, her books always leave the reader feeling hopeful, tearfully joyful, and smiling at the outcome.

    One can bask in the Washington state environment, beautiful mountains and crystal-clear water abounding as one reads a Macomber book. Much like the anticipation one might experience in finding out the next move made by a soap opera character, the same holds true in reading a Macomber book and its likely sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    I enjoy all Debbie Macomber books.  They flow along, taking you

    I enjoy all Debbie Macomber books.  They flow along, taking you into the lives of the characters as though they are your friends.  This was true of Rose Harbor in Bloom.  I read this book quickly, I couldn't help myself!  Jo Marie owns the Rose Harbor Inn.  She purchased it after losing her husband in Afghanistan, even though she still holds out hope throughout the book that he's still alive.  His body was not discovered for a very long time after a helicopter crash, even though the odds of him being alive were slim to none.  She felt him come to her shortly after she purchased the inn to tell her it would be a healing place for her and those that came there.  The story centers around Annie and her plans for her grandparents 50th wedding anniversary.  She's planned a big party and invited friends and relatives to be there.  All but one room of the inn is occupied with these guests.  Mary is a cancer patient that has come to Cedar Cove for various reasons. She is at Rose Harbor in the last vacant room.  Her story unfolds throughout the book.  A former love, a previous pregnancy and her health all add to the drama.  And Jo Marie and her handyman, Mark have an ongoing story all their own.  You will shortly find yourself involved in all aspects of their lives.  I received this book from the publisher as a prize I won on Goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great like always

    Love all of her books. This one took sometime for it to get good but it was worth it. Can not wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Great Easy Read

    I love Debbie Macomber books. Easy and entertaining. Grabs me quickly and I love to antisipate what is next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    s alwayw Debbie Macomber books are the best

    ing about her new ansd interesting charactersI always enjoy reado

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Tigerheart~ ALERT!!!!!!!!!!

    WE ARE MOVING TO GATA RES ONE BECAUSE SWIFTSTAR IS LOCKED OUT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Great follow up to the 1st in the series.

    Rose Harbor in Bloom is a wonderful follow up to the 1st book in the series. Her main character is so likeable and watching her heal and develop new friendships is enjoyable. The stories about the other guests are well developed and entertaining and I liked the way there was a mention about the characaters in the first book. I am looking forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Excelent Rading

    I Love all .of Debbie Macomber`s books.Look forward to next instalment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    THis is another of Macomber's fun books. They will never be classics, but her work is ALWAYS fun to read! I wish Cedar Cove were real, because I would love to go there!! I'd love to meet the real people who inhabit her stories. Macomber is always a sure bet when you just want to sit back and read for fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3