Customer Reviews for

Rose Madder

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Love this book

    I read this book when it first came out and just loved it the first time. This book is something that you don't want to put it down. Years later and here I am reading this book again and still love it. If you like Stephen King books with some twisting stories to get your imagination going, then this is the book I would recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awesome book

    This book takes you to a different place as all Kings books do. While still having you rooted in a real womans issue with abuse and finding strength from within.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Rose madder

    My favorite King novel. Read the paperback 10 times, and purchased a copy for my NookColor. Love it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    The best book I ever read. Like reading a movie

    The best book I ever read. Like reading a movie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Best Stephen King novel

    I really like the adaptations of the old mythos in here. A lot of times, King can put me to sleep and I find his dialogue shoddy. This is my ultimate favorite Stephen King book and one of my top 5 favorite books of all time.

    The mystical supernatural stuff seems more toned down in this one than in others (though still present in abundance). Definitely recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    Captivated

    I read this book many years ago and is the one book that has remained vividly in my memory. Stephen King is my favorite author. I wans't an avid reader until I ready one of his books then I was hooked. Rose Madder is by far the best fictional book I have ever read. Thats why he is the King.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Need to read

    Its cold out, it's January, holidays are over, I need to read some King...what oh what shall it be?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    This was my first stephen king book and i loved it (: it was a bit long but i got into it on the 1st page. I wish that he woild have kept it non supernatural especially at the end but hey thats king for ya. I did however enjoy reading and getting into the mind of norman. I would recommend this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    A Must read if you're a King fan

    As usual, the only bad thing was, I read it and finished it too quickly. Great Stephen King. You won't be disappointed. Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    My opinion

    This is one of my favorite steven kings books ever :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Unforgettable

    This books is a book that i read around 14 i forgot what it was called for a while but ill never forget what it was about. This book is so creative.i love it def. Check it out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Smart and Scary view of Gender Wars

    Rose Madder is based on a woman who leaves an abusive marriage after 14 years and tries to live a new life without beatings. However, when her husband Norman realizes she left (and with his bank card!) he becomes furious and sets out to find her, and "teach her a lesson".

    Stephan King intertwines the stories of both characters; Rose and Norman, and brings readers through a creepy tale that will make you wonder if it is in fact reality or not. Although it is a bit over drawn, and we could have let go of 100 pages, it is a great story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ''High School''

    I read this book my senior year of high school, have to say it was the first book by Stephen King I'd read. Its capitivating, thrilling and escapism.I give this book also 10/10 for its intrigueness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of King's best!

    This is one of King's best works. He delved deep into the two characters' minds (Rosie & her husband Norman). There are some very disturbing scenes and he did a VERY good job with Norman, even I was scared of him! Unlike some of King's other books, this one has just the right amount of supernaturalism for the plot. I love Stephen King, but in some of his other books, he sometimes has a tendency to go overboard, but in "Rose Madder", it's perfect.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    An emotional rollercoaster...

    This is my favorite work by Mr. King. He sends you deep into the psyche of the main character and you can't help but hold breath as you turn each page. However it is certainly not for everyone, as it hit very close to home for me. If you think you can handle the realities of abuse, fear and strength, I suggest you add this to your collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Rose Madder

    I couldn't read this book at night, that's how scary it was. there's just something so freakishly real about this story. That you could actually believe somewhere out there there is really someone like Rosie and Norman. Stephen King really did a good job of portraying Rosie McClendon and Norman even though the part about Norman chewing up some of Rosie's friends was yuck! I was a little bit confused at the end, but for the most part it was very well written. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Ok-- just ok

    NOT ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVS BY KING, BUT NOT ONE OF HIS WORST EITHER
    AT SOME POINTS, WAY TOO PERVERTEDLY GRUESOME WHEN HE DETAILS THE THINGS THE PSYCHO HUSBAND PUTS THIS WOMAN THROUGH
    I JUST SKIMMED PAST THOSE PARTS, NOT MY IDEA OF AN ENTERTAINING READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Just a thought.....

    ....... but how can I trust a review written by someone who calls the author "steven kings"?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Love it

    This is one of my all time favorite king books, awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    My favorite

    This is my fav king novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11