Customer Reviews for

The Rose That Grew from Concrete

Average Rating 5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A powerful book of poetry written by Tupac Shakur, the charismatic but controversial hip hop artist who was mysteriously murdered at the age of 25.

    The Rose That Grew From Concrete is a compelling collection of poetry. Tupac Shakur appreciated the sound and rhythm of words and the powerful affect they could have on people. He wrote these poems at 19 when he was part of a writing group conducted by Leila Steinberg, a writer and producer working in the music industry. The book captures Shakur's passion and anger in a unique format. On the right side of the page is the typed version of each poem. On the left side is a copy of Shakur's own handwriting on notebook paper. Shakur drew an eye for "I" or used symbols to replace words like peace and love. Two women who loved him dearly - his mother, Afeni Shakur, and poet and close friend Nikki Giovanni, share their thoughts in the preface and forward of the book.
    One of my favorites is the autobiographical poem "The Rose That Grew from Concrete". Tupac writes (in part):

    "Did u hear about the rose that grew from a crack in the concrete
    Proving nature's laws wrong it learned 2 walk without having feet."

    Tupac was that rose. He grew up in the projects and homeless shelters of New York City. Click on the links below to learn more about Tupac's life in the Shvoong reviews by hezi entitled Tupac Amaru Shakur 1971 - 1996 and by ALAQUA entitled Tupac Shakur Not Dead. Tupac also starred in several motion pictures, including Juice, Gang Related, and Poetic Justice with Janet Jackson (click on link below to read my Shvoong review on Tupac's co-star Janet).
    You may have never heard his music or seen his movies. You may disregard this book because of all the controversy that surrounded his life. But as Afeni Shakur writes, "Tupac's work speaks for itself." His words are "a raw force that commanded attention and respect. " You should read them for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    What many people fell 2 realize,is that this was and will always be a brilliant man.

    I am deeply in love with him for many reasons. he spoke the truth. no one could change his mind about what he knew was right. and this book has been for me sunlight through a storm on many days. it is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Tupac Shakur

    Many older adults feel that Tupac was just another rapper. This book proves that Tupac is a very powerful person that expressed his life in music, poetry, and much more. Tupac is my idol and he will be missed by millions of people he didn't even know. RIP Tupac Amaru Shakur June 16, 1971 - September 13, 1996

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Such beautiful lyrics from a beautiful soul

    Such beautiful lyrics from a beautiful soul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I bought this book because i am a tupac fan and i wanted to read what he wrote free hand. He was a talented person very deep with his words and when i recieved the book and started reading it and reading every poem he wrote and in his own hand writing i was mezmerized by his words and you can feel how he felt writing it i recommend everyone read his work and see the other side of tupac R.I.P tupac thanks for the insperation...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    HE IS A EXCELLENT BROTHER.

    HE IS A EXCELLENT BROTHER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    A Musted Have!!

    I loved this book!! I go back and read it all the time. You must go get the book especially for the people who thought Tupac was JUST a "gangster" rapper because this book would definitely change your mind. It would really make you realize how unique, deep, and just the opposite of what others and the negative public eyes thought of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I literally just finished this book, and had to give my scoop. Tupac was a good, wise man, contrary to what many think. Read this book and you will find out. I have been able to relate alot of the poems in this book to my life. A couple of the poems had me in awe, I would often stop reading and think about what was just said and how it was so true...VERY powerful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Tupac

    i think that tupac is a good poet. he did a lot of rapping when he was alive and his poetry is still important to people even though he died many years ago. i recommend tupac's books to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    2pack was 2 god 4 us so god tock him up and we hav his pomes 2 no him this buck is so god that every1 shuld read it and the world wold b beter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Tupac is the GREATEST!!!

    Tupac is the greatest and i love him because he has many talents. He was a rapper, poet and actor. He most likely had more hidden talent, but he did not have a chance 2 express. He was the type of person that when he spoke people listened. I know I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Tupac The Greatest Poet/Rapper alive

    I thought this book was great this was the best poetry book that I have read. He tells about his life and he gets into it really deep. I really didn¿t know that Tupac was a poetry writer. I think that I could do something like this if I had the chance. If I was able to tell about my life in poetry. This book was so amazing he got really deep into it I mean he dedicated some of his poems to different people. I really look up to Tupac to me he really writes great poetry I have never known a rapper that can rap and write poetry at the same time. If you ever had the chance to read this book you should it is about 210 pages long I think, he had some break up poems, he also had poems about his his ex-girlfriends it was really great. When I read the first poem I thought that this book was going to be boring but when I started reading more poems I really thought it was really good poems in the book there was a little drama in the book between him and his ex-girlfriends. He also talks about his bestfriend and I really didn¿t know that his bestfriend. This book really had a lot of drama in it. He even wrote a poem and dedicated it to his mother. Some of his poems were a little emotional, he talks about some of his cousins that die I think the genre of this poetry book is poetry. Many of his poems were boring but interesting at the same time. He wrote about some girl that he met in the club and how she told him that she was single and little drama things like that. I didn¿t think that Tupac had feelings like the way he does. I really thought that he would not get all emotional like he did. I didn¿t thing that girls could hurt tupac¿s feelings through all of the music that I heard of his I thought that he wouldn¿t care about little things like that. But when you read this book then you would really know how he felt inside. To be honest I really think that if you read this book you would really enjoy it. In this book I thought that he would tell about his life and how he got killed but instead he told us about how his life was and he expressed it in poems. I had to skip a few pages in order to really get into it. The little things that people do I didn¿t know that they would really hurt him inside but I guess they did and I don¿t think that it was fair to break his heart and don¿t feel bad about it. I think that if you ever read this poetry book and you and your girlfriend ever got into an argument u should recite one of these poem s and maybe you will just become friends again. He gives you advice on what to do in a bad relationship and what to do if your bestfriend gets out of hand. Now my final opinion is that one of the good things throughout this book is that it will keep you wanting to read it and keep flipping the page until you are all finished , you will probably be able to finish this poetry book in a day but it took me a while because I read a number of pages so that way I wouldn¿t stay up all night. Overall I think this is the best book to read if u really like poetry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Very Thought-provoking

    Tupac is truly original. His poetry provides a whole other dimension to his music and his whole personality. It's clear from his work that he really pays attention to the world around him. He had so much potential, and so much drive, it's a shame it was cut short. This is a must-have book for anyone, even those who don't read poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    c u there

    I fell in love with this book before I even opened it. I read, In the Event of my Demise on the back and already knew that this book was going to be beyond great. He is my the greatest poet in my eyes, and that for me is saying a lot given all the masterpieces that have been written over time. If you appreciate poetry and are ready to really open up your heart and listen then I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    The Heart of a Gangsta Rapper

    This book shows the world the real Tupac Shakur, not just the gangsta rapper everyone saw in his music. The poems showed a side of Pac' that only those close to him knew. The Rose That Grew From Concrete gave us, the true and loving fans, a side of Pac' that we were never able to expierence. Although his death was tragic, his memory lives on in the hearts of his family and his dearest fans. R.I.P TUPAC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    A Wonderful Read!!!!

    I greatly enjoyed this book. It was so insightful and moving. I would recommend this book to anyone who appreicates honest poetry and loves the late great Tupac!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    The Langston Hughes of his generation

    An excellent poetry collection from an extraordinary young man. If you get to read this, you will understand Tupac and his contradictions. He was the rebel and the saint, the revered and scorned, the charismatic and disturbed young man we are all fascinated by. Too bad he died. I sensed a hint of Langston Hughes in that young man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    The honest man

    Many of us struggle to find that true honesty in others let alone in ourselves. Tupac Shakur (R.I.P) was honest with himself and that's what made his music and poetry reach out to his fans. He had the courage to search the places of darkness within him...he feared not being sinful, yet at the same time his conscience never died. On the one hand he was burdened with the guilt of staying in the 'crack game' wanting 'changes' and on the other hand he felt hopeless to gather the strenght to pull himself out ... confessing all of this in his songs. He kept true to himself and that's why whenever i hear his earlier more sensitive songs..i just cant help but cry. Thanks pac, for staying true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Thug Passion

    I love this book. From the moment I read the very first poem I was hooked. I'm a very deep Tupac fan. I love all his albums, and as a fellow poet I was happy to hear about this book. Pac has helped me survive my life so many times so for the 9th anniversiry of his passing I bought this book. Tupac lives in not only his writtings, but also in my mind and in my heart. Keep ya Head Up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    All I can say as a fellow poet about this book is 'PURE POETIC BRILLIANCE' I have always enjoyed Tupac's music but my respect for this man as a person & poet has gained tremendously after reading his poetry, WOW is what came to my mind after reading a few of his poems & once I finished the book i was left astonished!! Skin color is not an issue here in order to respect this marvelous book, I LOVE IT!!!~~~Poet, G.E. Spangler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9