Customer Reviews for

The Rose That Grew from Concrete

Average Rating 5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    the rose that grew from concrete

    This book is an extraordinary poetry book which gives us the insight to the most influential rapper of all times' sentimental feelings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Rose That Grew from Concrete

    this book is powerful and very good. this book has alot to say about his love life. he can do anything with his life even rap and write poetry and express his feelings very well in his book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Rose That Grew from Concrete

    this book inspired me alot to be open and write alot of poems in my life as a child.My favorite poem is sometimes i cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    best rapper and poet of all time!

    i never thought 2pac was much of a poet t till i read this book. in this book he wrights bout bein alone, doing the impossible, and his girlfriends. if u like 2pacs music then u will love this book.4 ever we will miss 2pac. rest in peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    A True Poet!!

    Tupac's poetry is outanding!!I got the book and I couldn't put it down till the end.He talks about everything in this book and it will touch your soul.Tupac's poetry should be listed with the greatest poets out their of our time!That how I feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    True Art and Beauty

    The Rose That Grew from Concrete is true art in its purest form. I have never read such a beautiful book such as this one. It relates to many people that thought no one could feel the way they've felt, well Tupac has proved them wrong and has felt the many feelings others wont even be able to surface on.Tupac may not have understood why he had to suffer and live the life he lived but I sure do know he appriciated it because it gave him the talent and skill to be able to write some of the things he wrote.Truely Tupac was a smart man that was not afraid to find the places in his soul no human would have the courage to go find. I did enjoy this book and do recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    OUTSTANDING POETRY!

    Wow. not sure where to start. well... this is my favorite book. i'm a huge tupac fan so i gotta love it. period. his words R sad, touching, political, and many poeple like me can definitely relate to it. his poetry is emotional yet full of his life experience that just about anyone can somehow relate to. this can be the greatest book of poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Great

    The book is great. My favorite poem in it is Why Must U Be Unfaithful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Poetry that comes from the Heart

    The Rose that Grew from Concrete is one of the most emotional poetry books I have ever had athe prvilage to read. It is some of the best poetry I have ever seen. It makes you look deep inside yourself. It touches you where the eye's of man cannot see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Dramatic, Powerful, Reality, Life!

    A great book that envelopes Tupacs life and his beginnings. This captures his struggles and the struggles of life in the people of his world. A great poet. What a loss we all experienced when he was taken from us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2004

    We already know

    I for one am not surprised of the beauty within this book. If you are one who loves poetry...this is a MUST HAVE! This book just gives you a better insight of what Pac stands for...you're also blessed to experience the softer side of Mr. Shakur. 3 words: I LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Two Poems = A Tupac fan for life

    Needless to say that I have always been attracted to Pac, as he was both gifted with words, and not to mention eye candy. However, I recently visited my friend's home just the other day. I don't recall how we got on the topic of Tupac, but we did. She disappears into another rooom, to then return with this book (Rose that Grew..)Though I only read two poems, I was immediately sold on the idea that Tupac really is a legend, not just a rapper, but a poet! OK, so now you kow that he lives in my library and in my thoughts as one of the most talented brothers ever. He was an enigma. Ya'll better not sleep on Tupac! Peace & Poetry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    1 Of The Best Poetry Books I've Read

    Before purchasing this book, I've only read poems such as 'In the Event of my Demise' and 'Pride Of The Pantha' but little did i know that Tupac had a poetry collection this large. This book takes the reader on a journey through Tupac's emotions and life. I am a poet and i am also the most particular critic when it relates to poetry but I could find nothing wrong or unprofessional about the poems of Tupac. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the poetry world or anyone who is simply interested in Tupac and his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK OF POETRY !!!!!!

    This is a great book of poetry. Tupac tells all in this rapture of words that captures the true spirit of him. He will be a legend forever, for generations to come !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    He gone done it again!

    There is just one word to describe this man 'genius'!! Any TRUE 2 Pac fan will read this book and feel just how deep it goes. This book is truely amazing and is better than Resurrection, and thats a hard book to beat!!! Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    the greatest poet put out the greatest poem book

    tupac is by far the greatest poet of our time. there will never be another that is as powerful as he. his words put you inside of his head while he was writing the piece. he was an amazing rap artist but he is to the equivalent if not a better poet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    A great book

    a great book for any fan of 2pac i enjoyed every bit of it I am a huge fan of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    The Greatest Book I've Ever Read

    This is a very inspring book, tupac knows how to use his words. I would highly recommend this book to ne one. What makes it beter im not a big fan of reading but after reading this i want to read everything on him. 2pac fan or not you will enjoy this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Tupac At His Best

    I have been a dedicated fan of TUPAC for many years. I believe this book of his poerty was him at his best simply becuase his poetry was meant for him and only him so it was the puriest work coming straight from his soul.No other performer can come close to Tupac. He is a Legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    This is the True Tupac

    His poems are inspiring and they really make you think about life more than you normally do. I didn't know much about Tupac but now I understand why people love him so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9