Customer Reviews for

A Rose for Melinda

Average Rating 5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    A Rose for Melinda: book review

    This book is so heartfelt and inspiring! The love and bond that Melinda shared with Jesse, her parents, and her bestfriend was so powerful. I really felt connected to all of the characters. This book is a must read!!!! Although you will shed many tears...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Heartbreaking

    This book is one of tye best i have ever read. This book made me stop and think about my oen life this girl so younge is had a really bad rhing happen to her and she dosent take it like its a nad thing but a great thing it will break your heart to hear what she has to go through why still loving

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    This was a very heart felt book and lots of young love. It made

    This was a very heart felt book and lots of young love. It made me cry at the end so be prepared.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Fantastic book

    This book is so good! She creates such a bond with the characters and the reader. Sad, you WILL cry. Although the book is amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!!!!

    This book allows you to experience all the emotions Melinda is going through as a love-sick teenager who is ill with cancer trying to live her normal life as a dancer...it is a gut wrenching, devasting, compassionate book that i reccomend to every one!!!! It takes you from letters, e-mails, melinda's diary, notes, and text. This book sucks you into a book that allows you to cuddle up and shed a tear.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Amazing but sad (at times)

    A cute story at the beginning. The more into the story you get the more, and more you want to read it. Personaly I think this is Lurlene McDaniel's best book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    A good read

    I loved this book. Couldnt put it down. it makes you shead a tear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Sci fi fan

    I read this book in 6th grade and loved it from cover to cover. But once melinda died i cried for at least 2hrs. It is a story of a young 15 yr old girl, diagnosed with leukemia and in love with a friend from her early childhood and told in letters. If you are looking for a book to keep u sad for days and wondering how u would have felt if it happened to u then this is ur book, but if u have a very weak heart then this is not ur book, none of laurel mcdanalds books would be for ya. The Dawn Rochelle series was not as sad but still is about a young girls struggle to survie cancer, but in her case she lives after getting cancer twice and having a deadly stroke and there is much more happiness in them just plz buy this book if u r interested it will honestly make u less selfish and much more appreciative of all of the things u have. Have fun reading it and crying for a long long long long long long long long long long long time also read the dawn rochelle series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book is amazing!! It teaches a lot of things! The bond between Jesse and Melinda was inseperable. This was truly inspirational. I reccomend this book.........and a box of tissues!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Wow

    Im 12 and i take ballet on point shoes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Why

    Why does the auther have to write so sad books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Read

    This was the first lurlene mcdaniel book i read! It is great! I am a young reader (young age) and this was very good and inspirational. Great for any reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Lurlene McDaniel does it again! My tween daughters both are loving the books by this fantastic author. She creates such a bond between the reader and the characters that they simply can't put the book down until they know what happens with the characters. They share laughter and tears, literally!! Thanks for the great reads for my kids!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Insperational

    This is the must insperational story I have ever read. It really is a breathtakig book if love,hope, and tragedy! You will cry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    My FAVORITE book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Booklove101

    Wow! Such an inspiring novel. I simply adore all of Mcdaniel's novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Amazing!!

    Such a great book! As with all Lurlene McDaniel books you won't be able to put it down. Every time I go back to reread it because it's so good, I cry. Recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind a good cry with a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Breath takingly amazing!!

    the first time i read this book was when i was in 7th grade and im a senior now. I've read this book so many times and it never gets old. i love of all Lurlene McDaniel books; shes an amazing writer and makes you feel like your the one experiencing everything thats happening in the story. this book is one of my top favorites!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    AWESOME!

    My friend recommended it to me and when i started to read it I COULDN'T STOP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    sad but sweet

    this story was really short, and sad, but good. I fun afternoon or weekend read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9