BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Rose for the Crown: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I have read all of Anne Easter Smith's books in this set and wou

    I have read all of Anne Easter Smith's books in this set and would recommend them all if you enjoy history. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Excellant!

    A friend recommened this book. I couldn't put it down. Strenght, loyalty, love. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Beautiful!

    This an amazing novel, the story of Kate's rise and love with Richard are moving & beautiful. All though there is some heartache but that goes along with history andvthe events that took place. I read this book over 2 years ago and love the romance it is one that will remain with you! I'm glad that the book is going to be an ebook some book can have a rest. I have and will continue to recommend this book, Anne Easter Smith is a great writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful First Read!

    I got this book and Anne Easter Smith's other two books, as a Christmas gift. AMAZING! I was hopeing that it would be a good read. It was not a good read, it was a wonderful, touching piece of literature. I devourerd this book and I strongly recommend it. Break out the tissues mid way through and they'll still be in your hand even when you finish it!
    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    Love this author.

    Another excellent book by Anne Easter Smith. Hope to find more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    A MUST READ BOOK

    I USUALLY DON'T READ THIS TYPE OF BOOK. I'M A MURDER/MYSTERY GIRL. I GRABED THIS BOOK OFF THE SALE RACK BECAUSE IT SOUNDED INTERESTING. WELL NEEDLESS TO SAY I JUST COULDN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN. THE BOOK WAS DONE WITHIN A WEEK. TRY READING THIS WITH TWO LITTLE ONES RUNNING AROUND!!!! WELL IT WAS DONE AND I FOUND THE TIME THAT IS HOW GOOD I THOUGHT IT WAS. SHE KEEPS YOU WANTING MORE. WANTING TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED NEXT TO WHO AND WERE. ANNE TAKES YOU BACK IN TIME WANTING YOU TO HAVE BEEN THERE YOURSELF. I WAS REALLY SAD THE BOOK ENDED. I JUST WANTED MORE. THIS WAS ONE STORY I TRULY WISHED DIDN'T END. I'M GLAD SHE HAS THE SECOND ONE OUT. GOING TO GET IT TODAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    Loved this book!

    I am a historical fiction lover. I just happened upon this book at a used book store with no expectations. This is one of the best books I have ever read. I felt I was part of that world and did not want to put the book down. I fell in love with King Richard and just about cried when I read the sad parts of the book. I couldn't wait to read and read this book and now I am sad that I'm done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Twilightgirlie!

    this book was great. I read this book when i was going into 8th grade. i was a little young for some of it, but i totally love it. this goes from when Kate Haute was a little girl to a full grown woman. it is not only about a love that could never be (in public at least), but about a girl's life how she loved, lived, got sick, and had children. after reading this book i read other books with the same historical background in it. i do somewhat like history but this book made the lives of men and women in the 1500s seem like a soap opera itself and made so real.:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Love Love Love it!

    Wow! What can I say this book was excellent. Once you get towards the end this book is non stop and will keep you on your toes. You will not get bored with this one. This author is now one of my favorites. She really knows how to tell a story. I love how she showed a different side of Richard. One no one would ever have thought of. Was he a bad guy or not? History tells us yes the author says maybe not. It is up to you to decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was the best book I have ever read. I am a very slow reader because I read every single word. But in this case, I read this book in just days. I can't wait for her to publish a new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    loved this book

    As I am a historical romance buff I found this book heartwarming and so literal that I could picture myself there. I really love when authors make book come to life and it feel as if you've lived throught whatever the subject have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A Beautiful Love Story

    I just couldn't put this book down! It was so touching and seemed so real, I was crying by the end of the book! A real must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Not an avid reader

    This book has turned me into a fictional history junkie. I absolutly loved it. It is without a doubt one of the best books I have ever read. Would recommend it to all. I felt so involved with the main character throughout the whole book. I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Enter the world of this book now!

    This book is engrossing from page one. I felt I knew the protagonist completely and when I put her on the shelf, I suddenly felt lonely without her. I felt so attatched to this world that in fact one night I even dreamed I was in the book! I read this book instead of studying for my finals!! (Which we're not going to get into...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    History lover

    I was excited to read this novel and could not put this down. I truly enjoyed it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    800 pages, too short!

    I felt like i grew up with these characters, and by the end of the story i felt like i should have to say goodbye. I am well versed and Tudor history so it was intresting to see the story what brought the war of the roses from the Plantaganet point of view. I love the character Mrs. Smith created for Richard, contrary to the misfigured, poor excuse for a monarch that Shakespeare painted for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Fabulous Story!! Couldn't put it down.

    This book was easy to read and hard to put down. It has made me hungrier for information about the kings and queens of England!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong biographical fiction

    In 1459 near Kent, eleven years old Kate Bywood works on the family farm until her mother¿s wealthier and connected kin, Lord Richard Haute over the objections of his wife Eleanor, takes his plucky niece to become companion to his reticent daughter Anne. A few years later Kate is forced to marry an aging affluent merchant, but he dies not long afterward leaving her rich. Though wealthy, she is forced into a second marriage this time to George Haute, Richard¿s cousin, who wants to control her money, but not her body as he prefers young boys. Kate yearns for love, but feels trapped by society to ever find such. --- That is until Kate meets Richard of Gloucester, who reciprocates her deepest feelings. They begin a torrid tryst. When her second spouse dies mysteriously during an attack in the nearby forest, Kate openly turns to Richard. They have three out of wedlock children, but he has no freedom in spite of his lofty position that is if he wants his ambitions achieved of one day being the third Richard sitting on the throne. He marries Anne Neville. --- This is a strong biographical fictionalized account of the life of Kate Bywood that provides a warmer loving side to Richard III through the tender eyes of his paramour. The tale is at its strongest when Kate and Richard are together, but though gaps exist when they are apart (reflecting real history) the look at the era is loaded with rebellions and pretenders to the throne though some readers might find the specifics tedious. Kate is a fabulous heroine whose story makes for a fascinating indirect look at another perspective of Richard III. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2